We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian takeout”
Review of Antipastos

Antipastos
Ranked #52 of 438 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian takeout”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for years...authentic Italian grocery with fantastic takeout..favourites include meatballs, pasta sauce and foccacia sandwiches. eggplant parm is good too.. actually stop here to pick up goods when I am in town as there is month place as good as this where I live in eastern ontario..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tulips65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service!! I won't EVER go back!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The ONLY good thing about Antipastos is the food tastes good with large portion sizes. That's the ONLY good thing about this place!
I have been to Antipastos only a few times and have been disappointed every time with their service. I called ahead to order a family penne and meatballs meal and it wasn't ready when I came to pick it up, and they had no record of my order. When I got home with my meal and opened it up, there was not a single meatball! grrrrrr!! When I called to complain to the manger, the only thing he offered me was a credit of the meatballs! That's it! No apology, no offer of additional food for the inconvenience.....nothing! Another time, I ordered (in store) a Chicken Parm Sandwich. They forgot my order again and waited 20 min (with my crying baby!). When I went to eat my sandwich, it was squished and had sauce all over it....what a mess! I had to eat it with a knife and fork! Poor customer service! I won't EVER go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat G, Owner at Antipastos, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we at Antipastos di Roma are always interested in what our customers think, both good and bad. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience. We did offer to deliver the missing meatballs to you and you declined and accepted a store credit. Our personnel department felt you were happy with this solution, as mistakes do sometimes happen. Unfortunately, we didn't know that you had bad experience with your sandwich, so please feel free to contact us at any time regarding any situation.

We pride ourselves on good food and customer service and when mistakes are made we make every effort to rectify the situation. I'm sorry you feel that it wasn't handled to your satisfaction. If you wish to call back we would be more then happy to discuss it with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwiches”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I work really close to Antipastos, and go there pretty often for lunch.

I usually just grab one of their eggplant/pepper sandwiches off the hot bar...this thing is huge!! It feeds me for two days, and it is soooo tasty!!

The only complaint I have is to get to the sandwiches, you have to butt your way into the line up of people waiting to get their hot food orders. I only have a 30 minute lunch, and sometimes people just won't move, and I waste my time in line waiting to be able to reach them and go.

I've ordered a pizza for tonight! Can't wait to try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegumbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great Italian food selection with a small grocery store attached. Mostly take out food. The manicotti is excellent, as well as the meatballs.

Helpful?
Thank Radams6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great prices for wonderful Italian food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Comfort food is in order on these days of cold and snow, so today we decided to try this place on the recommendation of a friend. We'll be regular customers from now on. The chicken parmigiana we took home for lunch was excellent. With a side of gnocchi (me) and penne (my husband) we have enough left over for lunch again tomorrow. Quality food and a huge variety of freshly prepared and frozen items - a great spot to remember when planning a large dinner party.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antipastos also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Antipastos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing