We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great basic motel!”
Review of Capri Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great basic motel!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The Capri Motel is everything you want in a basic motel - back the car up to the room (most); clean, spacious, all furnishings in very good condition; and all the niceties: coffee/tea maker, small fridge, iron, hair-dryer, flat-screen TV, free wifi etc. - all for a very reasonable price. And there are complementary breakfast snacks - not a breakfast, but a few muffins and juice. The location is great, just off the QEW highway, yet on the main strip leading to downtown. You couldn't hear the highway or other rooms, although the heating system and plumbing rumbled a bit from time to time. Many restaurants are close by. We'll definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    150
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
187
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Get a room viewing the river. Mary and her husband are committed owner operators from Vietnam that strive to exceed expectations of their customers. The property.was probably built in the 60's, but the room we stayed in was newly remodeled and updated. We highly recommend a visit to Palatine Hills Winery, visiting the butterfly house, Maid of the Mist and the tour inside the Falls.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is an excellent modestly priced motel. The front desk staff (Mary Nguyen) was excellent - helpful and pleasant. The Inn rooms have been fully renovated. The older construction is solid, concrete block between rooms and concrete floors and ceilings. It is very quiet. The interior is all new - washroom fixtures, carpet, tile, furniture, beds (very comfortable) LG flat screen TV, new windows and heating/cooling unit. This was an extremely quiet, clean and restful place. If you have work to do there is decent space to be able to spread out. I can recommend it without hesitiation. Will be going back next time I am in St. Catherines. It is right of the highway so it is easy to access.

Room Tip: Room overlloking the River are best as they don't face the highway. 2nd floor rooms 288 thru 29...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you're looking to find a place to stay while taking in the wineries and sights around Niagara Falls, this is the place. It might not be in the middle of all the action, but it's definitely less expensive and quieter. By staying here, we were able to buy more wine and go for a helicopter ride around the area...We stayed 3 nights here and will stay here again when visiting the area in the future. Front desk staff was very helpful with questions. Everything about this place makes you feel at home. The wall-size mirror freaked me out a bit at first, but eventually I didn't notice it. Loved the fact that there was a small sofa, table/chairs, frig and microwave in the room. Also, the heating system is wonderful. Rooms have a built in humidifier (or something like that). Air in the room does not get stale. I suffer with allergies & they usually act up terribly when staying in a hotel. No problems here.

Room Tip: If you're staying for the area attractions, staff usually put you on the 2nd floor to avoid nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel and this hotel was a hidden Jem. Great value for the money. If you are expecting a $400 per night hotel, this is not the one for you. if you are expecting a clean well maintained hotel at a great price, this is a great option. I will be stating here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Picked this place due to the reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.

A throwback to the kind of places I remember staying at on road trips as a child. Quiet, clean and basic. A well run family operation. Can't go wrong.

Conveniently located off then QEW, and close to restaurants etc .

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank arewethereyet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel that was built in the early 1960s based on the exterior decor, although the majority if the facade is stucco, which I dislike. But it does have some of the original accents, such as the varanda, inside/back walls, and large windows, similarly to those used in the decade. The rooms are spot less, clean and refreshing. The room we stayed on, had a large mirrow that we wonder what could possible be used for...... Anyways I like the locAtion and excellent price! I will comeback here next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arteisfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
127 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Inn

Property: Capri Inn
Address: 391 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Niagara home away from home. Capri Inn, Hotel located in St Catharines, Ontario. Capri Inn will make every effort to make your stay with us pleasant, enjoyable and comfortable. All room 100% non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Capri Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel St. Catharines
Capri Inn St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing