We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Bel Air Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bel Air Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a nice place for overnight stay. The price is also reasonable and is on right on the business highway.motel is very close to the restaurent walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean and very quite at night. We would recommend everyone.

Room Tip: nice place for overnight stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

This motel is dirty, old, and you have an instant uncomfortable feeling due to the conditions of this place. Do not stay here. This motel is listed on Hotwire as a 2 star. It is listed with the likes of the Comfort Inn and Holiday inn express. These are 5 stars in comparison to this dump.
We walked in and left. We lost our $80 charge from Hotwire, it was that bad. Also, Hotwire charged more than what you could book it for at the desk walking in off the street.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Tripadvisor.,

I wrote the review on 11 sept for Bel-air motel unfortunately it was attached to Trunk road motel. My review title was best hotel to stay by khaled Y . So please attached it to Bel-air motel, Sault ste marie.

Thanking you,

Khaled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at this motel last week, the rooms are basic and simple. They offer free parking at their motel. Conveniently located just off the Trans Canada, we stayed here for a single night - a stop over as part of a longer trip.The location is perfect if you only passing by. It's right near restaurants and a small shopping mall. The staff is very helpful and friendly. My room was clean and comfortable, but its the staff that make this hotel great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We decided to make this motel apart of our cross-country trip because of the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

We were just passing through, so obviously we weren't looking for frills or amenities. We were, however, looking for cleanliness, safety and peace and quiet.

I would advise anyone seeking those things to go elsewhere. Seriously. The room looked like it had been mauled by a pack of dogs. There were holes in the bathroom wall. The bathroom was so frighteningly dirty. The bedding was suspicious, ratty and uncomfortable. There's just no way to articulate how unsafe, unclean and uncomfortable our stay was. There were groups of men sitting on the sidewalk next to the room, cars blazing past, trash out front of our door.

I could go on and on. We chose to go through with our night at this motel because I was sick, we had driven for hours and just didn't have the energy to find another place. If the circumstances were different, I would have put up a fuss.

Definitely not a good stay and should I ever return to the Soo, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Pre-booked online and have learned our lesson. Always look at a place first. Door to room did not close tight unless you put your shoulder into it. Clearly needed to be replaced for safety given there was an alley nearby. Smell of mould and mildew in the room, beds were sketchy looking and the off white sheets had stains. Lots of bugs and spider webs in the corners. Floor of shower looked like someone went into the bush and rolled around then had a shower-it was brownish and rusty. The faucet dripped which sucked because it was part of the main room. I can't even explain how many things were outdated and dirty, it's frustrating because at 80-100 dollars a night you expect to be able to sleep in a clean and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank changeling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belair15, Manager at Bel Air Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Good Evening, Thank you for writing the review. All the door rooms knob are closing properly you might have closed the door with the door mat than it will be hard to close the door. Secondly you asked for smoking room ther is no other smell in the room we will be glad to show all our rooms to any one. There are no stain on the sheets. If there are so many issues you should have come to the front office right away not writing after a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked this motel for 3 nights, All the furniture and fixtures are in average condition, not too good and not too bad. Videos are free but prints for videos are not too good. Hosts are excellent and provided us whatever we wanted during our stay.. Overall, it was an average stay with excellent hosts..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Handsome_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belair15, Manager at Bel Air Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Good evening, Thank you for writing the review of our motel. All the videos prints are good but the video head was dirty if you reported we might be able to clean the video head in five minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
288 reviews
1 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
661 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pine Grove Motel
Pine Grove Motel
#17 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#15 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
37 reviews
1 mi away
Skyline Motel
Skyline Motel
#22 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
32 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trunk Road Motel
Trunk Road Motel
#14 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Motel

Address: 398 Pim St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 2V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £36 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bel Air Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 times city beautification award winner and CAA/AAA approved We have Large and spacious 31 Rooms, each having a High Speed Internet, Freeze, inroom coffee maker, in room Free movies(Old, New,Kids and Adults), Close to Restaurents, Shopping Malls and all other attractions. Some other features includeFree computer access in office for guests.Free in room moviesCoin laundry for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bel Air Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing