We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find for Chinese-Canadian cuisine in St. Catharines, ON”

Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 429 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award-winning buffet featuring delicious Chinese, Canadian, and International dishes - all prepared fresh daily. Serving over 150 all-you-can-eat items including soups, salads, sushi, grilled items, hot entrees, and desserts. Also offering a-la-carte, take-out and delivery.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find for Chinese-Canadian cuisine in St. Catharines, ON”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were just passing through St. Catharines and this restaurant was recommended by the hotel staff. There was a great variety of dishes, everything looked fresh. The bar-b-que spare ribs were some of the best my husband has had. The service was also quite good. The manager even came by the table to chat a bit. Wish this was closer to Chicago!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travelercat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    61
    31
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great friendly service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this location with my sister and my sister in law. The service was awesome and everyone was so kind. The food was delicious. They were constantly changing the food and giving out fresh food. The quality is always great. The only bad thing about this visit was the pop was flat.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mandarin Restaurant - St. Catharines ON”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been to this location numerous times over the past few years and am always impressed with the excellent service and delicious varieties of food. The buffets provide so many tasty choices and although it is a Chinese food restaurant, they have many other dishes that are not typically served at Chinese restaurants. This is so much more than your regular Chinese restaurant. The building is always very clean and the food is always hot and fresh. The atmosphere in this restaurant is very pleasant and the different themes for which the rooms are decorated is also very unique. One of my favourite features is the Koi pond which can be seen upon entering the front doors of this restaurant. Of course, I cannot forget to mention the excellent staff that make this restaurant such a pleasure to eat at. They are some of the kindest and happiest people that I have ever met and they are always on top of things, whether it be filling up your glass, taking away plates, etc. Their happiness is truly contagious, and I always leave with a smile on my face.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SilentSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mandarin Restaurant - St. Catharines, Ontario”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Mandarin Restaurant always serves great food with great service. Mandarin restaurants are clean, the food is fresh and well prepared, the staff is friendly and attentive, and the variety is amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BRSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My sisters and I had dinner here on June 16th. The service was fast and efficient, staff was polite and the manager came by to see how everything was and to see if we were satisfied with everything. The food was amazing, the choice was unbelievable and it was all hot and fresh. It was our second visit (we had been to another location previously) and will definately returned next time we visit the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FrostyMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing