We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
London, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped at this inn which is located right off the highway. Price was well worth the quality, cleanliness and service. About 15 minutes to Niagara Falls and 10 minutes to Brock University. Parking was free, wifi worked great and the light breakfast in the morning was quite filling. This is a new addition to my favourites in my gps for the drive back into Canada!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarisaShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    54
    22
    27
    36
See reviews for
58
37
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is the first time I have ever written a review of somewhere I have stayed at. I have stayed in many 2-3 star hotels for my kid's tournaments, so I am comparing my experience to like-rated properties.

First off, I was not expecting luxury accommodation for $112 a night, but I was expecting a clean, budget room. Instead what I got was: A room with bugs on the window sills, holes in the doors, no seals around the doors so you could hear everything outside, no toilet paper or tissue, no mattress cover on the bed, dirty linens, hair in the bathtub, popcorn and dental floss (gross!) on the floor beside the bed, water damaged furniture, badly stained carpet, mould and mildew around the tub, etc....

The girl at the front desk was friendly & apologetic when I addressed my concerns, she explained that they are currently working to update the hotel. Unfortunately, our room was not an updated one. They were renovating the room beside ours and it was clear that even the new carpet being installed was used.

The only positive things I can say about this property is : it is close to the highway, the towels were soft, and there was good water pressure in an otherwise dirty tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had a major flood in my condo and needed to find a place to stay for a long period of time.

A friend recommend this Inn and said it was very clean and in a great location. Also great access to the highway. Which made it very convienent to get to work.

The staff here are amazing and truly made my stay here a pleasure. Right from the point of check-in Natosha made me feel welcomed and gave a me a great rate on the room.

The rooms are very nice and clean. I was surprised to hear they are renovating all the rooms here. I will have to come back just to see the already nicely done rooms renovated.

The staff here really made it feel like I was at home there. They wery accomidating with any requests that I had. Including putting a microwave in my room, finding my favourite pillow(that I came to love while staying there) that the made removted while cleaning my room. They also had no problem starting the free continental breakfast earlier at times for the early risers.

I highly recommend people choosing this Imm while they are away. You won't regret it!

I know I will recommend this Inn to any people I know needing a place to stay. If you want clean, friendly staff and a great rate this is your place! :)


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyVisit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Over priced for what you get. This hotel is adequate and if they charged the 59.59 stated on the sign it would alright. However, I was charged more than double that. Really not worth that price. You can hear the people in the next room and the plumbing is noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passport_equipped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello Ann,

I have tried looking your name up by first and/or last in my system but was unable to find any reservation under the name provided on trip advisor. However I still thank you for your comment on trip advisor and would like to say a few things. Our sign does say that rooms do start from 59.95 plus tax a night and there are many guests that do stay at this price. It is a longer stay rate where guests are staying around a week or longer. We have many workman that come from out of town and do not have the energy to drive back and end up staying a week at a time. Many guests have stated that we are the most reasonably priced accommodation facility in the city. We have many guests that come stay with us many times a month because of our rates. When you say you have been charged almost double that it would be to my understanding that you stayed on a Friday or Saturday night during either a holiday or a very busy night. We at Canadas Best Value Inn believe in customer satisfaction and do go out of our way to meet every guests needs. We are under a major renovation which may explain the plumbing as we are trying to get the job done as soon as possible to give a greater satisfaction to our guests as soon as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

To start with I booked on travelocity based on reading some of the reviews online. I can honestly say some are very accurate and others are people who just need to complain because they are unhappy with life. Yes the building does look a bit older.. brick exterior but has been painted and is starting to look sharp. Yes there are renovations going on as well inside the rooms... Amazing staff from the moment me and my friends got there the staff kept us laughing till we checked out. More than helpful and more than accomodating.

Room- We were 3 friends from toronto there for a wedding and booked a 2 double bed room (labour day weekend) at 129.95 which is a steal considering most places were 200 plus and looked like dumps. Room was very clean... with enough towels for 4 ... the inn was sold out but quiet when we got back from the wedding reception. Staff was kind and even arranged the cabs for us. We did have breakfast in the morning and there was cereal coffee toast and juices.

Pool - had a blast its about 9 ft (deep end) and was crystal clear water

Truthfully if your standards are the Trump tower then stay at the Trump and pay the price but dont bash someones establishment for what you get at the price you get it for. Keep up the good work and I hope to see even more renovations the next time I come.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vikktdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. Glad you've enjoyed your time at the wedding you attended along with the time you spent with us at Canadas Best Value Inn. Yes we are still continuing our renovations and we do hope to surprise you again on your next visit. Hope you had a safe trip home and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent Saturday, August 31st at this hotel in a comfortable, clean King Room on the upper level overlooking the pool which looked very clean and well kept, although we didn't have time to use it. This is good value and everyone was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. Glad you've enjoyed your weekend with us at Canadas Best Value Inn. We take pride in our cleanliness at our property to bring the greatest level of satisfaction for our guests. Many guests have commented on our outdoor pool stating it is one of the cleanest pools they have ever seen and return to visit us many times because of it. We hope you had a safe trip home and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 2 nites at this hotel as we found it to be the best price and location. We were there to see the Redpath Tall Ships in Port Dalhousie. Also went to some wineries and the Welland Canal Museum. This hotel was clean and close to the QEW. We went next door to the Restaurant and mentioned we were staying next door got a discount and the meal was terrific! We had breakfast and coffee and both we fine provided at the hotel. Small pool not terribly clean but only sat beside it. For the price we felt it was good value and the front desk person was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seemed to be updated and we stayed in one on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. Wow we are so glad you spent your time wisely and got to see so much on your short trip to St Catharines. We are truly located in a very ideal location (off of the QEW and Ontario Street) Port Dalhousie, the Welland Canals and many wineries are located within a 5-10 min vicinity. We believe in good value, meaning clean comfortable and affordable rates for all of our guests. I’m happy to hear you took advantage of our morning breakfast and enjoyed your dinner at the restaurant. We believe in great service and great value and work with businesses that provide similar values. We at Canadas Best Value Inn are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
445 reviews
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
101 reviews
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Address: 420 Ontario St | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
St. Catharines Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge St. Catharines
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing