We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I am a frequent traveller, and I always believed that details give you a hint as to what experience you will have in a hotel or restaurant. Well, let me say Microtel Sault Ste Marie has a passion for detail.

From the moment I contacted them with a special request regarding my stay, through my 12-day stay and to the moment I checked out, I was very well impressed with the accommodation, quality of the breakfast and staff.

This is a new hotel, so everything is fresh and well kept. It is quiet, the pool is clean and well maintained. The rooms are relatively small, but that doesn't mean anything as they are well designed.

The WiFi works fast and the TV has a generous selection of channels. Breakfast is outstanding, and I was impressed with the fact they alternate between scrambled eggs+bacon one day and omellete+sausage the next one. That means a lot if you are staying in the same hotel for a longer period of time.

The staff is very accommodating without being overly friendly. They are available without being invasive.

Parking is convenient and safe. The carts by the entrance of the hotel are a big plus for those with a lot of luggage.

By all means, if you are coming to Sault Ste. Marie do make a stop at this Microtel as you will not be disappointed.

Congrats to management for sharing a vision with each employee. It was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannuck1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSuper8SSM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Wow,what an amazing review. Our #1 Goal since opening the Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham was to create an overall experience. We wanted this experience to not only be a room, but a chance to make a few memories. We realize that guests have down time, and we want to ensure the value is their for them not just at our hotel. We have jammed as much value as we could in the breakfast offerings, hotel activities, and even at over 25 restaurants and retail locations were you will receive discounts. Partnering with Wacky Wings next door providing free room service delivered to the door and 10% off has been a huge hit. Thank-you so much for letting others know of your overall Microtel experience. We hope you have an amazing end to your summer and we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    179
    40
    9
    11
See reviews for
247
227
59
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My daughter and her friend stopped here in the middle of a 16 hour drive. Needless to say they were road weary. Patrick offered them free coffee or tea, available 24 hours. He went out of his way to show them how the key worked, explain breakfast, and the other hotel amenities. They told him they were going to Wacky Wings for dinner, and he got them a 10% off coupon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSuper8SSM, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much for the review! I know all staff including Patrick have been reading the reviews and are so happy you have taken the time to write one. The team is working extremely hard to create an overall experience. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next stay. Thanks again and have an awesome fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at the Microtel while in town visiting family. Being that the hotel is brand new, it is super clean & still has that 'new' smell to it. The staff was exceptionally friendly & were always readily available to help you with any needs/concerns you may have had (we didn't have any). The daily breakfast that was included was excellent, both hot & cold choices & the staff did their best to ensure the food was always fresh & hot. The rooms are small however met our needs. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Microtel in Sault Ste. Marie for two nights. It was super clean, everything is new, the bed was very comfortable and the room was one of the best I've ever stayed in. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the location was great, close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The continental breakfast incIuded in the stay was also good, and they offered coffee, tea and juice for free 24/7 which I haven't experienced at any other hotel. would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegMeg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Mari
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We visit the Soo once a year & look forward to staying next year. The staff at the desk made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is new, clean and comfortable. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
Some feature I want to mention:
- The rooms have a small kitchen area with a coffee maker, a fridge and a microwave.
- the design of the rooms is very efficient; they're not big, but there's room for everything without feeling cramped.
- everything is so clean! The shower was sparkling when I arrived.
- I've never talked about lighting in a hotel before, but it was just so right. From the light inside the shower, to the one over the window seat, they were all placed appropriately and added to the modern feel and comfort of the room.
- comfy, warm bed :)
- breakfast was standard, nothing too fancy. There was coffee, four types of juice, a waffle maker, an egg dish, sausage, bagels, yoghurt and cereal. Simple but filling.
- The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, good job guys!

I had a great stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. I really did not expect such lovely accommodations from a non luxury hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SillyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.0 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
520 reviews
2.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 724 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 5A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitness Centre Overlooking Lounge Pool Outdoor/Indoor Breakfast Area offering Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Conference Room with Room Free Direct WIFI in Each ROOM FULL HD TV on 40" LCD Flat Screen Tv's Guest Laundry Brand New Hotel! Shopping and Restaurant Discount package included with your room rental! 'Just show your room key to be VIP' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing