We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the dog”
Review of Ambassador Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Was in town visiting family and arrived late stopped here for what was supposed to be one night as it was late and i was tired. Was greated by the morst friendly "staff" a dog named Ellie. the price was reasonable and after a comfortable night's sleep, and a cup of coffee from the in room coffee pot, i knew i had stumbled on something special. The real selling point was when our son spent hours playing frisby "with Ellie, the staff dog" in the acres of well groomed lot in the backyard. After a swim in the backyard pool and a delicious lunch from the on site fry stand we decided to stay for our entire 4 night trip. We will be staying here on all futer visits to the Sault.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived around 9 pm on the 30th of June just to find a very unprofessional and impolite person who pulled the pen out of my hand while I was filling out the document for check in. It started by me asking for the price and when he told me the price I said that I saw it for $10 cheaper down the road. His only reply was. “Don’t waste my time”. I said .Wow that’s polite but the price is ok and I would like to check in. He replied that he has 3 rooms left and it is the long weekend. In fact I want you to go down the road. I don’t want you business. He pulled the pen out of my hand and walked away.
This was an angry person who should not work in the service industry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
6  Thank wiecze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I came across the Ambassador after a long day and dark evening of driving in the rain. Drove past because of the shabby exterior but came back when the bustle and lights of downtown were unappealing to a tired traveler. Great decision! Friendly front desk, OK rooms, comfy beds with quality sheets and pillows, lots of open space to walk the dog, and a really nice enclosed pool in the back yard. Quiet area, easy to the highway, couple of minutes to the downtown. Price very reasonable for what you get. Looks like the on-site burger and frie shack would be yummy, but not open in the off-season or late at night. Returning through the Sault a few months later, I had no hesitation in calling ahead to book a room (recommended as they only have a few dog-friendly rooms). Same good stay this time. You may want to take a room-freshener or candle as the dog-friendly rooms are smoking rooms, but neither of mine were overly smoky and opening the patio door and lighting a candle quickly aired it out. If you're looking for a high-end experience, this isn't it, but if you want a nice quiet place with an exceptional pool, comfortable beds and lots of room for your dog to roam, this a very good motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnne-Fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

ghastly peacock blue-green with white siding did not inspire confidence...but once inside the room, vastly different. Modern, clean, great pillows and toasty warm. Heating system was quiet and so was overall location. Recommended if you are looking for a place to stay at the north end of town - close to assorted restaurants, malls, shopping. Never did try out the swimming pool or hot tub...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We found this motel to be conveniently located by the highway. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. It had a conveniently located food kiosk to grab a quick bite to eat. Overall a good place to stop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caser41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer um todos são ótimos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila B, Owner at Ambassador Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
490 reviews
2 mi away
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier ...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
561 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
757 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motel

Address: 1275 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 0B9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Ambassador Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing