We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for our heads”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A place for our heads”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I gave this a very good because there was not really anything to complain about with regard to the room, service or breakfast. The latter was basic but decent and the lady doing the service was friendly but not interfering. Quick check in and check out. Beds comfortable.
However, the location is dreadful - I would be quite uncomfortable staying there if travelling with young children. Right on the highway with patio doors (alright, I appreciated the door but there was not a screen and we could not leave it open even if there had been). We also had to drive to a place for dinner as there is basically nothing around - except perhaps fast food places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not looking out on the highway if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely words of praise regarding your stay here with us. We really do appreciate the wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Marilyn and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    40
    29
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
44
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oro Station
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed there one night and was quoted $124 total. Apparently it is newly renovated but we didn't notice any difference in the room. (we stayed there a 1 1/2 yr ago). The cafeteria part is renovated but by no means a lot bigger than the other location. We travel with our dog and were charged $15. in addition to $124. Our total bill with taxes was $144. and change. It is convenient to the highway and restaurant but we feel pricey for what you get. Grandma in the cafeteria is a hoot and brightens everyone's day but we are now staying at the Sleep Inn downtown for $26. less. We were charged $10. for the dog. Rooms are much nicer- fridge/microwave and more spacious. It is downtown but not much farther to get back to the highway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Our recent extensive renovations included 100% of our rooms, our corridors, our lobby, and our breakfast area. This was comprised of new carpet, vinyl, complete bathroom renovation, draperies, furniture, lamps, and now all of our rooms are equipped with fridge/microwave. There are many factors to consider when establishing rates, and In our Choice Hotels structure, we feel we are positioned correctly according to our brand. I do apologize that you were unhappy with your rate but we sincerely hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Travelling across Canada, this was the last stop on my trip and it was awesome !!!!

Spacious clean rooms, great beds, and the best included breakfast along the way. The service is where this place stands out. My buddy closed the trunk on my car and shattered the rear screen. The Comfort Inn could not have been more helpful - supplying us with everything we needed to get going again and then some.

Having worked in hospitality for 5+ years ... These guys come very highly recommended :) thank you !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank paulkporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words of praise. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Hope your travels are keeping you safe.
Marilyn and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
custer, MI
Level Contributor
259 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Was traveling with my son for a Special Olympic event and this was a very nice hotel with a very nice staff. Beds were comfortable and got a very nice sleep. We didn't try the breakfast. Check in was extremely quick

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel. Hope to see you again in the near future, and thank you for staying with us!
Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The guy at the desk told me they renovated this hotel in 2013. Everything inside looked new and clean. Don't let the dated exterior fool you. My room was clean, and my bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was average. I didn't hear any road noise in my room and I slept well. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud_the_dud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay here at our hotel. Hope to see you again, soon!.
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Needed somewhere to stay halfway between Thunder Bay and southern Ontario, arrived late at night and picked this hotel at random. Currently undergoing renovations (since last summer apparently), front desk is in Suite 108 and the dining room is in Suite 107. Check-in was reasonably fast. Price was more than I expected, and after seeing the hotel I'd say about 25% above what it should be.

Hotel room is fine, has a desk, fridge, microwave which is nice if you're there for a little longer than just overnight. Stairs and hallway give the first impression of the hotel, and that impression is that the building is many decades old and not renovated since then. The room looks a bit better than that, and apparently they're renovating their lobby.

Front of hotel is on a major street, back of hotel back onto major shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at our hotel. You are correct in stating our current extensive renovation state which has been going on since early February of this year. We are now proud to say we have completed the renovation and offer a lovely lobby and large breakfast area featuring a wonderful hot breakfast! We would love for you to come back and see how we look now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were on a trans Canada trip from Montreal to Vancouver. Stayed in many hotels. This by far was the worst. First thing you will notice as to how dirty it is....from the carpeting to the rooms and the beds. We had to strip the beds of all the covering and put washed towels to be able to sleep on a clean surface.Front desk is pretty rude...at least very very unwelcoming....and said right away "all we care about is a good credit card that will pay". It is old and the age is showing everywhere. I could really go on and on but my advice would have been to stay elsewhere. Unfortunately on the Canadian side of Sault Ste Marie, there aren't many good choices. If you can chose on the US side. This was also one of the highest price hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorman223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are sorry to hear of your unhappy stay while in our hotel. It is our commitment to provide our guests with complete satisfaction with their stay. We only wish you would have brought your situation to our attention so we could have made it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.0 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 333 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing