We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointed with HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Ontario
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Never disappointed with HI Express”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We made a stop here during our journey. I don't know if this hotel is a remodel but wow is it nice! The 'Easter Weekend' special was a great price, the hotel was very modern, the room was very comfy. The hot breakfast was adequate to kick-start the day. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobandChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we have recently undergone a major renovation.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    93
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
99
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a hard time finding the hotel but once we did we were not disappointed. Although the rooms are fairly small, they are beautifully renovated with classy furniture and granite counter top and fantastic walk in shower in the bathroom. The bed is very comfortable. There was a tournament in town and this hotel was booked with many many pre teen children. We heard a lot of noise when we first arrived but in the evening and all night it was quiet. Our room was on street side and on the first floor which I do not like but it turned out ok. The breakfast is included and it is typical and good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance of a great italian restaurant. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your kind response and we hope to see you again soon. We are very fortunate that there are many fine restaurants located in the downtown and are within walking distance of the hotel.
Again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapleau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location within walking distance of exceptional restaurants, room was clean and well laid out. It has just been renovated and we had a couple of small issues that were remedied immediately by the friendly staff. We used the pool and spa and both were very clean and well maintained. The exercise room was also pleasant and the machines worked very well.
Special thanks to front desk staff Jasmine and Julien for their efforts and being pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tijeanChapleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Our goal is to make the stay of each of our guest the best it can be. I am very happy our staff were able to accomplish this for you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely, newly-renovated hotel. Clean. Welcoming. Great beds and pillows. And, very good, hot coffee and breakfast. Wireless access available throughout the hotel. Good desk to work on during stay. Clean lobby area with a nice lounge with Flat Screen TV. Located on Bay Street in downtown right across from the Station Mall and a short walk to the boardwalk along St. Mary's River. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed here twice while travelling on business. It is a very clean, newly renovated hotel, with friendly staff. The pool, hot tub, and gym are also very clean and we'll maintained. The location is ideal, being across the road from the mall, sporting complex, and casino. It is within walking distance of several nice restaurants.

The only small improvement I would ask is for more fresh fruit to be offered at the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlc499263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we will be adding healthy choices to our Express Start Breakfast

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Formerly an elderly Days Inn, his hotel underwent the most thorough type of renovation possible -- it was completely closed, cleaned down to the bare shell, and rebuilt from scratch. The one remaining sign of it being an older building is that my ground floor room was a bit small and up a few steps from the lobby -- although a ramp is also provided.

Otherwise, everything is neat, clean, stylish and very comfortable. The room included a large desk, ample storage in drawers, a fridge and a microwave as well as a coffeemaker. The bathroom too is completely new with a beautiful large-area shower stall in place of a bathtub. The breakfast room is definitely big enough for the size of the hotel (a weak link at some other Holiday Inn Express locations). Breakfast offerings are standard for the chain, as is free coffee and tea available 24-7 in the breakfast room.

Front desk service was friendly and helpful at all times. Wake-up calls happened exactly as scheduled. In my 5-night stay, housekeeping kept the room immaculate every day. There's a beautiful new pool and hot tub area, but the pool water was a bit too cold for my comfort, otherwise I'd have spent more time in it! I was pleased to see that security was on hand to control the parking area on the night when a hockey game was in progress at the Essar Centre arena next door.

Location: directly across the street from the Station Mall, and a 5-minute walk from the waterfront boardwalk. It's only a 3-4 minute walk to the Agawa Canyon Tour Train station. Good selection of excellent restaurants all close by as well. This hotel provides one of the best hospitality experiences in Sault Ste. Marie!

Room Tip: Any room should be good as sound-proofing is first-rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The comfort of our guests is our priority and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garson ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our room was beautiful! The pool was wonderful. I had taken my grand kids for a swim two days in a row they had so much fun. Our room was set up so we had privacy while travelling with one of our children. She had the pull out sofa with her own tv she was so excited. The little kitchenette worked out beautifully as well. Everything was clean and tidy! This is the second year in a row we spent Christmas Day and Boxing Day ...we were so pleased with our room and facilities that we stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are so happy that both you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel during the holidays and we look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 320 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing