We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalina Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Wayland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place was much older and did not look like a motel...more like an old shopping mall. The office area was locked up when we arrived in the middle of the day so this delayed our check in just a little. I think it is a family run business with their residence right next door. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. A pleasant surprise! I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have road noise, but at least they a have a little view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We overnighted at the Catalina on a trip across Canada in July 2014.
Price is pretty good at $79 + tax, you get what you pay for.
Reservations seamless and courteous, over the phone.
Check-In efficient and a little rushed, we were late and tired, our hostess was in the middle of putting kids to bed and really didn't want to chat.
Rooms big enough for one night but not much more. Windows didn't open but small transom windows up top did.
Noise - it's on a busy corner. Our room, on the back, was a tinge quieter but it's still busy.
Cleanliness - 3 - passed the dust bunny check but needs cosmetic cleaning and painting. A bunch of garbage outside attracted noisy gulls early in the morning.
Bathroom tiny, sink outside
Amenities
Internet all kinds of network hookups under the desk. Internet worked great.
Coffee maker (decaf?) Yes but no decaf. Glass mugs!
Fridge OK
TV channels good. Shaw digital.

Breakfast - no breakfast supplied.

Check-Out NA we simply checked with housekeeping staff and left the keys on the office desk (no-one there)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We do have decaf coffee available upon request. If you don't mind emailing a message to me letting me know which room it was that needed to be touched up, paint wise, I will get on it. Hope we can meet your expectations next time.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

all rooms include bar fridge 2 double beds coffee pot with enmities 32 inch TV and DVD player they have excellent service and will do regular room cleaning on long stays i highly recommend this place with its wonderful service

Room Tip: if you need to be close to town this is a palace for you its so centrally located you right beside d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giselle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very basic, but good value. Handy to have fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Extremely clean. Owner on vacation. The dad not very friendly, but did check us in ok. Nice and quiet. Beds very comfortable and nice table and comfy chairs to sit at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catharine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Catherine,

I do apologize if your check-in experience was not the best. Thank you for the kind words about our place. I do hope my wife or I get to meet you at some point.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayner, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Really great motel....good value, very very clean. Natural products a really nice touch, owner very helpful. Would definitely recommend! We booked the Agawa Canyon package, including breakfast & lunch on the train, and it was awesome. Train staff were fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your trip.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A great little motel. Very clean, the furnishings new, convenient and a good price. Definitely better quality and bang for your buck than a chain hotel room at the same price point in Sault Sainte Marie.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Really nice owner, provided a motorcyclist discount without asking, rags to clean the bike. Clean room, a cool fridge ( that's rare) and conviently placec in the city. Don't hesitate or get a more expensive place for more hype.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you again sometime. Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Motel

Property: Catalina Motel
Address: 259 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catalina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quaint, quiet motel offering modern in-room amenities such as DVD player, high-speed wireless, fridge, microwave and parking at your door. Various packages and custom made packages available that you cannot find anywhere else such as Agawa Canyon Train packages, Tour of the Line, Snow Train, Snowmobile, Golf, Searchmont Ski just to name a few. Family owned and operated by the same family the motel's entire existence. We strive to offer our customers Quality, Value and Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing