We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast for two nights for our 10th wedding anniversary. We have never experienced a B&B like this place. Absolutely awesome. Elena and Dom are very friendly hosts. We enjoyed their table conversations during our breakfast. Their breakfast had three courses and each morning they were different and fabulous.
The rooms are nicely furnished and were very comfortable with a lovely bathrooms. Entire home (rooms, bathrooms, etc) are the cleanest we have ever seen in our life.
This location is close to downtown area, Avon river and many other places.
We have already started to recommend this B & B to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Mother and daughter weekend in Stratford can only be special when staying at the Birmingham Manor! We keep returning to Elena's and Dom beautiful home knowing that we won't be disappointed! Great food great company at the breakfast table and great theatre! What else can we ask for!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Birmingham Manor. It is located within walking distance of the downtown area of Stratford. The hosts are very friendly and run the B&B in professional manner. The breakfast, varied each morning, is not only very tasty but also nicely presented. We enjoyed the table conversations with the other guests and the hosts who are quite knowledgeable about theatre. The rooms are nicely furnished and tastefully decorated. It is one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever visited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here with his parents, brother and sister-in-law. We occupied three bedrooms, each with a renovated ensuite bathroom. The rooms (and entire house) were beautiful, and Elena and Dom were very welcoming--they greeted us with a selection of tea and homemade biscotti. We enjoyed the filling french toast breakfast in the company of another couple staying at the inn, and Elena suprised all of us with an extra treat after breakfast to celebrate my mother-in-law's birthday. The house is accessible by foot to the theatres and to the restaurants and shopping area. A lovely stay--would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This past week, my boyfriend and I made the trip over to Stratford to catch a play and stay at the Birmingham Manor. After walking around the main strip a bit, getting lunch and watching our play (Alice Through The Looking Glass), we made our way over to the B&B. Elena was there to greet us and show us around the massive home, including our room. We stayed in the Balmoral, which was incredible in person (the photos don't do this place justice - everything from the textured wallpaper down to the woodwork has to be seen in person!). We had a massive, super comfortable bed, a desk, flat-screen tv, large wardrobe, bench, couch and a newly renovated washroom. Nothing was lost in comparison to staying at a hotel; all the same amenities are found here, from the sleek modern shower, to the not-so-mini bar in the hallway stocked with water and soda! And the character and history in every single room just adds to the experience (check out my photo of the 'BM' window; so lovely!). Aside from our room, we enjoyed the shared spaces, relaxing in the parlour and playing the piano.
The other thing that has to be mentioned is the breakfast... Elena makes delicious, fresh meals tailored to your needs and preferences. I am vegan, so Elena made me a special oatmeal/sweet potato/banana dish, along with a fruit plate and a special vegan cake! There was also soy milk available for my tea. This meant a lot to me, as it can be hard for me to dine out, especially outside of Toronto. It was the cherry on top of a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Balmoral, which I absolutely loved. Got to tour all rooms however, and they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katarinaantunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband & I stay with Elena & Dom for one night. Their home is just beautiful they are really welcoming hosts. We stayed in the balmoral room the en suite was just newly done four poster bed really clean lovely room. The breakfast was amazing you will not need lunch after a breakfast from Elena & Dom. We had an amazing time there.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie2jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Elena and Dom are wonderful hosts. They anticipated our arrival to perfection.

Our room was clean, bright, cheerful and comfortable. We planned an one night stay. Our bed and accommodation were perfect.

We had come to see the swan parade which was an easy walk from the home to downtown. Before we began our walk, Elena offered some of her home made biscotti. They were delicious!

Breakfast in the morning had a choice of coffee or tea, along with juice and three meal courses. Yogurt and fruit, then a pastry, and finished with a scone. The yogurt Dom had prepared was visually superb and tasted amazing. We were properly fuelled for the day.

We plan to go back to Stratford. When we do, we hope to stay with Elena and Dom again. We would highly recommend staying at the Birmingham Manor.


Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#15 of 88 in Stratford
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Hatfield House on Hibernia B and  B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 240 Birmingham St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £89 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Manor is a beautiful Heritage Mansion in Stratford, Ontario Canada. We are within walking distance to the city centre. Stratford is only 1.5 hrs from Toronto and 45 min. from Lake Huron. Our rooms are beautiful and comfortable and we serve a great breakfast! We also offer vegetarian, gluten free and vegan meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birmingham Manor Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing