We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic site, recommended with Fort Mackinac.”

Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice historic site, recommended with Fort Mackinac.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I came in the off season, they were preparing for the tourism. I was lucky enough to do my pre-readings which I normally do for museums. There are informative signs, but they are obstructed or otherwise obscured.

I recommend that you do this and Fort Mackinac in Michigan together as they are connected in their histories.

I would wish that there is more of a tactile history. I was asking difficult questions about the site and they seem to have answers for even the most obscure questions. But then again this is the year-round staff and not summer students. I lament the fact that they added an extension between the house and kitchen, yet that addition will too become apart of the history of the site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipAPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Canadian History Lives!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

These buildings and other like them dotted across the country bring life to the Company of Adventures and the North West Company as outlined in books such as the trilogy written by Peter C Newman. The people behind the restoration of the two buildings on this site have done the Canadian public a great service and should be part of every Canadians visit to the area. Well done.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IamKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone house”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Period costumes, fire burning in the summer kitchen on a fall day made for excellent ambiance. Staff extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. A do not miss attraction for the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Calicat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful example of loving restoration”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

There would probably not be a Sault as we know it if not for these two entrepreneurs and innovators. The museum guides are well informed and instructive. This is a great family experience visiting a fully restored period home and the unusual Clerque home on top of an old blockhouse. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aseries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Checked out during a rainy day.”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

There is lots of history in the house but it is self guided. There was one person available to answer question and she did talk about the summer kitchen.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing