We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous! Again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Catharines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Port Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 St. Catharines B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and returned to Old Port again this year for another long weekend. Joy and Q welcomed us "home" with open arms. They are such wonderful, warm people, making us truly feel like we were home.

We come to watch our son row, so the location of Old Port is perfect with the grand stands practically next door. (Prime parking during the regatta!) It's also nice to be able to walk into Port Dalhousie. The beach/pier/marina on the waterfront are beautiful.

We love the "come on in, kick your shoes off, and be comfortable" feeling of the house. The deck was the perfect place to unwind at the end of the day with a glass of wine, surrounded by beautiful gardens.

I think we're hooked on Q's Eggs Benedict...... We will go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_and_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were fortunate to stay with Joy and Quentin in June in their wonderful home . When dinner didn't work out as planned at Treadwell's Joy jumped in and brought the Treadwell experience to us . Treadwell' s were in the middle of a move . We were treated to a 5 course meal which included a whole evening of wonderful food and wines parings with above and beyond friendly service . The beauty of the whole experience was that we didn't even have to leave our bed and breakfast . One would have thought that that would be hard to top however the breakfast that was provided the next morning was 5 star the best eggs Benedict ever and the presentation was worth a picture . Would recommend highly to anyone staying in the area . Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All of the room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smansell154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Five stars. Joy and Quinten treated us like *royalty.* Wonderful hosts, cozy neighborhood, immaculate house and friendly neighbors walking their friendly dogs. My wife and I cannot wait to stay here again. These guys are intelligent, mellow and kind. They also serve a breakfast so good that you might cry a little when they start clearing the table.

Room Tip: We took the lowest price room. Tiny (but clean!) with two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Joy and Quinten have created an absolutely amazing B&B. They went above and beyond what we could have expected. Being unfamiliar with the area, they were very helpful and knowledgeable about area attractions. We spent our first night in the Queen Anne which was delightful. Our second night we got to experience staying on their boat. What a treat that was! Both were in great locations to do some exploring around town. We especially enjoyed waking up to a phenomenal breakfast each morning. Next time we are back in town, we’ll definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George_Sarah323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the Queen Anne Suite for one night on June 16, 2013. The owners are very friendly and attentive, and are genuinely caring. If you have a severe food allergy and find eating outside your own home a challenge, you can be confident that Joy and Quinten will take it seriously and work with you to give you a safe and delicious meal. Our breakfast was beautifully presented and served with special touches on elegant place settings. The home is comfortable, attractively decorated, and sparkling clean. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Joy and Quinten are gracious hosts, seeing to our ever need. The cottage was comfortable;decorated with a fun beach theme. Breakfasts were superb. Location was perfect for viewing rowing on the Henley and close enough for a quick trip to Niagra Falls and great wineries. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Perfect place to stay. Very nicely designed house and rooms, warm atmosphere. Joy and Quinten and this place is a reason to come back any possible time. It is close to Niagara falls we visited, but so far from the style you will be confronted in that tourist location. This place is really perfect to stay and breakfast was absolutely outstanding. Beautiful surroundings as well. Josef

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Catharines hotels
0.2 mi away
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
#5 of 23 in St. Catharines
33 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lily's House on the 12
Lily's House on the 12
#3 of 23 in St. Catharines
26 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stone Mill Inn
Stone Mill Inn
#2 of 23 in St. Catharines
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 23 in St. Catharines
11 reviews
3.1 mi away
Springbank House
Springbank House
#10 of 23 in St. Catharines
72 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Port Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Port Bed & Breakfast

Address: 73 Main St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 4V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catharines
Price Range: £72 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Dalhousies’ premiere Bed & Breakfast within walking distance of downtown. This newly updated century home with 3 beautifully appointed rooms, luxury 3/4 pce. en-suites, 24 hr. coffee bar and more, is a "5 star hotel quality" B & B, from 600+ thread count linens to phenomenal cuisine. Situated between Lake Ontario and Martindale Pond, it is walking distance to Treadwells; Royal Canadian Henley Regatta; stores; nightlife; beach; marinas and all that beautiful Port Dalhousie has to offer. Their guest book and recommendations on Bed & Breakfast Canada, say it all - "This experience was far beyond our expectations." This truly is among the best experiences and value for $ in the region. Book early as they fill up quickly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Port Bed & Breakfast St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing