We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Holiday Inn Express in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario is a great place to stay. Thank you for accommodating us in an accessible room for my special needs, and also accommodating so my Mom and I can have separate rooms, but still be adjoining. Also nice that you gave us rooms closest to the dining room for breakfast.

Your breakfast needs to improve in two ways-if it is a hot breakfast you are providing, the food must be hot. You must also be prepared for the quantity of food you can provide to the quantity of guests in the hotel. It is a busy time of year with the Agawa Train in service and bus tours staying as guests can take up a lot of room in the eating area. The first morning, there were no signs to say that there was extra seating for breakfast in your conference room down the hall, but you did post it the second morning.

You may need to update your list of outside restaurants to give guests as some restaurants (that are close by the hotel) are no longer open in SSM. There are other restaurants in the north end of the city but may require taking a cab for those that are on a bus tour, especially. OLG Casino has great food.

Room Tip: Accessible rooms are great to use for those who need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

stayed at this hotel because we were going on the Agawa Canyon train tour. When checking in the hotel staff were more than friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very spacious, super clean and the beds extra comfortable, very impressed. The hotel is located a quick walk from where the train boards, so that was quite convenient. They also served a really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaytee4349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here one night on a cross Canada road trip. I was totally surprised this hotel has undergone a renovation and It looked amazing. A holiday Inn that actually felt like a boutique hotel, not only the rooms but the Lobby as well. Highly recommend staying there it is not the typical cookie cutter holiday inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikevfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and happy you like the award winning renovations that have made our hotel one of the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for two nights this week. We enjoyed it very much. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The included breakfast was great. Anyone going to take the Agawa train tour should stay here as you are within a few minutes walk to the train, a shopping mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovely_Lady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for the review and hope you enjoyed your train ride to Agawa Canyon. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had booked two nights as part of a group to The Agawa Canyon. When we arrived at the Hotel we were advised that due to the massive rain storm there was no train running as the tracks were washed out.
The Hotel was very helpful and understanding, giving us complimentary passes to Sault St. Maire attractions and also giving as a large meeting room at no charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzfuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for this review. We are also very disappointed that you did not get to enjoy the Agawa Canyon train tour but we hope you still enjoyed your time in Sault Ste Marie. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back another time once the train is back up and running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #10, 1 night

This is definitely one of the nicer Holiday Inn's of this trip. Holiday Inn while fairly consistent in quality seems to vary in aesthetic appeal, this hotel had aesthetic appeal.The location was great for our quick visit just a short walk from the updated waterfront and good restaurants in the other direction. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, the staff were courteous, I slept very well. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amosnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We are delighted to read this review and are vey glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is just top of the notch. Nice, clean, large rooms, perfect Wifi coverage all over the place, great breakfast.

It has been newly renovated and even those ridiculous north american light switches that look as they come directly from the 1960s have been replaced by modern ones.

The staff was super friendly and always helpful. If you need a great place to stay in Sault Ste. Marie, this is the place to go.

When you travel by car: The hotel is directly on the corner of Bruce St., you can access the parking lot from Bruce St.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. We are so glad that you had such a great stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier ...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 320 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing