We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Midland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Regular traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I stay at the Water Town Inn each August as we travel to visit family further north. Our first stay was more than 25 years ago!
This was the first year we were ever on the fourth floor - the beds were not comfortable and the room is dated.
That being said we will be making our annual trek again next year and the Water Tower will be our choice once again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anothervacation2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Very glad to hear we’re part of your annual holiday. 25 years is an amazing record. You’ll have seen the evolution of the Inn over the years; new restaurants, pool and recreation area, conference centre, the full-property rejuvenation completed in 2010 under the professional direction of one of Canada’s top hotel designers. The business grew over the years because first and foremost we had great beds. We’re following up on your comments, and thank your for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    118
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
132
135
27
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Water Tower Inn along with many family members for our daughters wedding.
They catered to her every need to make her wedding day beautiful. They were married by the water fountain and following the wedding was a reception with a 5 course dinner that was amazing. The rooms were clean, spacious and all staff were friendly. The added bonus for us was that they also had dog friendly rooms in one area of the hotel and we had our daughters dog with us. While staying there we did dine at Caseys and the food was very good. In the bar there is a separate menu and we had the pizzas which I would highly recommend with a cold drink, superb wood oven pizzas. We didn't have a chance to use the hot tub or pool due to many other planned activities. We would stay at this hotel again when in the Sault Ste Marie area.

Room Tip: If taking a pet they have pet friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
What a glowing review. Thank you. We immediately passed your accolades on to Tracy our professional wedding planner, and to Egbert, our talented chef, who will pass them on to their teams. Our profession often requires long hours and relentless attention to detail; your words are ultimately the best remuneration. We are a family-owned hotel…three daughters have been married here. To us, every bride-to-be is a daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I travel to the Sault on a regular basis and always stay at the Water Tower. The view on the water tower side is pretty good.

The rooms are always clean and it is close to everything I need. The staff have always been accomdating and friendly. The pool/fitness area is pretty good and it is not too far from part of the the Hub trail. Always a good internet connection too which is handy for working.

The restaurant Casey's can be hit or miss sometimes. The food is good but not always consistent when you order the same meal.

To sum it up...would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doughbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Your heading would make a good slogan! Glad you make use of the Hub Trail. This is a 25 km route around Sault Ste. Marie that gives access to the city’s many natural and historical highlights. It is wholly paved and dedicated to self-propelled activities such as walking, running, cycling. Two sections of the trail are accessible directly from the Inn, and we have maps and rental bicycles available. So glad to hear our Inn complex meets all your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I was less satisfied with this place than my husband but I travel a lot more so I may have higher expectations. I wouldn't come back. I feel like the place is dated. Our resort for the price of a room had a view of the dumpsters next door.

The staff seemed fine and the bathroom was clean so I'll give them those two pluses. The restaurant prices seemed very high for what it was. We were not using the location as a resort or as a family vacation. If you plan to use those amenities it may move the raring up for you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Nancy,

As they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. So it’s difficult to respond to your “dated” impression…many guests comment on the Inn’s good looks. But we are northern folk…we feel comfortable with a natural look vs. the sometimes barren and metallic leanings of modern designers. And we did employ a high-end city designer when we undertook a total renovation of the Inn, 2010. We love our forests and lakes and rivers, so yes, our Inn reflects the northern lifestyle that impassions us. We are still a city hotel though, and can’t control the view-worthiness of private properties. Would that we could. Still, the majority of our rooms overlook our treed central courtyard featuring streams and waterfalls, or over the rest of our mature treed landscape. We recently did a local survey of restaurants and found our prices consistent with our competitors. As well, I am sure the extra sales taxes in Ontario are a shock to US tourists dining in Canada. We’re sorry you’ve decided not to return…you were unbiased with your comments and I thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My stay for the week was very good, the bed was comfortable, the room was cleaned everyday and having the pools and the restaurant so close made my stay wonderful. The desk and hotel staff were awesome, polite, courteous and very friendly

Room Tip: I took the top floor to avoid any noises above me. It was fairly quiet up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your week-long stay with us Chris. How awesome of you to take the time to write this shining review. So many of our guests mention the convenience of having everything they enjoy all in one complex. Since you live close by in Sudbury, we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stay at the Water Tower Inn was mostly pleasant. The suite was surprisingly roomy, the food downstairs at Casey's was quite good and it was a very conveniently location with several shopping places nearby. It was very nice to have an outdoor whirlpool, an indoor hot tub, pool and waterfall for the kids (I would usually expect only a pool), the TV channels were great, the beds were quite comfortable and it was helpful to have sliding doors and good settings on the shower. Some things that made the visit less enjoyable was the Breakfast and Dinner Family Package Deal we received when we arrived. The servers at Casey's were confused about which food items were included with the coupons and we had to pay extra for some meals. The staff at reception tried to help us find activities of interest in the surrounding area, but exciting activities nearby for kids were scarce. Overall, the stay was average.

Room Tip: We heard pets on the first floor, so for quieter rooms, choose a different floor, and make sure to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello “Madhat” from Toronto. Thank you for the very positive comments you made about our hotel and pool area. Was bit surprised at your room tip comments about no utensils or washer or dryer in the room. That I think would be a bit unusual, but we do offer laundry service for an extra charge. As to the confusion about the family plan meals; we have emailed you directly to ask for more detail about your experience, so hope you respond to help us tie down the specific issue. Our Family Plan offers very good value, but deviation from the specified menu items might have caused some confusion for all. As for exciting activities in Sault Ste. Marie…in the eye of the beholder. SSM is a very beautiful place, “Naturally Gifted” as the slogan goes. Our staff are highly trained to provide detailed information on attractions and outings, more so than most tourist centres would do. As well, we have designed a number of family-specific itineraries that include highlights and drive maps. Descriptions of key attractions and outdoor adventures can be found on our website. At any rate, it seems your visit was, over-all, fine, and we look forward to speaking with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This Hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The people who work there friendly & knowledgeable. The amenities are fantastic. The stay is a great value for your money. They worked with me to make my trip possible. My room was very clean & very and appealing to the eye. It is up to date with a flat screen TV. I was pleasantly surprised that you could watch my local TV stations (4 & 7) from Detroit. The bathroom was meticulous. The towels were soft. The soaps & shampoos smell great. My husband & I will most definitely will return in the future & will tell others great things about this hotel. It was close by to other restaurants but we preferred Casey's. The only downside was we weren't able to use our first day breakfast to Casey's due to their delayed opening (holiday) & we had a reservation to the Agawa train experience. We were glad we didn't purchase the box lunch for we wouldn't have gotten it in time due to the late opening. Otherwise all in all it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Let them know if you need to be on the ground floor or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you Judy from our neighbour Michigan. You make our hotel sound just the way we want… good staff, clean, comfortable, convenient. We also include intense staff training for our Trailhead Adventure Hosts who can offer inside SSM and area day trips and attractions tips to make your adventure easy and enjoyable to plan. This service is complimentary to guests. We should have accommodated your breakfast, so shall be investigating that glitch. You can order the box lunch the night before, especially important since it’s an early departure for the popular one-day wilderness train tour. You’re not far away so please visit us again soon and spread the word. Very nice review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing