We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Inns”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the Best Inns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in this property for 03 nights in queen bed room during 3rd week August 2014.

The staff, breakfast, rooms and the location excellent; nothing missing.

Very clean, well appointed spacious room. Enough free parking and no pressure.

Room had Micro and a fridge good size.

The from office is exceptionally helpful even planing our day tours to places like St Joseph Island, Wawa.

The location is the best of all, walking distance to queen street traditional shopping, eating, museum, broad walk, Algoma art gallery, bush plain museum and many more. About 2-3 kms to great northern road shopping and eating. And just near international bridge.

This was our first visit to Sault St Marie and Wawa and the hotel's hospitality made us liking return. Also the the rate is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
102
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here on a cross-country road trip for one night and it was perfectly comfortable for an overnight, but nothing fancy. It's your basic hotel of this sort so if you shouldn't be expecting luxury anyway booking a Sleep Inn. The room was good, but had a different design with a very small bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable and the service at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as we asked for restaurant suggestions and is in a convenient area to walk around the waterfront. We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning - toast, cereal, French toast, but no waffle maker like most places have now. Overall, solid stay - we'd stay there again if passing through.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if mobility is an issue ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We checked into this hotel Sunday July 6,2014 on our way to Thunder Bay.
The front desk was handled by a very pleasant young girl lady and assigned room 104. As we prepared for bed I turned down the bed closest to the washroom only to discover at least 10 black hairs on the sheets. Horrified I then turned down the linen on the next bed and although there were fewer hairs as I removed the sheets I discovered the mattress pads were also full of hair in both beds.
I went to the front desk and invited her to come down and count all the hairs in the beds. She was very apologetic and did come to the room to see what we had encountered.
Since the front desk had only 1 person on staff I stripped both beds and then when new linens were brought in I helped her make the beds so she could get back to the front desk that was now unattended.
The following morning I sent an e-mail top the general manager John Dore advising him of the situation and that the front desk had only been able to offer a $10.00 discount on the room and requesting a better discount and a credit for a future stay. As we were leaving I spotted the manager in his office and asked to speak with him outside, out of earshot of the cleaning staff and other guest in the lobby. Again I was offered an apology and Mr. Dore said he would speak to the Director of Operations to see if anything could be done.
The response I received on July 18 was that since the issue was resolved that night that the best they could do was a 50% discount on my NEXT stay.
The issue was resolved with my assistance. I do not work there but suddenly I am making 2 beds at the end of a long day and I get a 10 dollar discount and 50% off my next stay?? I will not stay there ever again so the discount has no value.
If you do stay at the hotel do not have breakfast near the rear window as the ants are very busy coming and going along the window sill inside.....maybe they are going for breakfast as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmvacation1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I spoke with the front desk person who was working when you checked in and based upon her version of the events it appears as though you went looking for an issue and found it by stripping the bed down to the mattress pad and finding a few hairs that most likely came through the wash and stuck to the anti-slip fabric, while this was unacceptable, it certainly was not as sinister as you suggest.
The front desk person confirmed that there were a couple of hairs on the mattress pad and not the sheets so the mattress pad was removed and she replaced the sheets to further rectify the situation. She actually refused your offer to help but you insisted on doing so. Helping was not your call to make especially if your act of implied kindness was going to be used later to solicit unreasonable discounts with the implication that you would post a bad review on Trip Advisor if you did not get what you were demanding.
We have a preventative monthly contract with PCO for insect control and do not have an issue with ants.
As you stated, we offered you a $10 discount off your room and a fifty percent discount off your next stay which in my opinion is more than reasonable.
We feel that trip advisor should not be used as a malicious weapon but rather as a way of sharing honest experiences with other travellers.

Joe Dore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Room blew me away - great mattresses, lots of pillows, felt snuggled by the comfort! Esthetically beautiful room. Powerful shower head and lots of room to maneuver in the stand-up stall. A HOT BREAKFAST with FRESH FRUIT!!! Loved that they get we need lots of outlets these days in the room - that rarely happens! There was even a closet in the room with real wooden hangars, not just a rack hanging on the wall. SUPER CLEAN! I loved this room so much that I didn't go out at night - just wanted to experience the luxury and comfort. Would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Nice room, small bathroom but for our 6 hour sleep-stop it did the trick. Friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast was alright, though we did see one of the food prep staff packing up and taking out the trash and then come back to the food station and immediately start handling food without washing her hands first...good thing we ate already...overall decent place to stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

On our return trip home we decided to try this hotel because of being unhappy with another hotel we had stayed at previously. We were not dissappointed! Staff were friendly and helpful, even when our toilet backed up. Breakfast was what you would expect for continental. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and price was low (having paid quite a bit more for a hotel not nearly as nice). Highly recommended with kids as well, not too far of a walk to the mall or boardwalk.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lmate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

great price, centrally located and free breakfast and wifi and will stay there again...the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was helpful and friendly, it was a very nice place to stay...recommend this Inn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 727 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sleep Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing