We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my favourite chef”
Review of Antico Restaurant

Antico Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“This is my favourite chef”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Art is the previous owner of my former favourite restaurant, Artero's. His sons are now running that restaurant and Art has opened his new place. I haven't tried Artero's with the new chefs because I preferred to move with the chef that I know and love. (I'm sure they are fine chefs being as they learned from their father). This new place has a different feel to it, cozier, smaller and more intimate but still the same perfection and attention to detail, still the same pleasant atmosphere, still the best service with friendly, attentive waitresses and waiters and still the best cooked meals in the Sault.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan cuisine”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Do Not hesitate to dine here. The food is fresh northern Italian prepared with care. The bruschetta was tasty with just the right amount of zest; the antipasto plate was so tasty. Salmon was cooked to just the perfect point. Tiramisu was creamy with bits of chocolate sprinkled in. If we lived in the Saulte, this would surely become our favorite restaurant! The house red wine is (unusually) excellent: bright, not heavy, flavor that compliments the food.

Helpful?
Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Felt Just right”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was in anticos in early march (a little late for my review ) myself and my partner had a wonderful experience, i love the small seating restaurant, makes me remember my time in toronto and abroad where restaurants are just a tiny bit more… tiny. i love the food, i had an old friend serving me which was great to see familiar faces when being gone for so long, art was very welcoming and the food was as i said to him the best meal of my life, i don't know if it was the wine, the food, the people or that fact that I was just plain hungry, the night is something to remember… this is a place to make special memories. and to really spoil your diet.. but doing that all in the best way possible

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prepare to be pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

An isolated restaurant in a former convenience store in the middle of a residential neighbourhood is probably not the first place you would go looking for great Italian food. But in a city with a great Italian heritage and a corresponding number of good restaurants, Antico stands out as a "must try".

I had a veal shank with beef ravioli that was as good as I've had anywhere. My wife had salmon with Gorgonzola gnocchi and she tells me it was "fantastic".

If you find yourself in Sault Ste. Marie looking for someplace with great food that's a little off the beaten track, I highly recommend you give Antico's a try. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ppotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Meal I ever had!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

You saw the title and if you follow my reviews I don't give good if I don't get it. Well this wasn't good it was fabulous. From the beginning to end it was the best of everything. Do yourself a favor and eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antico Restaurant also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Antico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing