We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the second nicest hotel in the Sault (after the Delta Waterfront), with many amenities and some nice character details (outdoor garden, outdoor spa, red brick walls in some rooms). The location just at the edge of the city near the highway will be quite convenient for many travellers, and this place has a bit more character than the newer Fairfield Suites Hotel almost across the street. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Dining tip - Fratelli's and Giovanni's, just up the road, are among the best Italian places in this small city of fantastic Italian eateries. Aurora's Westside, a bit further away but still just a 10-minute drive down Second Line, is even better. You will be pleasantly surprised to find out that Sault Ste. Marie has the best pizza you've ever had in Canada.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Sault Ste. Marie's Italian heritage continues to thrive with many Italian restaurants and traditional specialties found around the Sault. (Did you know that Italian, waffle-like cookies name Pizzele are known as "Tie Plates" only in Sault Ste. Marie? They say Italian immigrants laying the railroad used rail ties as substitute waffle irons.) Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites does have lots of character - modern decor that's still appreciative of our northern heritage, the McGuffin Gallery of Algoma Photoart, and inspiring architecture throughout The Pavilion, our event and conference centre. While you named some great restaurants, our two on-site dining establishments provide fresh, delicious fare, even late. Thanks for the great review, Scott. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for business in January of this year. I stayed here based on recommendations from other persons. The rooms were quite clean and comfortable. The air did get a bit dry at night.

Wifi is included but seems to work better in some rooms than others.

The facilities on site are also great, there is a pool and hot tub as well as pub in the lobby. The pub food was good and big breakfast portions.

The location is good as well, a short walk/drive to a variety of restaurants and only about 20-25 mins drive to the airport. There is also a Goodlife gym a short walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jam1king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

There are many amenities that make Business Travel at the Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites relaxing and convenient - comfortable and flexible accommodation options to suit your needs, two on-site restaurants with lots of dining and entertainment options, and of course free WIFI throughout the Inn so you're always connected. We will be launching our new and improved President's Club Rewards program at the end of January with some great new rewards. As always, though, President's Club members receive a complimentary breakfast with each night, fresh-baked welcome treats, free upgrades, and many more exclusive perks.

Thank you for your kudos and we await your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Loved staying at the Water Tower Inn. Staff we're very friendly & accommodating of all our requests. Rooms we're clean, bed was super comfortable, lovely amenities, beautiful artwork, delicious breakfast. No complaints

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely thoughts, Barbara. One of the wonderful things about Sault Ste. Marie, ON is the friendliness of its people (much like your hometown of St. John's) - this characteristic is something that we strive to demonstrate to Sault Visitors in our independent Inn. Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites has more amenities than any other hotel, and the wonderful staff to go along with it. I'm glad you enjoyed your sleep, and your morning send off - we wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I went to The Pub,a restaurant in the hotel.The waitress was friendly ,well dressed,gave great service and very polite.I would go to this restaurant anytime I get the chance again.This hotel is just not a hotel but a indoor resort.It has a classy indoor pool,sauna,outside and inside hot tub.It also has a excellent staff.They call it Club Cabana.It also has a exercise room with new equipment and work out machines.I had the most enjoyable time there also.It is like being at a five star southern resort except it is inside.I would anyone coming to this fine city to stay at this Inn.

Room Tip: Just let the excellent from desk staff guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

You have listed many of the amenities that make us an "indoor resort": two full service restaurants, the water play area of Club Cabana Aqua Spa, a modern fitness centre, plus flexible meeting and event spaces and the McGuffin Gallery of Photoart, just steps from your comfy room. But, of course, our staff are our stars, always ready to help. Thank you for your kind kudos and glowing recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I always choose the Water Tower Inn when I stay over in Sault - no other hotel/inn compares with the attention to detail and the personal touches as well as recognition of the natural resources of the north. During my last stay, November 2nd, I was less than satisfied with the medium rare steak that I had ordered; it seemed cold and was not med. rare. But I was encouraged by my companions to complain, which i have never done but perhaps the wine (half price bottles on Sat. nites!) gave me courage. I certainly didn't need any courage however, as our waitress was quickly on task to fix and another waiter brought out a new meal (so it never sat even a second) and waited to ensure that it was to my liking. I never felt the least bit embarrassed. I was also given a complimentary breakfast the next morning - the new feature on menu and it was the BEST breakfast sandwich I have ever had - fire roasted tomatoes, aged cheddar, plenty of smoked turkey,egg omelette and the highlight, spicy mayo. I can't wait to have it again. This hotel simply has no parallel in the Sault, or few other cities I have visited.

Room Tip: I have tried all: though we love the treat of "top of the inn", the standard room is lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetwotonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you 2 Tony’s…we’re appreciative of your detailed and highly readable review, and of making Algoma’s Water Tower Inn & Suites your home away from home. I checked with Casey’s Grill.Bar, our onsite restaurant, and they said you ordered the 8 oz. sirloin topped with mushrooms, blue cheese and peppercorn sauce….Mmmm, I‘ve tried this one….delish! Casey’s steaks are fresh, never frozen. So very happy the staff accommodated you so expeditiously and you ended up with exactly what you wanted. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

After a long drive it was nice to find a place that has so many amenities so that you can relax and stay put. Enjoyed the Blues Band but a wee to loud for the space in the pub. Excellent food and it shows by how busy the wait staff was. Expect a wait if it's busy because they can only do so much. Rooms were nicely decorated and cozy.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryandCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hey Mary and Cole, thanks for choosing us as your haven after a long road trip. Thing is, at the Inn, if you arrive bushed and can’t face the idea of getting back into the car after landing, you have everything under one roof anyway. Casey’s Grll.Bar, Water Tower Pub (where the live bands play), free WIFI everywhere, 2 pools and whirlpools (one outdoors) and a great fitness centre…certainly no need to go searching for food and fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We didn't book at all and they had a nice clean room AT THE MOMENT!!!! It was really helpful. The pool there is so nice with an outdoor hot tub!!! It is really nice into the winter. The staff was helpful and kind. If you are staying in the Sault... I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Puppylover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

With the snow already starting to blow, Club Cabana Aqua Spa's outdoor hot tub, as well as indoor hot tub, heated pools and sauna, are a favourite among kiddies and adults alike...as you experienced, extremely appreciated after a long day on the road. Our professionally-trained staff are always there to lend a hand - one of our Reception staffers, Michael, was recently nominated for the Sault Tourism Award in Customer Service! Thanks for your review, and we look forward to see you again when you next pop in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection

Address: 360 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £77 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, The Water Tower Inn offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing