We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I arrived at the hotel around 3am and left first thing in the morning. The mattress didn't have a fitted bed sheet even, just a regular sheet thrown over it and it didnt cover the mattress. The mattress itself was horrible and hard. The lamp was broken. The bathroom tile was yellow with a green tub. The tub was clogged and when I was showering the water wouldnt drain. When I first arrived I was sent to a room with all the lights on and door wide open (From the outside). The toilet in my room (When I switched rooms) was clogged with toilet paper so I couldnt use it. I will say the staff was friendly. Breakfast wasnt great but I had some toast. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, unless you have no where else to stay. I felt dirty leaving.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

The Girl at the Front Desk was very helpful and suggested Swiss Chalet delivery ( Very good idea as I was tired after 9 Hours of driving. She was very patient despite a few of us who happened to arrive at the same time to check in.

The man setting up Breakfast went out of his way to provide coffee and Muffins even before Breakfast was ready as we set off very early. Nice restful stay. We will be staying again during our next trip.

Thank you.


Scott. L

Room Tip: Ask for Ground Floor Rooms. Direct access with parking right outside. Internet Reception was good in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very good value for the price, rooms a bit old but comfortable. Hotel offered free breakfast with plenty of selection. There was a fridge in the room and a coffee maker. Hotel is close to highway and easy to find.
Staff was very friendly and courteous. Overall an excellent experience at the hotel, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I reserved a room based on referral from the CAA website. I arrived to find a decades old dull worn but clean room. The motel was generally poorly maintained. And unfortunately, the phone service was dead and the internet off. The desk clerk said that both issues were common as he offered to reset the server router at the front desk. The reset did not work either. I checked out and they politely provided a refund. Seems they are used to customers disappointment. I should have checked TripAdvisor's reviews website first as I would not have made the original reservation. I am also going to CAA and recommend that it checks the current status/management of the motel compared to CAA standards.

Room Tip: Bypass this motel and spend an extra $10 to $20 close by for good reliable motel accommodation. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Screen2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank AMANDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank JOSEPH C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
285 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pine Grove Motel
Pine Grove Motel
#17 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
50 reviews
2.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Address: 503 Trunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Howard Johnson Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing