We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must...”
Review of Tandoori Gardan

Tandoori Gardan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
GTA, ONTARIO, CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must...”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'll be as brief as possible. I am of Indian heritage and know my Indian cuisine inside-out. I also cook it, and I can say without reservation, this is the best Indian dining I have had outside of India.

Prices are cheap, but the quality of ingredients and cooking is superb. I tried a few different dishes, but I hesitate to recommend any; you can rest assured any of the dishes will be great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mellofellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian food!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

New to the Sault and the food is awesome. The butter chicken is amazing and the portion sizes are good. Naan is nice and fresh as well. I'm really glad this family was able to get this place going after the husky closed...their hard work has paid off...check it out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeathB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sault ste marie
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“curry”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Khan cooks some of the best curries I have ever tasted. Lived on curry in UK in the 60s. I highly recommend the Biryani. His Naans, made fresh daily, are slightly flat. Otherwise you cannot go wrong. Beware the Vindaloo, hiccoughingly spicy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice for a change”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Tandoori does not have a great decor, and the atmosphere is just OK. The restaurant is quite small, and the service is not great, as there usually is only one server on duty. The food though, is pretty good. If you are looking for Indian food, this is probably the best place in the Sault.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tandoori Excellence”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was so excited when I discovered this new restaurant in the Soo. I grew up in England and craved my Saturday night curry. This restaurant delivers. My parents visited from England this Summer and told the owners daughter it was the best curry they had ever had, which is a fantastic review from people who eat curry every week.
We order at least once a month and it never fails to impress me how fresh and delicious it is. Keep up the good work and keep this ex-pat in her Saturday night take-out delight! My children have been introduced to Chicken Korma thanks to the Tandoori Gardan and hopefully will continue our family tradition when they are older.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandoori Gardan also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Tandoori Gardan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing