We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - nice reno - pool out of order”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel - nice reno - pool out of order”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is right across the street from a big shopping mall. The renovation is very nice.
FREE Breakfast was fantastic. Unfortunately, the pool was out of order during this visit.
The staff was very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: We were travelling August 2014 and only stropped at a hotel so our son could enjoy the pool. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly-renovated property and experienced the high level of customer service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express family. I'm sorry you weren't able to enjoy the pool area while you were here; although the whirlpool is undergoing a minor facelift, the pool is up and running! It's such a nice space to relax, with its floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking our central courtyard. And it's one of the largest indoor hotel pools you're bound to find in Sault Ste. Marie! We hope you will get the chance to return and enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    92
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
98
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year and booked in again on our way home. Room very large and clean with excellent beds and amenities. A modern day look within the hotel. The staff was helpful and provided excellent service when we arrived and left. Good selection at the breakfast bar but could have had more fresh fruit selections. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate all feedback we receive from our valued guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your newly-appointed guestroom; since our complete renovation, our rooms are more spacious and modern than ever! And the beds are so comfortable. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary Express Start Breakfast, complete with hot items; we are always looking for ways to improve our menu, so thank you for mentioning more variety in fresh fruit. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The disabled suite with a separate king bedroom and pull out sofa in the main room are one of the reasons why we stayed here again after a great stay last august! Handy kitchenette with fridge, microwave and sink is ideal for staying more than one night or for special dietary needs.
Staff are friendly and accommodating.
Only negative was the fan in the bathroom wasn't working, and the elevator is Still in disrepair.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melamberdawn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Our accessible suites are one of my favourite rooms, as they are spacious and convenient for our guests who require it, and yet still comfortable and beautiful for those who don't! Our hotel adheres to the American Accessibility Standards, and we have a variety of different rooms available to those with additional needs. And yes, the Elevator has not had the same facelift (yet!) as the rest of the hotel, although still operational, and we cannot wait for it to match the rest of our beautiful facility! We hope you will stay with us again soon, and thank you again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Family spent one night with two teen age kids. Bought the Family Staycation package which included a large pizza and 2 movie tickets. It was nice to relax in the room and not have to worry about dinner (front desk will take care of everything). The theater is right across the street in the mall and was quite nice. The mall is also a nice amenity and they are updating the interior (has an interesting coffee shop and a Teavana). It also has a large Beer Store with a good selection of interesting Ontario beers. The hotel pool was clean and large with a nice but not very warm hot tub. There is also a very nice sauna. I like how the pool area is located in a central courtyard so it feels private (instead of being "on display" to traffic). The room was newly updated and very nice and tastefully decorated with a small kitchenette area and mini fridge. Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint is bathroom has no vent fan. The wifi is amazingly fast (best I have had at a hotel which the kids LOVED). The hotel is centrally located. You can walk across the street to the waters edge... watch boats docking, people fishing, enjoy the riverfront sculptures and the bridge. Also, on Saturday morning, the local farmers market is located right there. Breakfast was very good. I like the pancake maker. Overall a very nice, relaxing stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
What a wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie. It truly is located close to everything you need: from Mill Market and the Station Mall for shopping, to the Sault Ste. Marie Canal and boardwalk for evening strolls, to Galaxy Movie Theatre, which we are glad you were able to enjoy as well! The Family Staycation package is a great, convenient alternative that allows you to relax and unwind and let the hotel staff take care of everything. We are also very glad that you enjoyed your comfortable, newly appointed room. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night while passing through. Enjoyed the large pool area, with plenty of places to sit out of the splash zone. Only one washer and dryer, but no quarters necessary to use it. Room was clean, beds and bedding comfortable, employees helpful, and breakfast appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin_man576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities while you were here, including our beautiful pool! We are also pleased you enjoyed your complimentary Express Start Breakfast. And as a guest travelling with kids, I'm sure you found the complimentary laundry service to be very convenient! We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the cleanest and friendliest Holiday Inn Express that we have stayed in. The rooms were outstanding; comfortable beds, great linens and good quality towels. The buffet was clean, well stocked, and the hostess was friendly and helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay after four days of back country hiking. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luanacomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are very glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie works hard to ensure that you experience the highest level of service and comfort; making sure you have crisp new sheets and a comfortable bed, and a delicious breakfast is part of what makes the experience of staying with us such a treat. We hope you will choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Don't let the outside fool you. It looks ordinary. But inside the room, it is great. The bathrooms are sparkling and modern, the bed is super comfy and it's tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast even had pancakes freshly cooked. Nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySloss, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! And not only are our rooms beautifully appointed and immaculately clean, but our beds are exceptionally comfortable and I'm betting you had a wonderful night's sleep. And I'm also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Express Start Breakfast! We hope you will choose us when travelling again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
520 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 320 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing