We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a fancy hotel, it is an ordinary inn by the highway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is not a fancy hotel, it is an ordinary inn by the highway”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The name sounds cute, but it refers to the ugly water tower next to the hotel.

Pros: The lobby is nicely renovated, with a huge TV and fireplace. The room was also nicely designed. There is a "spa" which is just a pool + hot tub + sauna, no actual spa services. Caseys in the hotel, and they have a great coffee bar at breakfast time.

Cons: Location is right on Great Northern Rd, which is very busy. There were junior hockey teams roaming the halls, and drunk group having a party in the next room. Not a place for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnagiDonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jocewatt, General Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
We’re glad you enjoyed our Inn design (we finished a complete renovation in 2010), and our 4-season outdoor whirlpool when you visited the Inn’s Club Cabana. We use the term “spa” to describe the salt-filtration treated waters of our pools and whirlpool spas, and we do bring in spa professionals on guest request. You mention our busy location, which allows our guests easy access both to the city centre and to the spectacular wilderness area just minutes north of us. We’ve mitigated the urban milieu with inner courtyards full of mature trees, gardens, streams and waterfalls…the backdrop for many of the weddings taking place at the Inn. We have tried to determine the date of your stay, and have subsequently emailed you. Family sporting events are popular in the North, and the Inn, as well as every hotel in this city, will host family groups from time to time. We strive, with extra staff, strategic room allotment and guest communication, to mitigate the impact of a group dynamic. Our records show we had only one sports group in the month of April. We give all guests a comment card at check-in, and we have a 24-hour duty manager to handle guest concerns onsite. Of course, we appreciate your comments and hope you respond to our email so we can better understand the night in question.
Donna Hilsinger
General Manager
Algoma’s Water Tower & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    130
    62
    19
    6
See reviews for
144
148
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2011

As a frequent business traveler, it is so refreshing to arrive at this hotel and have everything ready for you when you need it. The newly designed rooms are wonderful, so comfortable and also functional. Wireless high speed everywhere that really works is a big advantage for me. Love Casey's and the new Fitness Area too. Front desk staff and everyone I met was so helpful. Thank you, I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mx3man123
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel on March 16th to March 18th. I was in Sault Ste Marie for my job. This hotel was very easy to find, on the main road when coming into Sault Ste Marie. The hotel is very elegant when you enter the lobby. I stayed in room 528 which is a Top of the Inn suite, very comfortable bed, I found it hard to sleep but only because I was away from home not because of the bed. There is a bar fridge in the room but they don't keep anything in it so bring water and pop and you have a place to keep it cold. Also free wireless internet. I didn't check out the fitness centre or pool but I do know they have that. They have a Casey's restaurant in the hotel which was VERY good, I'v never been to a Casey's before and was quite impressed by the quality and presentation of the food. There is also a pub attached to Casey's and the hotel. This Pub was great. It had 16 beers on draught. They have a great special on from Mon-Fri from 4pm to 7pm. You can get 2 beers, a full size pizza and 1lb of wings for $20.95, great deal. The check in and out process was painfree and the employee's here are all very accommodating.
You can eat breakfast there or there is a McDonalds and Tim Horton's right across the street. You are also right near Walmart and a beer store. To get downtown Sault Ste Marie is less then a 10 minute drive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, first class all the way.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Algoma Water Tower Inn was the most surprising experience for me as a business traveler. The check-in process was perfect, fast and the fornt-desk staff were absolutely kind.

The rooms were big and comfortable and clean, though the lightening was kind of lugubrious for my taste. Good for the Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea in the room... a perfect choice.

Both the restaurant and the room service were fantastic. Food always was served as requested and on time. I used to sit on a table in a corner of the restaurant to work a little bit during the afternoon, and the waiters were so kind in taking care of me being comfortable and with everything I needed.

Everyone at the hotel were really willing to help and make me feel at home. I wanted some suggestions on where to go for the day on a Sunday, and not only did they give me the best of options but took care that I had everything I needed for a safe and pleasant stroll.

In my opinion, a gem in Sault Sainte Marie, and a perfect sample of Canadian hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levering, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

My husband & I along with another couple spent the weekend snowshoeing near Sault Ste Marie, Ontario. The Algoma WTI offers a Trail Head Program which our group of 4 took advantage of. With the wonderful expert help of the WTI staff, our snowshoeing weekend was a huge success. Our weekend accomodations included breakfast which we enjoyed at the Inn's in-house restaurant, Caseys! Our waitress was friendly & helpful with local points of interest suggestions, and the food was very good! The hotel has a large outdoor hot tub and we sure took advantage of soaking in it. Another nice perk was the Guest Welcome Bag we received upon our arrival. The bag was filled with tasty goodies and a handmade dishcloth by Helen! Most specifically, Stephanie, Sonya and Micheal made sure that our needs were met completely & they genuinely wanted us to have a nice weekend! Thanks Again WTI!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFerris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Great staff, nice and quiet and the pub and restaurant are a nice addition.
FOR the money this is definately worth staying at. Now they had a deal on that brought their price down for our stay. I WOULD NOT spend the listed amounts for their rooms allthough they are very nice and comfortable. The Pub attached tot he hotel is very nice with great beers on tap which is nice in this day and age. All and all i would give this a 8 out of 10
Beds were VERY soft and i would prefer a harder bed, other than that i can not complain about anything

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crighton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Staff were very friendly and helpful upon our arrival with welcome package. Their box-lunch from the restaurant for our train trip the next was excellent! (price & food) . their breakfast choices were excellent too. The kitchen was open early for the Algomat rain visitors and a fresh cooked breakfast was available with our package. Definately recommend this Inn for families or couples or singles.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing