We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more fabulous this year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friends and I took 3 of the four rooms at the manor for a weekend in July. We were last here a year ago. The bathrooms have been updated and are both beautiful and comfortable. Walk in tile showers, toothbrush and paste if you forgot yours, fancy basin sinks, lovely lighting. Elena continues to astound with her 3 course breakfasts. Our first evening she was baking brioche and offered samples, warm from the oven. YUM. Dom remembered we liked tonic water (to mix with gin) and stocked the fridge with it for us. The beds are comfortable, the ceiling fans provide just the right amount of cooling. The only drawback for some may be the location, it is a 45 minute walk to the Festival Theater, though only 15 or 20 minute (we are slow walkers) to the Avon. We love it and will be back next year.

Room Tip: the rooms with the ensuite bathrooms are nicer to have than the one with the washroom down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJudithB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

A beautiful B and B, too bad we could only stay for one night, i love their wrap around porch, i was able to sit for a few minutes before and after breakfast, breakfast was delicious, fresh and homemade, will definitely stay at this B and B again.
They went out of their way to clean our room first so we can check in earlier to get ready for the wedding.

Room Tip: we stayed at the balmoral room and it has a nice little washroom of its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a night at Birmingham Manor when in town to enjoy the Stratford Festival, and it was truly a wonderful experience. The home is gorgeous, the location is so close to town, and Elena and Dom are kind and gracious hosts. The place is full of nice little touches (a fridge in the hall upstairs where you can help yourself to drinks, bathrobes in the rooms, etc.) that made for a wonderful stay. And of course, breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A heartfelt thank you to our hosts Elena & Dom for making us feel so welcome in their Birmingham Manor B & B. It is a lovely, spotlessly clean, well maintained home situated within walking distance of the local attractions. Breakfasts are delicious and are accompanied with great conversation around the table. We look forward to many future visits with these lovely people. We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for quality accommodations!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

When we visited Birmingham Manor, Elena helped us settle in. When we came downstairs, our host told us about her breakfast menu for the following day, and inquired about allergies and so on. At that point, I realized that I had neglected to ask in advance about a healthy breakfast. (We are not fond of eating dessert to start our day, and too many B&B breakfasts serve high-sugar, high-fat repasts).

When we arrived for breafkast, Elena surprised me. She had changed her menu to accommodate my request (I had asked that she not contort herself). All of the guests enjoyed a lovely dish of baked eggs in tomato sauce with fresh vegetables, instead of the suggested menu that she had originally planned.

I have stayed at hundreds of B&Bs, and I have rarely experienced the extraordinary kindness that Elena and her husband extended to their guests. These two are amazing. Of course, the home is gorgeous, and I don't need to repeat the comments in previous reviews.

Finally, take note that if you happen to be an Italian student who would like to brush up on your language skills, Elena told me that she would be happy to help me practice.

Both the people and the home are exceptional. I can't recommend Birmingham Manor highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have recently returned from a great week in Stratford where we had the good fortune to stay in the Birmingham Manor B&B. We cannot recommend this place too highly - the house is beautiful, the food is great (you won't need lunch) and the warmth and welcome provided by Dom and Elena make this a truly unique experience. Small but important touches make this place special - cold bottled water available in the hall fridge (with room to store your wine if you are inclined), a first aid kit with band-aids if you have walked too far, and delicious home-made biscotti always available. You leave feeling you have just spent time with good friends and look forward to your next visit - which, for us, will be next year for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a night and morning at the Birmingham Manor. I picked it based on past Trip Advisor reviews, and was not disappointed. For our purposes, it was perfect. We arrived on Saturday to take in both a Festival matinee and an evening show, and then needed a place to overnight, before heading back home on Sunday. The hosts, Elena and Dom (originally from Italy), were delightful. Their home is stunning, inside and outside. Our second floor bedroom, complete with a recently renovated ensuite bathroom, was spotless and elegantly appointed. As for the Sunday morning breakfast, enjoyed by several couples all seated in a charming dining room, it was superb (top marks to Elena for her cooking, and to Dom as sous chef). NOTES: 1. You'd be well advised to book the Birmingham well in advance (I booked it back in March, and we stayed in June); and 2. We found the walk from the Birmingham (where we parked our car) to downtown Stratford to be pretty easy - probably 10 minutes to the core, and then another 10 or so further on to the Festival Theatre (assuming average fitness).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 240 Birmingham St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: £91 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Manor is a beautiful Heritage Mansion in Stratford, Ontario Canada. We are within walking distance to the city centre. Stratford is only 1.5 hrs from Toronto and 45 min. from Lake Huron. Our rooms are beautiful and comfortable and we serve a great breakfast! We also offer vegetarian, gluten free and vegan meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birmingham Manor Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing