We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Sault Ste Marie on our way from Toronto to Thunder Bay. All I can say is it was clean and 1/2 way to our destination. I would not want to stay here for more than a night though. While the front desk staff and employees we encountered during our stay were very nice and helpful the rooms were pretty basic. The beds were as hard as rocks and i tossed and turned all night. With the weather being so cold it was nice to have the Boston Pizza a 2 second walk away. So all in all - not bad, not great and did the job.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda262626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all guest feedback whether it is positive or negative, as this information is used to identify areas for improvement. I am glad that you received excellent staff service during your stay and i agree that it is very convenient to have Boston Pizza right next door. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again if you are in Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    97
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
75
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
disapointeed
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Pool was below acceptable tempature. It had to about 70 degree in water. Clock radio would not light up at bed side . Breakfest was the same choices. No choice of breads. Some whole would have been nice. Our room was at 78 degree while other were freezing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. In respect to the breads we offer with our breakfast there is an assortment of bagels, english muffins and 12 grain bread. We did offer a whole wheat bagel, however, with our breakfast changes last April and after careful review, Marriott has replaced that option with the 12 grain bread.

Our pool is kept between 82 and 84 degrees at all times. We do have someone testing and logging the temperature of the pool every 2 hours. I would like to assure you i have gone over the testing process with the staff to ensure that this is being tested and logged properly. We have also added a new thermometer that sits in the pool for our guests to see what temperature they are swimming in.

As I am unable to address any issues regarding the temperature in your guest room without knowing which room you occupied, it would be very helpful if you could please contact me directly to discuss this issue further to ensure that it is properly resolved.

We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just got back from a ski trip at Searchmont (AWESOME place to ski) and stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Sault Ste. Marie. Such a nice hotel. The staff was super friendly, great price, perfect location, beautiful/quiet rooms and wonderful free breakfast. I also love that they offer recycling bins in your room and in the breakfast area! Very nice! We did not use the workout room, but it looked good. The only negative was the pool area. It is quite small. Not bad if there are only a couple of people in there. We were lucky and almost had it to ourselves most of the time. Add 2 or 3 families and it is LOUD! Hot tub was closed for repairs, so if you see this review in the end of January 2014, call to make sure it is open. Always love the hot tub after a long day of skiing!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meesh-in-A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites during your recent Searchmont Ski Trip. It was great to hear all the nice comments you had regarding the hotel and the staff. I would agree that the pool can get a bit crowded rather quickly, I am not sure why, but it doesn't happen that often. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrea, Quebec
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Recently spent 5 days at this hotel. Very nice and comfortable room (we had a suite). This hotel was very quiet at the time we were there so no problem at all. I am told that they do accommodate hockey teams in these winter months, but that was not an issue for us.

The suite is well divided with a living room sort of separate from the bedroom. The room temperature was an issue until the maintenance person explained how to reset the thermostat (not obvious - so don't hesitate to ask).

Situated near Wacky Wings, Boston Pizza and LCBO all doable by walking, although there are no sidewalks on the side of the hotel AND for some reason the city of Sault Ste-Marie DO NOT clear their sidewalks or streets from snow on any kind of regular schedule. My bf had a hard time exiting the parking lot because the snow banks were so high he could not see oncoming traffic!

Front desk staff very pleasant and a joy to speak to. Breakfast is okay, but choices were very limited for someone who does not eat sugar or flour!!! Special note to the lady who takes care of the breakfast room - she was a delight and always, always had a pleasant word to say.

Overall - very good experience.

Room Tip: Get info on the thermostat so you can reset it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will agree our snow banks have gotten a little out of control over the past few weeks; we are trying to work on getting them cut back. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us again during the summer or fall, it's absolutely breathtaking here when the fall colours are in full bloom (and there are no snowbanks).
There is a temperature restriction on the thermostat. You are correct to ask, any of our amazing staff would be more than happy to make any adjustments to the thermostat to make the room more comfortable during your stay.
Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again next time you are in Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived extremely late after a 13 hour drive. Received a warm welcome from the front desk staff, check in was fast and easy. The room was great, it included a fridge and microwave. The bed, linens and pillows were very comfortable. The morning breakfast was great with lots of choice and variety. Didn't get a chance to use the pool/hot tub/fitness facilities but they looked decent. Hotel was very clean and located near many amenities, including a Boston Pizza right across the parking lot. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cycle4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We love hearing back from our guests!!! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to take advantage of the pool and fitness centre. Thanks again for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I am very impressed with the service we received at this facility. Rebecca at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed a few nights due to a medical emergency and Rebecca could not do enough to help us. I highly recommend this facility. Service and accommodation was outstanding.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for the kind words!!! I am happy that we were able to help you both when you were not expecting to have to stay in Sault Ste. Marie. Hopefully there is a quick recovery process for your daughter. Wishing you and your entire family a very safe and happy holiday season. Thank you again for staying with us and posting your very lovely review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Okay so my hockey team went here for a tournament..... It was a clean hotel, with a small pool, and not much selection for a breakfast bar. One thing I have to say is the staff was very rude and uptight. They would call or tell us about the slightest thing anyone did wrong. If you are more on the fun side, I do not suggest this hotel..........

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Puppylover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction during your teams stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites last month. It is disappointing to hear that you found our staff to be rude and uptight; we do try our best to ensure that each guests stay with us is as enjoyable as possible. As I am not sure on the exact situation that occurred during this stay I cannot state why the staff would have come across as they did. If you would like to contact myself (rebecca.hawdon@marriott.com) to give a little more insight into the situation so we can do our best to ensure that this does not reoccur in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do hope that if you are in the Soo again you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 633 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 5A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#9 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Fairfield Inn & Suites, provides everything you will need to make the most of your stay at a convenient location! Great value and great service; all backed by a name you can believe in: Marriott. We also offer great group rates, whether it be for a wedding or sports team. You will find everything you need right at your doorstep. Included in the rate is a complimentary breakfast served daily, free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, a Salt Water Pool, Jacuzzi, a 24-hour Fitness centre, guest laundry on site and ample free parking. We also offer over 1000 sq feet of meeting space. Within walking distance to the hotel you'll find several excellent restaurants as well as great shopping. We are a 15 minute drive to all arenas and the downtown core. We are also the closest hotel to the new location of the Sault Area Hospital. Call one of our experienced Guest Service Representatives today to book your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott-Sault Ste. Marie - Where staying is believing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn And Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing