We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great expectations more than met”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great expectations more than met”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My first stay at the Water Tower Inn was after a family trip across Canada. We pulled in to the brand new facility in the wee hours of the morning after 5 weeks of camping. It was heavenly!!!! So much so that it became our first and last night stop whenever we headed west. Those stays are something of a legend in my family and this July I had the chance to show my son why. On a cold rainy day, coming back from Thunder Bay, we ditched the tent and checked in on our last night. I wouldn't have thought it could be better than my memories but it was. From the warm welcome at the front desk to the 2 hours we spent in the water. Thanks to the wonderful staff, facility and service the legend continues!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dawn, what a heart-warming story! Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. It is wonderful to hear that we have been keeping our promise of delivering exceptional experiences for that long. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    118
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
132
135
27
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After a long day of work, the pool, hot tub was a perfect way to relax. The Pub and restaurant next door made dining very easy. With the available morning breakfast, you won't leave hungry.
Rooms are clean, Wifi access great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Your visit surely does sound perfect! I'm relaxing just reading your review. After a long day of work, you need a special place to escape to, especially when you're on the road. Good food, good exercise and a relaxing swim always help wile away workplace tensions - we're glad we could provide that all for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

For years now this is the place we have always stayed while visiting the Soo. Kids love the pool and go every chance they get. Also love the ability to use the work out room. Casey's is reasonably priced for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy5327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We've been family-run for 40 years, and know the value of a good escape with your closest loved ones. Was wondering...have you tried our Family Package? It includes accommodations, dinner and breakfast for a family of 4 for a great value-packed price. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through the Soo. We spent one night in the Ultra Spa suite. It was fantastic! It was the quietest room that I'd ever stayed in. After enjoying the spa tub for an hour, we went for a swim and whirlpool. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Fast check in and check out and we were back on the road quickly thanks to the great location. We will definitely stay here again, hopefully soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
There's nothing like rejuvenating in your own personal spa whirlpool before you hit the road again. Our Ultra Spa suite is just one of many suite types that feature spa bathtubs which are great for relaxing and romancing. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed because it was close to the hospital and the rate was decent.
Beds were doubles not queen. So unless you are 5 foot the sleep will be bad.
No coffee in room
Shower head really low and cannot be adjusted
Bad mattresses; good maybe for 1 person but two adults just doesn't work.
Tiny toilet
No fan in the bathroom

Negative experience

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneymoonandCigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Please note that we don't advertise queen beds in the room type you requested, though the majority of our 176 rooms and suites are queens and kings. Are you tallish? Our full beds are the standard 76 inches, and shower height is the norm. All bathrooms have automatic fans...it's required. All accommodations have coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Tazo teas, and fresh cream and milk in the mini-fridge. If contacted, our customer service staff will do anything in their power to accommodate guest needs. It's always been my experience when staying at hotels that if something fails to meet my expectations, I ask. Better to be proactive for everyone's sake. I do hope you will return and let us prove this is so. We are so close to the new regional hospital in Sault Ste. Marie, and offer very good rates to folks who unfortunately need to travel from smaller towns to benefit from the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

When I walked into the hotel there were people standing around the front door smoking which did not impress me. The room was fine however there were kids running up and down the hall til 11 pm. The night I arrived the highway was closed due to a washout and the next morning I asked the staff if the highway had reopened I was told they didn't know but I could call 511 to find out. Needless to say I was pretty happy I had not booked with this hotel for my return trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labrlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Smokers and non-smokers will forever butt heads. We were the first hotel in Sault Ste. Marie to go totally non-smoking in rooms and public spaces. Our guests sign a no-smoking waiver at check-in. They pay if they smoke in their room. If they are smokers, that’s their right, and we respect that. We have butt disposal and signage at our entrances urging guests to smoke away from the building. Re road conditions…while our front desk staff do try to keep informed on road conditions, speaking directly to Ministry of Transportation will always give you the most accurate and up-to-date information on unexpected glitches like washouts when you’re heading down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I found the staff to be helpful and accommodation.
The rooms were extremely clean, and the beds very comfortable.
I thought the food was very good.
There is a great pool, and an indoor and outdoor hot tub.
The pub is a fun place at night.
There are many conveniences within close walking distance - Walmart's, the liquor store, gas, groceries, etc. |A shuttle will take you to the downtown core.
There is a large park nearby with walking trails along the river. The hotel will rent you a bicycle.

Room Tip: A suite is a good option for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Jacqui! Great to see that you and your family were able to enjoy all of the Inn's very convenient amenities! We actually have two different family suites which are designed specifically for larger groups on the road. They come complete with an efficiency kitchen and living room. Thanks for the review, and we hope to welcome your family very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing