We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest Hotel in the Sault” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nicest Hotel in the Sault”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

As per the title, you won't do better in the Sault. This hotel has been upgraded and renovated since it was the Holiday Inn and is quite modern. Great location on the waterfront of this small city. Ask for a river view for sure, ideally one looking over the bridge. Clean, and right on the waterfront boardwalk for evening strolls. There is no real tourist zone or walking district in the Sault so you're as good as you will be, by staying downtown at this property.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I must thank you for your wonderful comments that you wrote on Tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for rating us a 4! I hope that you can join us again in Sault Ste. Marie to enjoy more of this area. We are located quite close to the tourist attractions such as the Old Stone House and the Museum. I hope that you will have the opportunity to frequent these places.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    167
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
144
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice hotel on the river. OK rooms not big not too too small. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was small.

The hotel is not in a very centralized location. The lobby and restaurant are nice. Unfortunately during my stay the elevator was broken which was an inconvenience.

In my opinion this is the best hotel in Sault Ste Marie.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room, with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take a second to thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are always looking to hear from our guests! After all you are the reason we work so hard each and every day, we want all of our guests to have the best possible experience while visiting Sault Ste. Marie. We are located in the middle of the downtown district of Sault Ste. Marie and there are many attractions to see in this area. We are also located directly across from the cities largest shopping center. I hope that you will join us again and perhaps experience a little more of the area that we are in.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here twice in December for business. When I arrived in town, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Holiday Inn had become a Delta. They did a great job with the renovations and the hotel is what you'd expect from the chain.

Staff are friendly and professional and I had no issues with the service or the facilities.

The view of the river is spectacular (it was December so I was only going to enjoy the river from the warmth of my room). Make sure you ask for a high floor with a river view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take a moment to thank you very much for expressing your thoughts about your stay on Tripadvisor. We love to hear from our guests and I will share your kind words with our team. It brings us much joy to know that you had a great stay in the newly renovated Delta here in Sault Ste. Marie. I will have to agree with you in regards to the view! We are very lucky to have such wonderful views from our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This Christmas, my partner and I were on the road, making our way across the country from New Brunswick to Alberta. Late on Christmas Eve, we arrived at the Delta in Sault Ste Marie.
This is really a beautiful property! Under operation by the Delta since 2010, everything has been recently renovated. The property is very modern, clean, and has an upscale feel.
Given that was Christmas Eve, the restaurant was not open, but the front desk agent advised us that the bar was still open, and was offering a limited menu. There were a few other tables seated in the bar when we went back down to the main floor after getting settled in and freshened up in our room. We had a server who was very friendly, and efficient. She offered a few other things that were not listed on the menu in attempt to ensure that we had enjoyable meals. We did end up ordering a spinach salad that she mentioned with blue berries, goat cheese, and walnuts among other things, and a really delicious balsamic dressing. We also ordered from the pub fare menu that was offered and had nachos and chicken wings. Both were big servings, and paired with the salad, we had a really nice meal.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and service was very nice on Christmas Eve both at the desk, and the restaurant. On Christmas morning, the front desk staff was not very helpful or spirited as we checked out, and we hit the road without having breakfast, as she told us there would only be a buffet beginning at 11.
This hotel has beautiful guest rooms, and the renovations are stunning. Free parking at this property was a plus. The location was great for getting on and off the highway, and right downtown (not that anything was open during this trip). It was very cold and snowy, but it looked to really be in a beautiful area on the water if weather had been warmer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First we would like to thank you for rating your stay with us on Tripadvisor! We appreciate this and we appreciate all feedback that is made available to us. From the sounds of your review, you had a nice stay over the Holidays. We are thrilled that you were able to join us and we hope that you can join us again in the future so that you can enjoy what the Sault has to offer. I understand that most places were most likely closed while you were here. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team. They will be very happy to hear from you.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My last two stays were excellent and I've noticed that Delta Priviledges Plat + upgrades have significantly improved in 2013. There is a proactive effort made to upgrade to the best room in the house and on my last two stays I've enjoyed huge corner 2-Room Suites and one was Presidential level...much appreciated I have to say.

Rooms were clean and well stocked. Elevator's have been freshened up nicely to match the impressive lobby. The View Restaurant has very nice river views and excellent dining with great service ideal for business lunch/dinner's.

By far the best place to stay in Sault Ste Marie my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for rating us a 5 on Tripadvisor! We are so happy that you enjoy the upgrades that you receive being a Delta Platinum Plus member. We want you to have the best possible stay each and every time you join us in the Sault. The elevators have been replaced and we now have beautiful, updated ones! We are thrilled about this upgrade to our property!.

Thank you again and we hope that you can visit again soon!

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times over the past couple of years and have never been dissapointed. I find the service more attentive than what you get at the water tower. Rooms are clean and modern. On our last visit got a king room on the eight floor. Nice to see they finally have the elevator problem resolved. No issues at all and the bed was great. I absolutely loved the pillows. Not sure where they get them or what they're made from but I would love to know. I have searched for big fluffy pillows like these and cant seem to get the same quality you can find at a good hotel like the Delta. Perhaps they're goose down filled. Not sure but will definitely recommend the Delta for business or pleasure. The view restaurant is very good too altough I didn't eat here on our last visit. We have had our company Xmas party at the Delta the last two years and have been very pleased with the food and the service. If the hotel management is reading this... Please tell me where you get those pillows because I slept like a champ on those things. Thanks Delta riverfront.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank coby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stay in Sault every second weekend. I Have read the reviews with the delta and thought we would give it a try. We booked online to get the best rate. We checked into our room at 2am to find a window had been open and no heat on in the room. We closed the window and turn on the heat and went to bed we were in bed listening to a noisy heater in the room. We tried to rest a bit do to the fact it was 3 am now and we drove 8+ hours. At 930am we had enough of the noisy heater and asked for another room. We did get another room and moved our stuff. Also everytime we left the hotel our key would not work to get back into the hotel. We had to always go to the front desk and ask for another key. Also in the rooms the pillows are very soft do to the fact they have been use so much you can't get a good sleep. So we wasted $400 at this place when we should of just stayed at the comfort inn and suites.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. We are truly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We do take this seriously and we welcome the feedback when things did not go as planned. I hope that you can join us again to experience the best of what we have.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.7 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious rooms you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location in the downtown core and business district, along with a great shopping experiences. The distinction of being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk will take your expectations to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing