We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After a very long day of driving we got quite lost finding the motel section of Sault Ste Marie so decided to stay in what Tripadvisor reviewers rated as the best. It was indeed the most expensive of our entire trip and no way worth the price.
The room had a small divider between the couch area and the bed area which we liked but the bed area was so tightly packed that I had difficulty getting in and out of the window side of the bed where the heater protruded.
The breakfast was very typical of cheaper motel breakfasts. Not what we expected for the price
The hotel was not busy as it was over the Queen VIctoria weekend and maybe that was the reason but the whole experience seemed cold and distant and not welcoming.
We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
There are two main hotel sections of Sault Ste. Marie. One is located in the downtown core and the other in uptown SSM which essentially runs down one main strip called Great Northern Road. Indeed with many to choose from, choosing the #1 hotel on TripAdvisor seems the most logical. It is truly unfortunate that your experience was not as positive as the others. We take this very seriously and appreciate your very honest review. Certainly our room rates are consistent with other hotels of our calibre in the city. We offer a variety of suites with different layouts and space depending on your individual needs. What you are describing is our Junior King Suites which are most popular with our business travelers. We must confess that yes, space is slightly limited in some of our Jr. Suites. When you put a king sized bed in place of where you would typically find a Queen or a Double in most hotels, space on either side of the bed sometimes loses out in the battle. We are the only hotel in uptown SSM that offer a a hot complimentary continental breakfast and along with typical continental items such as yogurt, cereal, juices and coffee we also offer hot items and housemade pastries and make your own waffles. We offer it in our restaurant with real plates and cutlery and a true eat in experience because we feel that is how our guests should start off their day. We get various feedback on breakfast – some good, some bad and we take it all in in stride. (We have to admit the comparison to the ‘motel’ breakfast stings just a bit for the reasons mentioned above). Ah, the first long weekend of the spring/summer after what seemed like the longest winter of our lives here in Northern Ontario. We lost count of the number of boats and ATV’s traveling down Great Northern Road. When the city is surrounded by great lakes and the fishing is abundant, the locals and visitors typically head for the hills – literally. We would love to hear more about our service levels during your stay so we can determine if there is anything we can do better to make our guests more comfortable during long weekends/typically non-busy times. We never give up trying to keep you happy even after you’re gone. It just does not seem right that your experience was the same as most of the others here on TripAdvisor. We want to change that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    128
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
171
156
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
230 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in the tower. I don't know if there are rooms anywhere else in the building; there could be. It is a large building with conference rooms. The furniture in our room was modern and not worn. The bathroom shower was a true shower, not a bathtub with a shower. The hotel has a restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is supplied in that restaurant and it has adequate room. The choice and quality of the food was fine. The hotel has an elevator. Front desk staff were courteous and efficient. Wifi worked fine. We did not use the A/C-heater unit, so I cannot comment on its noise level. The television was an LCD flat screen. Our bed and pillows were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We appreciate such a thorough review of all that we have to offer. Precisely because it is all positive. Indeed we have suites on the first and second floors of the hotel not attached to the tower as it was added on to the original structure. The in-room experience is the same throughout the entire hotel but the tower offers an elevator. We are so pleased that you took the time to provide your feedback. When a experienced contributor provides us with comments, it causes a bit of extra excitement. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you at the suites on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had occasion to spend three nights in this hotel. What a wonderful surprise! The multi-million dollar recent renovation ensure every aspect of the facility was designed with the traveller in mind. The rooms are very comfortable with all the facilities you like in a hotel room. The banquet facilities and the food is first class. The dining room is a treat. It's obvious the food and beverage manager goes out of his way to provide guests with extras. A great visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
When you've spent three nights in a hotel and you are still raving about it, we know we have done our jobs. Certainly being away from home is never easy so we are continously looking for new ways to make your stay more enjoyable. We are so glad to hear you appreciated the suite ammenities, the fabulous food and of course, our great service. Especially from one of our main men - none other than the famous Rod. (who we are pretty sure knows more people than Brad Pitt). Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your great feedback. We look forward to your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was in the Sault on a business trip (conference was held at this hotel) with two co-workers. We all enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend this hotel. The accommodations, food and service were all excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We love it when we receive feedback from guests who have experienced both the hotel and the conference centre. Being the largest conference centre in Northern Ontario, it is truly important to us to ensure a great experience from every aspect. Quattro Conference Centre offers the same great food fair as our Chophouse + Bar. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for two days, worry free. Rooms were very clean and modern and meals were excellent. The staff were over the top great. The owners of this establishment are very in tune to the hospitality business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. Sometimes less is more. You definitely hit all our sweet spots and we so appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Keeping our guests happy and comfortable is definitely top priority on the Owners list. The Q team are happy to oblige. We look forward to hosting you again on your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel while attending a conference. The hotel rooms & conference venues were modern, spotlessly maintained and well suited for the business traveller. All conference venues were well managed. In particular, Rod, Popeye & Bill provided amazing customer service - they all seamlessly took care of every detail. So impressed - what a great venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
A great first impression is always appreciated but to receive great feedback from a returning satisfied guest is really what we love to hear. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Conference Centre team were able to meet and exceed all your expectations. The modern rooms definitely add to the experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us your great feedback. We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here on our way to and from Barrie, Ontario. Beautiful rooms and great staff. Would definitely recommend this place. My only complaint is that they put onions and peppers in their scrambled eggs but they was plenty other stuff to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay on your journey. We are the perfect stop over location from the south to the west. Thank you taking the time to give us your comments. Certainly we get different reviews on various components of breakfast and we always pass it on to the kitchen. I think this may be the first to mention peppers and onions. But just to let you know that we don't always include them. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 229 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada (Formerly Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#1 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by Quattro Hospitality Inc., the hotel features 157 suites and the Largest Convention space in Northern Ontario. Total capacity for the conference centre is 1,500 people due to 13,728 square feet of floor space. Full catering service for events is available. The hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, fitness centre, business center, onsite restaurant and an onsite spa. Limousine service and Personal Trainer facilities. Air-conditioned guestrooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, full-size sofa bed, flat panel televisions, ipod docking stations and room service is available. The Comfort Suites hotel also provides easy access to local points of interest like the OLG Casino Sault Ste. Marie, Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Searchmount Ski Hill, Cambrian Mall, Bellevue Park and Crimson Ridge Golf Course. The hotel also participates in Choice Privileges, the Choice Hotels rewards program where guests can earn points toward free nights, Airline Rewards, gift certificates and more while staying at any Comfort, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Econo Lodge and Rodeway Inn hotel in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Suites And Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
Great Northern Hotel
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing