We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit inconsistent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“a bit inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

When I stayed here in May, they served a reasonable continental breakfast. But a month later, it was no longer available. This was a surprising decision, given the franchise involved, and one that I suggest should be reviewed.
I've stayed here several times over the past year, and it's clear that they are making continuing efforts to improve an old facility which was badly neglected when it was a Travelodge property. On my most recent visit they were painting the lobby and I had a pleasant and efficient check-in at the front desk. My room was large and comfortable, although obviously a bit run down and in need of attention — beginning with the water-wasting absence of a stopper for the washbasin. But there was plenty of hot water, in marked contrast to a Motel 6 I'd stayed at the night before. The door was consistently sticking so it required a real effort to get it open. And the quality of housekeeping was not especially good on this visit. Furthermore, the front desk was astonished that I wanted the room serviced on my second day there.
The sign outside says the room rates start at $59.95. I think that, right now, the facility represents good value at that price and up to maybe $80. If they start quoting $100 or more, it might be more sensible to look for alternatives.
Yes, they're trying — but maybe they need to try a little harder. However, there a lot of things I do like.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    53
    20
    27
    32
See reviews for
55
36
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel over quite o few days this past week and found it to be quite clean and comfortable. The rooms have been newly painted and carpeted, and the owners seem to be investing time, money and effort on sprucing up the outside of the place now. The staff was wonderful. Friendly and helpful, they were a pleasure to talk to. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We were on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pr0f55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Although the motel is in the middle of renovations, they are by no means completed.
We found our experience at Canada Best Value Inn, St Catharines a bit below what we have come to expect from this chain.
The room, supposedly recently renovated , needed a thorough cleaning, especially the bathroom,
The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room but had the odour of stale smoke.
The stay was probably good value for money but was certainly not up to the standard we have come to expect with Canadas Best Value Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were in town for a wedding and needed an affordable hotel to spend the weekend. My husband and I were quite pleased with the hotel rates considering it is located just a few minutes away from the falls. Upon arrival the hotel staff were extremely friendly and informed us of all of the hotel amenities. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Considering the price we payed this hotel was amazing.I would definitely stay here again Dont minnd the mess in the pictures I was unpacking.

-Shelly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A hidden treasure in St. Catherine's! I needed an affordable place to spend the week as I had a conference in St. CatHerines.I had been staying at Comfort Inn in the past and decided to give this hotel a try. The hotel is nicely renovated and looks as good as new.The staff were friendly and the housekeeping did a great job at keeping the rooms clean. Cons: could not take advantage of the pool due to weather.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eihcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The rooms are clean, the service is great! We had no issues at all, and will definitely be staying there again! It was quiet and very very comfortable. The staff are very accommodating.

Thanks for a great stay.

Mark & Kim
Scarborough, ON

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkKim19751976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Mark & Kim,

It was great to have you this year. I hope the competition went well and you had a safe drive back to Scarborough. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great time at our inn. Doing our best to keep our guests happy is our number one commitment. We are doing our best to continue our upgrades and to continue to provide you with clean, comfortable rooms at a very affordable price.

Thanks

Manny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
0.0 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Address: 420 Ontario Street | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
St. Catharines Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge St. Catharines
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing