We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, clean, convinient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalina Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple, clean, convinient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Really nice owner, provided a motorcyclist discount without asking, rags to clean the bike. Clean room, a cool fridge ( that's rare) and conviently placec in the city. Don't hesitate or get a more expensive place for more hype.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you again sometime. Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed there after having a bad experience at another motel. The room was modern and VERY clean. Plus it only costed an extra $1 a night with the CAA discount compared to the other dump across the street that I was staying at. Overall you can tell that the owners take pride in what they do and invest a portion of their profit towards regular maintenance and modernization of their business. If I had to criticize on anything, it would be the picture frames as they made the room look a bit older, other than that 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you're looking for quality, cleanliness and great location, this is where you want to stay. After staying in a couple other locations on our holidays, we were able to make comparisons. This was the most reasonably priced and most comfortable motel room we stayed at. The rooms were very clean and included a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dvd player, air conditioning, hair dryer and more. The shampoos and soaps were some of the nicest I've used from motels as well. There were also a lot of desk/dresser counters and a lot of counter space around the bathroom sink (something that is lacking in most places). The owners are very friendly and there to make your stay a pleasant experience. It was also great to back our car up to our room and unload. There were chairs outside the room you can relax in on a beautiful day or evening. It's close to many food establishments if you enjoy walking. If you're looking for excursions around the area, the owners are very knowledgeable about what's happening in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Hopefully we will see you again.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Dean. Is. The. Man. Seriously. We have been researching a snowmobiling trip via the Agawa Canyon Snow Train for years. We came across Dean's site while searching for more information. Dean has several trips to select from. He set up our Ontario trail permit, the train tickets, and four nights lodging - two nights at different places other than his own. He was a wealth of information for both Sault Ste Marie and what to expect while snowmobiling. When we left his office, we had a packet of maps and a head full of tips. We stayed two night at the Catalina - our first and last nights of the trip. The rooms were exceptionally clean - the shower was blinding white. Beds were comfortable. There was a fridge and microwave in each room. Free wifi. We walked down the road for supper and breakfast as there were many places to select from. Thank you, Dean, for a wonderful, memorable trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkijedlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
So glad you had fun. Hopefully we will get another good snow year this year.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was a clean comfortable motel. The owners were friendly and very helpful. Gave out printed directions (with return to motel directions) to various sites and suggested nearby restaurants. My friend thought maybe it smelled a bit musty. I thought it was fine. Bed was really comfortable. I loved the massaging shower. Had a fridge in the room which is always helpful.
I would definitely stay at the Catalina again.

Room Tip: This motel does not have some of the extras, pool, breakfast etc. All rooms are on one level and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eosmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very clean rooms and friendly owners that obviously take pride in their establishment. With 2 kids under age 4 it was very convenient to be able to back the van right up to our room and a breeze to unload. Reasonable rates with plenty of ammenities nearby (restaurants, pharmacies etc.).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I highly recommend this motel. It was clean, cute and inviting. I stayed for 2 nights on my way up to Thunder Bay and went back for a night on my way back down. Very reasonable rates. The staff are very helpful and freindly. I will go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anguspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Motel

Property: Catalina Motel
Address: 259 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catalina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quaint, quiet motel offering modern in-room amenities such as DVD player, high-speed wireless, fridge, microwave and parking at your door. Various packages and custom made packages available that you cannot find anywhere else such as Agawa Canyon Train packages, Tour of the Line, Snow Train, Snowmobile, Golf, Searchmont Ski just to name a few. Family owned and operated by the same family the motel's entire existence. We strive to offer our customers Quality, Value and Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing