We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 with my elderly father for two nights. We booked the Agawa Canyon Train tour which ended up being cancelled due to flooding; decided to come to SSM anyway and glad we did - The Delta was great! The hotel was very clean both in room and in all public area's. Bed's are very comfortable and have duvet's on them. Customer service in the hotel was friendly, polite and attentive. We very much enjoyed the Sunday brunch in the "View" restaurant at the hotel - great selection of hot and cold food and a reasonable price. We had dinner there and it was delicious. Our room had a tea/coffee maker with the tea/coffee included and a fridge which was handy for cold drinks and snacks.
The gym contained a couple of treadmills, an elliptical machine and a recumbent bike as well as some free weights and a sauna! The small fridge in the gym containing the cold towels is a genius idea! It's the equivalent of the hotel towel on the air plane - very refreshing after a work out session on the treadmill. Although I did not use the pool it looked good for lap swimming as well as shallow areas for kids to splash around in. If I'm not mistaken I believe they have an adults swim only hour at some point in the evening. The black and white photography in both the hotel rooms and common area's was very nice! Someone has done a good job of photographing the local scenery - some of it was quite stunning! There is a large shopping mall literally across the street from the hotel that had a Cineplex in it which I thought would be handy for catching a movie should you wish to do so. The boardwalk right outside of the hotel on the waterfront was scenic to take a stroll down to the SSM locks to see ships coming through.
Overall, we both enjoyed out stay at the Delta SSM and would certainly stay there again. It seemed to me over the course of the weekend that Delta takes time to train their employees in appropriate customer service techniques. Instead of the often heard " no problem" in responses to requests I heard things such as " it would be my pleasure" " I can take care of that for you" " thank you and your welcome". Good job Delta!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Well, they did their best with the new furnishings, public areas and elevators, but underneath this place is still the tired old Holiday Inn it always was since my previous visit in 1995..... It's like sticking a new badge on a well-used car and pretending it's a shiny new vehicle at a premium price, when everyone can see it for the old banger it really is. Want an example...? The room is full of nice pics and upmarket bed covers, but they left the old Holiday Inn shower tubs in place. If you are going to renovate a place, at least do it properly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToodleooCaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our renovations were taken very seriously and we have done some very extensive work within the hotel, fitness center, restaurant and conference areas. We also offer different room types that offer different amenities such as a beautiful walk in shower. Hopefully you will join us again and try another room type to see the upgraded deluxe rooms.

Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had the best night sleep at this hotel, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever had at a hotel! We had originally booked our stay on hotels.com and when we arrived we were disappointed as the website had advertised a lot different things in our room ( we were told that only their suites had those things) that what actually came in our room, when we brought this to the attention of the girl at the front desk, she was very apologetic and did everything she could to make up for our disappointment. The staff were so friendly and seemed to be genuinely happy doing their jobs. We were made to feel very welcome there and our room had an incredible view of the water front which was beautiful to look at at night. The pool was fabulous, the food was great, it is a little bit pricey but it is well worth the money, I will never stay in any other hotel in Sault Ste Marie again. Its located right beside the mall, the theatre and the casino is just a short walk down the road.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the water side, you will have a beautiful night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Se7en22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your stay. We thank you you for rating us a 5! This is very important and exciting to us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to having you come back so we can welcome you and your family. The location is great and we are pleased that you were able to take advantage of some of what the Sault has to offer. Hopefully next time you visit you will enjoy even more!

Thank you again and we will see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a bus tour with Denure Tours and it was an amazing hotel. The bed was one of the nicest I have EVER slept in; it was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the breakfast was incredible as well. Truly, a terrific hotel.

Room Tip: Try the Docks restaurant not far away - it was great too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the 3rd time staying at the Delta in the Soo. The bed was far too soft to be comfortable, internet connection was great, TV reception was terrible for a state of the art hotel, the shower had absolutely no safety bars so my friend could not use the shower, the amenities in bathroom were lovely (soaps, lotions, etc.), the heating/cooling system was hard to regulate for comfort but the view was wonderful - provided you ask for a room with the lock & river view. The boardwalk is also great for walking along the St. Mary's River. It is handy to the mall but we had a terrible time finding a place to eat on a Sunday & ended up at Tim Horton's!! There used to be restaurants in the mall - now just a food court & the mall closed Sun. at 5 PM. The Delta View Restaurant is terribly overpriced so we knew we would not be eating there. And construction caused a detour every time we wanted to drive over to Michigan. The next visit to the Soo will see us staying on the Michigan side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the locks & river but be ready to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay. The items that you brought to our attention we take very seriously and will take a look into the issues. I am very pleased that you enjoyed some of the beautiful views that we have here in Sault Ste. Marie. I truly hope that you can join us again in the future to enjoy more of our community.

Again, thank you for bringing these items forward.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to border, the mall and downtown. The service from the front desk was excellent, and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and modern, and had free wifi, which I appreciated. The only downside was that the walls between the rooms seemed a bit thin, as I could hear the adjacent room quite well even though they weren't being that loud. I did have a room with a door to the room beside me, so that could've been the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevators, as they announce the floor fairly loudly every time someone g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Extra friendly staff rarely have I encountered such helpful engaged front desk staff ! Wonderful atmosphere, location great also. A pleasure to visit for business or leisure. Nice pool, view on waterfront, close to all business needs. Perfect parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to attend a thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. We are very thankful for your rating! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our hotel and service. We are very proud of what we accomplish. We truly hope that you will be able to visit our community again in the near future. Sault Ste. Marie has so much to offer!

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
305 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
619 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier ...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
257 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £86 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing