We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to spend a nigth”
Review of Trunk Road Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trunk Road Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our room was very clean with comfortable beds, recently renovated bathroom, TV, fridge.The girl at the check in was very helpful and friendly.The location is good.We enjoyed our stay.I recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #16 and everything was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evcedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the upkeep and cleanliness of this small motel. It's great value for the money and the owners are friendly and very helpful. We have now stayed here twice in the last two weeks while going and coming from Toronto. This will be our accommodations of choice any time we are in Sault Ste Marie. The beds are comfy, the room was basic but a good size and very clean, the bathroom was sparkling!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonscapeDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This place is an older 20 room motel that doesn’t look like much from the road, but the rooms are clean if somewhat small, and smelled OK to us. The plumbing fixtures all worked and looked new but were at the low end of the price spectrum. The bathroom was very clean and appeared to be recently remodeled with ceramic tile on the floor and walls. If you want a good hot shower, go somewhere else. The hot water was lukewarm at best. There was no Kleenex type tissues in the room.

The Wi-Fi in the room was adequate to support Skype quite well, but we didn’t try streaming video.

English was definitely not the desk clerk’s first language. I had some trouble explaining that a medical alert dog is not a pet, but she finally got it. I never did communicate the idea that two people staying in the same room might each want a key to the room. She took the position that if we wanted a second key we should rent a second room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

When I first drove into the motel I wondered what I got myself into. I checked into the motel and was met by the friendly owner. The room was clean, simple and has adjustable temperature control. The TV had a large selection of digital cable channels and the wifi was quite fast. I was awakened by the doors that my next door neighbours kept opening, so noise dampening is not the best, but it is not all that bad either. The bed was clean and comfortable, I had a good sleep.

I would come back if I ever needed to stay for a few nights. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWarrior84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you just need a clean and friendly place to lay your head before you get back on the road, this is the place to stay. Excellent price, friendly staff, warm and clean. I will definitely stay again on my road trips between north-western and southern Ontario!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Kiersten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

We landed in Saulte Ste. Marie after a nine hour drive on our way to the west coast for work and arrived around 10:30pm. Upon arriving, we were greeted by a friendly (although drowsy) attendant, promptly paid for our accommodation ($74.00) and went to our room. We were pleasently surprised to find that the room was very clean, with the basis ammentities that would be expected at any motel. there were fresh sheets on the queen sized beds, plenty of clean towels, as well as a very clean bathroom with complimentary soap. There was also a mini fridge and coffee maker that worked well and a good running tv. Overall the Trunk Road Motel was exactly what we were looking for, and we would recommend it to any young adults traveling, or anyone who wants a good one night's stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Westcoastbound14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The desk person was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bathroom very nicely presented. Free parking and wifi was handy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Grove Motel
Pine Grove Motel
#17 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
50 reviews
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#14 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bel Air Motel
Bel Air Motel
#18 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
69 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trunk Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trunk Road Motel

Address: 759 Trunk Rd | corner of Trunk Road & Boundary Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £43 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trunk Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Trunk Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trunk Road Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing