We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queen and albert is our home away from home in Stratford.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queen and Albert B&B
Ranked #19 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We were serendipitously introduced to the Queen & Albert the first summer it was opened by a referral from the Festival and, since then, have made it a rule to stay there each summer. It is our home away from home in Stratford.

Starting with a dilapidated meat market, Andrew and Cvetka created a distinctively modern bed & breakfast with four rooms – each having its own personality. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and air conditioned and breakfast is not an afterthought. Andrew is a creative and dedicated cook who relies on what is locally available and fresh to make his breakfasts a meal we look forward to. As a host, Andrew has pointed us toward many restaurants, some old and some new (and steered us away from others).

The Queen & Albert is just four blocks from the Festival Theater and a not too long a walk to downtown Stratford, the Tom Patterson, the Avon and the Studio. Once we arrive, our practice is to let the car sit, except for trips outside central Stratford.

Booking at the Queen & Albert has meant that, after getting our tickets for the Festival, we only need to focus on how to spend our time in Stratford, including where to dine.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

Referred to by most long-time residents as the Old General Store, the Queen & Albert is an elegantly refurbished, warm and welcoming Bed & Breakfast – conveniently located just 5 minutes from the Festival Theatre. A true gem among B & Bs, we especially appreciate the main floor suite with its cozy sitting area, refrigerator, TV and spacious bathroom.

Owen and Chef, Andrew Watson, is our thoughtful and generous host.
Andrew is a great source for “what’s hot” and “what’s not”, having attended most of the Stratford bill of shows and being a true connoisseur of fine dining in the area. He is most accommodating to his guests, ensuring that everyone has a relaxed and enjoyable stay in his home.

What’s for breakfast? As a chef, Andrew creates such favourites as a flavourful asparagus omelet & over roasted potatoes, a heavenly eggs benedict and, for a chilly fall morning, maybe some hearty old fashion Oatmeal with sautéed pears and fresh cream. His breakfasts are the perfect start before your day out in Stratford.

Make the Queen & Albert your “home” for your next trip to Stratford.

Henry & Shannon Hill
Toronto, Ontario

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I have stayed at this B&B numerous times over the years and the breakfasts just keep getting better and better! To say nothing of the friendly and unobtrusive host. Always have great ideas on how to spend the days when not at a show, I highly reccomend this B&B for your next stay in Stratford. I always leave having felt like I've gone to heaven and back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 108moves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Friends introduced us to Stratford, the Queen and Albert and Andrew Watson during our first trip to the Shakespeare Festival, several years ago. We have been grateful to them since. Andrew is the perfect host. He knows everything about Stratford, the plays, restaurants, gossip and his recommendations are always perfect.

We love the rooms--airy, spacious, large en- suite bathrooms, interesting decor in the rooms, a bit edgy but right for us.

B and J, Roscommon MI.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Pancakes of perfection made w/fresh local blueberries
Freshly made Crepes w/fresh fruit & cheese
Guatemalan eggs w/all the trimmings
Handmade bagels, smoked salmon & kosher organic cream cheese

These are a few of the wondrous breakfasts we've enjoyed during our yearly stay at the QABB. Cool paintings & theater props in the rooms & dining area, clean & comfy rooms, free WI-FI...like heaven. Andrew is the most hospitable host imaginable.
Oh! & the quiet neighborhood is a quick & easy 5 minute walk to the Festival Theater!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Our mother-daughter group has been visiting Stratford for over 10 years and have stayed at several different B&B's and Hotels. Finding the Queen & Albert was a real coup and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Andrew is the perfect host and creates the most delicious breakfast's. The rooms are clean, light and spacious, and the front sitting room is the perfect place for a glass of wine and snacks before or after a show. Andrew always has great suggestions for area restaurants and shops, and the Queen is an easy walk to the Festival Theatre for a show or a stroll along the Avon River.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisapsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My mother and I have been attending the Stratford Festival for over 20 years. In the early days, we stayed at a couple of different B & B's which were barely adequate. Then we discovered the Queen and Albert. It is perfectly situated within walking distance to all theatres. The rooms are all large, airy, and well furnished. Our host, Andrew, provides excellent, creative, and generous breakfasts. He is a fountain of knowledge about the Festival, the town, and the surrounding area. A couple of years ago, we actually drove to Stratford a week early! What a fiasco! Andrew had no room in the inn for us, but helped us find alternate lodging and advised us on how we could exchange our original play tickets for tickets for the current week. Having again stayed at some place other than the Queen and Albert as a result of my brain lapse, I was reminded what an excellent value it is, You can be sure that I now always double check my dates before heading north!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelaholic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#12 of 88 in Stratford
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen and Albert B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen and Albert B&B

Address: 174 Queen St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £113 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen and Albert B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location. Just up the street from the Stratford Festival Theatre and a short walk to downtown Stratford for the Avon, Tom Patterson and Studio theatres as well as Stratford’s fine restaurants and boutiques. Park your car, walk around town, soak up the ambiance of Stratford. Stratford’s original boutique B&B has four well-appointed suites for a soothing and relaxing stay. Well known for superb breakfasts, original artwork and eclectic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Queen and Albert B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen And Albert B&B Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing