We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“wonderful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during our Lake Superior Circle Tour. We had requested a room overlooking the locks but instead got a room overlooking the mall, parking lot & upper river. The desk finally found us a room with the view we wanted - & at a $20/night cheaper rate!!! They told us after this to ask for an "odd numbered room to see the ships passing by"! And this hotel has the best view of the river traffic of any hotel in either Michigan or Ontario. We had both breakfast one morning & a dinner in the View Restaurant. The breakfast was OK but the dinner (pizza) was wonderful - as well as the view. The hotel is conveniently located, rooms are nicely furnished but there are no grab bars in the shower for anyone who may need that feature. It is also convenient to the shopping center & has a nice walkway along the river.

Room Tip: If you need a grab bar in the shower ask for a handicapped room. The view of boats going through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront via TripAdvisor on September 22nd, 2011. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Our hotel is the only premier waterfront hotel in Sault Ste. Marie. We pride ourselves as having the best view of the St. Mary's River, Soo Locks and the International Bridge in both Canada and the United States. I'm pleased that, after our GSA had relocated you to a room with the view that you had wanted, your experience became even that much better!

Our accessible rooms have grab bars in the bathing area. Our regular rooms do not. We encourage all of our guests to request an accessible room should they require specific features such as grab bars for example. I'm happy that you found our rooms to be most enjoyable otherwise!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,

Sarah Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    168
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
119
144
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A nice surprise in the Soo: a modern and beautifully appointed, recently refurbished hotel. Bright room, overlooking the river, excellent bed and tasteful furniture, small but pleasant bathroom. Friendly and professional staff. Very good buffet breakfast (too bad the expresso machine was out of order). Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HicEtNunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A friend and I booked in here as a birthday treat to ourselves, and we had a great time! We both thought the room to be really comfortable and enjoyed the room service and the pool! The rooms were top-notch, comfy beds, duvets, and very modern and clean! It was a great treat! Excellent hotel! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJonesfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for submitting a review of Delta Sault Ste. Marie via TripAdvisor on September 15th, 2011. Your feedback is much appreciated.

It was a pleasure hosting you and your friend while you 'celebrated' your Birthdays together! We take great pride in our property and, of course, our service and it makes me happy that you had such a wonderful time at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards,

Sarah Smith
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I was exhausted when I stepped in. The image of this hotel is fantastic. I wanted to stay at this location for the sole purpose that it had a pool. I stayed in a Business class room, with a king size bed. The furniture was up to date, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was impeccable.
I only stayed here one night, and I didn't really make use of the front desk, or outlets. But this was one fantastic night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review, posted on TripAdvisor on September 8th, 2011. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

It was a pleasure hosting you during your stay! We take great pride in our property and, with that said, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your sleep in our Delta Sanctuary Bed. We are a newly renovated property (last January) and also a new Delta!

I hope that you will stop in again should you visit the Sault!

Regards,

Sarah Smith
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We enjoyed our overnight stay at this fine hotel. Its location on the river was perfect for walking after a long day on the road.

Room Tip: Request room at end of building for great views without upgrade price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsiesOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor on September 4th, 2011. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us after a long day on the road! It was a pleasure hosting you and I hope we have the chance to once again.

Have a wonderful week!

Sarah Smith
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here in August on our way to Thunder Bay. We had 2 little kids with us. The location is great as it is right on the water and the mall with the movie theatre is across the street. The front desk was very nice with us and helped us any way they could. Interior design is great and the rooms are very nice and the beds were super comfy. The room we stayed had 2 queen beds and was not very spacious, but as I said, decor and cleanliness were great. Room had a fridge which was a bonus. The pool was nice and the kids had fun, there were even some play toys which the kids loved. The rate for this hotel is quite costly but compared to the other hotel I stayed at that was nice, it was about the same. One of the elevators was out when we stayed, not sure how long it was out for. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdotkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for your review, posted on TripAdvisor on August 28th, 2011. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm pleased that your family had a wonderful stay with us! We value your patronage and hope that you will have the chance to stay with us once again!

I'm happy to inform you that our elevator is back up and running. The glitch has been fixed and it's just like new.

Again, thank you very much and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Sarah Smith
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Arrived without a reservation, and the staff were quick to verify rooms were avail. I would like to add that after a long day of travelling my state of dress was poor and the reception accepted me as if I were in a ball gown. Nice to experience the same treatment. I asked for a view of the water, and it was accomodated. My room was fantastic, spacious, clean, beautiful decor. The linens were top notch! I really liked the policy of the hotel of trying to be enviromental. Parking is free, as long as high speed connection. After a long day of travelling I spent it within my room and did not see the other faculities that were available. They take aeroplan cards!

Room Tip: Ask for all the discounted rates: CAA, government, none weekend night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah0582, Guest Services Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your wonderful review on August 28th, 2011. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Delta Sault Ste. Marie, one of the 46 Delta Hotels exclusive to Canada.

Our staff strive to ensure that each guest who walks through our doors is treated like 'first class'. As our Brand Vision goes, 'At Delta we create communities Guests can rely on for the comfort and emotional support they can’t take with them when they leave home.' This does not change for anybody. At Delta Sault Ste. Marie, we only hope that we leave a lasting positive impression on our guests.

Thank you again for your review! We certainly hope that you give us the chance to host you once again in the future!

Regards,

Sarah Smith
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing