We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Further to comments I previously made” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Further to comments I previously made”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

After writing a negative review following my stay, I had an email from the owner advising me he would be reimbursing me 50% and he hoped I'd give this hotel another try. He stated he'd be sending me a cheque as he did not have my credit card info..I emailed him my address but also commented I found it interesting they didn't have my credit card info when at check in the clerk asked for my card for "incidentals"...a month has passed and I've received nothing...yep, can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 705CatWoman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    27
    64
    96
See reviews for
71
61
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Read some of the on line reviews, and was wondering what I got myself into. Though the hotel is old. The place was clean, and the beds very comfortable, and the price was right.. Have no complaints, for the price.

Room Tip: No restuarant, it closed along time ago, but they still advertise free breakfast, I think someone sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review after staying in this hotel for only a couple of hours. There was a snow storm on Highway 17 and I just happened to be on a greyhound trip from Sudbury to Thunder Bay and a part of Highway 17 (Trans Canada Highway) was closed near Wawa, Ontario.

Greyhound decided to put all of us in room in pairs of 2 or more for free. I was places in a double queen room or something of that sort.

The heat did not work and the small portable heater that they supplied us with would only work when plugged in and laying on it's side. The electrical outlet by the tv didn't work. The mattress was very firm and the blanket was inadequate. My roommate also found it very cold and there was a bucket under the sink where a pipe was leaking water

I went to the front desk to complain how cold it was and noticed other people complaining about the heat being too low and they had to be brought a portable heater. Another girl complained that their was no shower curtain and various other issues

The receptionist came into our room and notices that we didn't even have a thermostat to control the temperature and noted how there is a 'little' heat coming from the vents. The important word here is 'little'. He checked our portable heater (why does a hotel room need a portable walmart brand heater to be in a room is beyond me. Shows that heat is a constant recurring problem in this room) and the clerk promised to try and find another one. He never returned. I eventually gave up on trying to sleep and walked to McDonald's for food

I haven't seen the other rooms so I can't comment on their cleanliness but I was unable to sleep because of the mattress being very uncomfortable and the fact that it was ridiculously cold. I just want to note I was wearing 'under armour' and insulated jeans and an insulated hoodie because I was heading to work and I still found it really cold in the room. I can only wonder how cold the guy beside me felt.

I wouldn't normally complain about something given to me for free but this experience was horrible

Only plus side is there is a eatery near by with decent reviews at trip advisor

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jamadei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I arrived late, cold and very happy to find a room. Sammy at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. Comfortable room and right price. Microwave would have been a nice touch. So happy they could accommodate my two dogs as I was travelling across Canada to Alberta from Ontario.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
Address: 503 Trunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Howard Johnson Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing