We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourites”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are fussy people -- not extravagant, but particular about the rooms in which we stay. We have stayed at the Sleep Inn, Sault Ste. Marie, 4 times in the past 2 years. This location is steps from the St. Mary's River and the Millennium Fountain. The Art Gallery of Algoma is next door, and further down the riverside walk you'll find restaurants and a shopping mall. We travel through the Soo almost yearly, and this will remain our first choice hotel.

The rooms are cheaper than most in the area, and yet it is one of the newer hotels. The rooms are in pristine shape, very clean, very comfortable, and plenty of towels are supplied. The wireless internet works like a charm, and there are fridges in every room, ironing boards/irons, blow dryers, and complimentary coffee/tea (including the 4 cup coffee maker). They do offer a complimentary continental breakfast, although I can't rate it, because we're overnighters in the midst of a long haul.

On every occasion, the staff has been very friendly and helpful, and they've given us absolutely no grief over our well-behaved and quiet Newfoundland dog. We couldn't be happier than we have been with this hotel.

Room Tip: Let them know if you're travelling with a dog, and they'll try to provide a room on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    123
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
74
103
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here with a group of 24 tourists from Germany, Switzerland and Austria for 1 night.
It was the 4th of July and we had the perfect view from Canada on the US fireworks across the river! The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was standard. Walking distance to some of the - very few - restaurants in town. Nice and quiet place. Our group just enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galveston1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Sleep Inn two nights. The rooms and the motel in general was clean. The breakfast was listed as continental but they had hot omelets, french toast and sausage. I plan to stay here again upon my return to the Soo. I highly recommend the Sleep in to you. The staff was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefmissaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here on our motorcycle trip around Lake Superior. Very nice, clean and recently refurbished property. Rooms are a nice size, and bathrooms and showers are roomy. Was HOT while we were there and the AC was quite efficient in our room although very warm in the corridors. Nice location, walking distance to downtown. Not much to do in Sault Ste Marie on a Saturday evening however, so we were glad we had a nice room to return to. The staff at the front desk was great, and we loved that they recommeded we park our bikes under the front entry which was covered. The complimentary breakfast was average. The towels were thick and nice, and the bed linens were smooth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for letting us and others know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sleep Inn Ste. Marie. Our extensive renovations are a source of great pride for the entire staff. Great customer service is our number one priority and I will pass your kind words along to the front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sault Ste. Marie.


Thank you

Joe Dore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

In a good location, near downtown, but not in the hustle and bustle. Easy access to get around town. Clean and very quiet. Most quiet hotel I have been in for a long time. Breakfast was your standard fair, but very good. Reception people very helpful.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have problem with steps you should ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Sleep Inns often are considered not as fancy as other properties in the Choice hotel family. This Sleep Inn has a location next to the Art Museum, Bushplane museum and also connected to the river/canal side walk which can lead you all the way up to the interesting canal locks and even to the casino. Many other Sault Ste Marie hotels seem to be a mile or so out on the highways which resemble many other suburban shopping areas. The Sleep Inn is quiet, clean and comfortable.Its price is better than other nearby Choice properties. Breakfast is provided and the front desk folks are welcoming, efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Even in a first floor room, I did not have any noise or disturbances from the parking lot just outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAJoetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at another hotel in SSM last summer, we decided we needed something better this time and Sleep Inn provided that. Located within a block of the waterfront, I loved walking down and watching the freighters. The room was clean and comfortable, the front desk was helpful. Only thing is, get a second floor room, I had requested a second floor, but they were unable to accomodate my request. Sure enough around 11:30pm someone was walking around above us, fortunately they settled down quickly. We will definetely stay here again when in SSM

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid being walked on during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 727 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sleep Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing