We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great price! very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great price! very friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had a great time here with my family.. nice pool and very friendly staff here
The price was great.. Hotel is very well kept, very clean rooms.. Also loooved the room service and had lots of food to choose from.. overall hotel was very nice and clean

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for the great review, and for posting some wonderful pictures of our Run-of-the-Inn rooms and pool area, Club Cabana Aqua Spa. It appears you took advantage of our Family Package, which, like you say, is a great deal - a family of four can travel for under $200 a night, including dinner, breakfast and lots of play time in the pools. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    122
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
134
139
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I was actually sitting in the parking lot at a McDonalds drinking an Iced Coffee trying to figure out where I should stay, looking at hotels.ca on my phone, and was hoping to find somewhere with a restaurant attached that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg, which is how I stumbled upon the Water Tower Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, I had a beautiful room with plenty of space to relax. I had dinner at the bar, and caught the game. Excellent service from the wait staff, followed by a great night sleep. I previously stayed at other motels while passing through the Soo, but not any more! I will definitely be staying at the Inn on all my future trips north.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowflakeFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
What a great review...you gave us a giggle! We're so glad you were able to enjoy all of the various amenities of the Inn which make it truly "a Resort for the Price of a Room". Hopefully, on your next visit, you'll have an opportunity to enjoy Club Cabana Aqua Spa and its many pools, hot tubs (including one outdoors) and sauna. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

During a recent trip to Sault Ste Marie for a family emergency, the staff at the Water Tower were compassionate and understanding. We were given a special rate for the week we spent there. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable, and well appointed. While they wouldn't stand out as anything extraordinary in larger cities, the rooms are some of the nicest and classiest in town. There are Starbucks coffee and tea sachets in the rooms but the bathroom toiletries are nothing special.

The pool area is very nice and the outdoor hottub is lovely. The clear skies allow you to enjoy a view of the stars, and the surrounding area is nicely landscaped.

One thing to keep in mind... there is a breakfast bar set up at the enterance of the Casey's Restaurant, which is just off the main lobby. In the morning, you have the option to "build your own combo" for a breakfast to go. In theory, this sounds good, with choices between baked goods, fruit, juice, breakfast wraps, etc... In reality, it was not good value for money. Only a few of the displayed baked goods were available as part of the combo, the breakfast wraps were tiny, made with tortillas that couldn't have been more than 6inches in diameter, and the juices were also very small. Adding on an extra beverage, it came to nearly $25 with tax for two people. I think you would be better off getting one of the basic hot breakfast plates at the restaurant for this price.You could also buy the delux baked goods a la carte, which would have been less expensive in the end. As well, the breakfast bar advertises that they use and sell Starbucks coffee and, indeed, sell many Starbucks style hot drinks and baked goods. But they are not made the same way.(ie: Staff didn't know what I meant when I asked for a no-water chai latte and just poured chai concentrate from a large jub) A little picky point, but may be important for some people who will be disappointed when they pay Starbucks prices but don't get the same experience.

The surrounding area had a long list of services, including several fast food joints and an independent, organic cafe right across the street.

PS- we know from previous visits that the Water Tower is dog friendly and we were able to have our black lab in the room with us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnipseedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for the review! The Inn is sensitive to the various reasons our guests may need to stay with us (ie: family emergencies), and therefore, we created special rates. For instance, guests staying with us for 5 or more nights per year due to medical visits to the Sault Area Hospital can join our "Club Med" which offers accommodations and breakfast for two as well as other perks such as complimentary bike rentals.

Breakfast at the Inn follows the motto "I am ALIVE". Whether you choose a sit-down hot breakfast in our dining room or a Grab 'n' Go breakfast sandwich, all of our food is freshly prepared by our cooks. Muffins, cookies, pastries and cinnamon buns are baked in-house from our own recipes.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we hope you visit soon under less stressful circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked this venue for our wedding 04/07/2012 and it was amazing. The atrium we used for the ceremony was lovely. The fountain and windows out to the courtyard made the perfect backdrop. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the whole planning process and worked so hard to make sure we were well looked after the day of. Thanks Tracy and Kevin! The ballroom was fantastic for the reception and the food was unbelievable. Everyone was impressed with the food. We stayed in the country comfort suite and it was just perfect. There was more than enough room for everyone to get ready in the morning and the bathroom was amazing. Fantastic day and fantastic venue! Would recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We're so glad that we were able to share your special day with you! The Pavilion, the Inn's meeting and banqueting centre, is architecturally stunning, and, like you say, "the perfect backdrop" to any occasion. The Pavilion is unique, in that every step of your wedding day, from wedding party preparation to the ceremony to the photos and reception can be done under the Inn's roof, which eliminates a lot of those wedding day hassles. Thank you for your review and we hope we'll share many future anniversaries with you and your hubby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

While my work takes many places across Canada, the Water Tower Inn is by far one of my favourites. The staff are exceptionally pleasant , rooms are clean and the 'Inn' offers 2 places to eat onsite. The food is great from either the 'Pub' or 'Caseys'....with lots of healthy choices. The pool is a nice touch although i would avoid a lower level indoor pool facing room due to the noise. It's great to wake up and enjoy Starbucks coffee either brewed in your room or for the 'road'. You can tell that the owner pays attention to details and this shines throughout the Water Inn. Kudos to the entire staff in making my stay that much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmitty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your review. You're right - the owner and the staff of Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, take great pride in the details that make our guests' visits special. Whether it's the fresh cream in each room's fridge for that in-room coffee or the "Shhh - Guest Sleeping Signs" that are put outside a guest's room when they'll be sleeping during daytime hours, we believe it's the little things that count. We're so pleased you've noticed and hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you aren't staying on the Northshore staying in a cabin rental or campground the Water Tower is a great choice. The hotel is well located and offers airport and downtown shuttle service. All sorts of shopping is available near by.
The service is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I am blown away about this hotel in its entirety.
I travel a lot and nothing came close to this remarkable place.
It is extremely clean, lots of parking and/or hotel entrance.
The food…my God it’s just FANTASTIC!
The comfort is wonderful every where you go in the hotel.
The professional atmosphere for businesses and/or family affaires is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing