We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Away From Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Catharines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Port Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 St. Catharines B&B and Inns
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Away From Home!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Old Port B&B last year during the Canada Day long weekend and absolutely enjoyed our stay. Joy & Quentin are awesome hosts!!
The house is clean and beautifully done. We felt really pampered. My biggest concern was my food allergies which were very, very carefully taken care by the hosts. I am soooo thankful for that!!
Our stay was very comfortable. We stayed in the Royal Alex Suite for a night and moved to the Queen Anne Suite for the second night. Both rooms are lovely! I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone planning to visit Port Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Absolutely recommend the Queen Anne Suite. It has an attached 4-pc bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjukta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I booked 2 nights at Old Port Bed & Breakfast for my boyfriend and to get away and relax, and the two days were wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious, the house was beautiful, and we felt at home very quickly. Joy and Quinten were thoughtful, friendly, and very gracious hosts. They took such good care of us, and we really felt pampered. They took every effort to ensure that we were comfortable and also was there to offer advice on what to do, where to go, and what to eat in the area. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen Anne suite, which was very nice because it has a tub in the ensuite washroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejytang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I hope you will all read the rest of this review even after telling you that I have NOT been to Old Port Bed & Breakfast yet.

Joy and Quinten were an absolute pleasure to talk to on the phone. I booked one of their best rooms for a special evening for my girlfriend and I. Due to unfortunate circumstances, I could no longer make this trip happen. Why I rate their establishment as excellent, is because Joy and Quinten were MORE than willing to work with me on this problem. They were polite, kind, warm-hearted and very understanding. In a world that I feel is lacking in businesses that actually show genuine love and sympathy for unfortunate incidents in life, Joy and Quinten are one of the few left.

I will be making use of their establishment in the near future and I hope you will all do the same. Thank you, Joy and Quinten. See you in the near future! =) A+++ rating on your business sense and understanding, and most importantly your love of your fellow human being.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wade_t_haan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sometimes you enjoy a B&B. On a few rare occasions you walk into a B&B and know you are at home. Joy and Quinten have created a space of enormous comfort. In a modest-looking home, they have made a stunning renovation of quiet classic grace. The decor has luxury art deco and craftsman elements. The breakfast is gourmet - with smoked salmon omelets and touches of mango aperitif atop the fruit parfait. To die for! You have choices of rooms, both in the main house and a guesthouse, so ask and specify.

Room Tip: Wile some of throoms are ensuite, the tiny "Newport" room is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara-on-the-lake, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights, and it was just perfect. Our hosts were wonderfully accommodating and good company. The house itself is beautifully decorated and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie_sarava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Old Port is a gem. I normally stay in hotels (5 star) but wasn't able to find anything suitable in St.Catherines. I came across this b&b on trip advisor and was not dissapointed. My 14 year old daughter and I stayed in a room that was lovely. It had a very comfortable king size bed, a claw footed tub (in a bathroom with heated floors) and the decor was enchanting. The owners were amazing, very personable. When we came down for breakfast in the morning I was pleasantly surprised. The table was set formally in crystal with beautifully laid out fruit, juices, yogurt. The main dish was eggs benedict and all was delicious. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdrePaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Old Port B&B is a lovely, newly renovated old home in St Catherines. The owners, Joy and Quinten are gracious hosts who made us very comfortable! We stayed in the Queen Anne Suite, (an upgrade because it was available. Thank you!) a gorgeous room with a well equipped ensuite. The tub was so inviting, I had to have a bath!
Breakfast was the best I've ever had at a B&B. So much attention paid to detail. And the leftover fruit was packed up for us for a snack on the way home. What a nice, unexpected touch!
There are many dinner options nearby and a great area to walk after dinner as it's located in such a pretty part of town!

Room Tip: Location is on a fairly busy road. If you need a very quiet room ask for one off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaledonEastLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Catharines hotels
1.5 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
#4 of 23 in St. Catharines
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Christine's Bed and Breakfast
Christine's Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 23 in St. Catharines
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
Harbour Heights Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 23 in St. Catharines
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Port Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Port Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old Port Bed & Breakfast
Address: 73 Main St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 4V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Dalhousies’ premiere Bed & Breakfast within walking distance of downtown. This newly updated century home with 3 beautifully appointed rooms, luxury 3/4 pce. en-suites, 24 hr. coffee bar and more, is a "5 star hotel quality" B & B, from 600+ thread count linens to phenomenal cuisine. Situated between Lake Ontario and Martindale Pond, it is walking distance to Treadwells; Royal Canadian Henley Regatta; stores; nightlife; beach; marinas and all that beautiful Port Dalhousie has to offer. Their guest book and recommendations on Bed & Breakfast Canada, say it all - "This experience was far beyond our expectations." This truly is among the best experiences and value for $ in the region. Book early as they fill up quickly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Port Bed & Breakfast St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing