We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairy tale, anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
“Fairy tale, anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

As a gift from our two daughters on our 30th anniversary, we were introduced to the wonderful ambience and thoughtful appointments of the Mornington Rose Bed & Breakfast. Tory and Murray are delightful hosts and very skilled at making you feel like family. Our room and ensuite were absolutely lovely, and breakfast was both delicious and artistic. Our hosts ensured we had everything we needed, and provided excellent service and suggestions for shopping in Stratford. We are pleased to recommend the Mornington Rose Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking for a special place to stay in Stratford!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the B&B overlook the pretty gazebo and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We were so glad that we were able to be a small part of your milestone anniversary! How wonderful! We appreciate your comments and recommendation very much, and hope to see you back again for your 31st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
85
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My daughter and I attend two plays in Stratford each year and stay overnight. The Mornington Rose, by far, is the best Bed and Breakfast that we have experienced in Stratford and would be an extremely pleasant experience for anyone. Murray and Victoria have become friends who welcome us to their well appointed home and seem genuinely pleased to have us visit. My daughter has numerous food allergies and Victoria has been extremely kind to work with her on her own "special adaptive" menus and has gone far beyond what is expected of a hostess. They have made recommendations about restaurants, arranged for cabs and allowed us to arrive early. Their house is conveniently located to the theaters. We are most pleased to give them an A plus rating.

Room Tip: As an adult mother and daughter we chose the room with twin beds. My husband and I stayed in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Descriminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much! We do our best to be flexible and accommodating for our guests, whether it's regarding breakfast options, dining reservations, or alternate check-in times. As well, it's wonderful that you feel so comfortable coming to stay with us, as we do having you here! We look forward to seeing you both on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This B&B was nice and clean, with a great breakfast. Tori and Murray were great hosts. They were located three blocks from downtown, and easy walk. Stratford had lots of place to eat and drink. We tried several of their chocolate shops.

Our room at the B&B had a nice balcony, but the weather did not cooperate for using the balcony. My wife is looking forward to return to Stratford and staying at the Mornington Rose again.

Room Tip: They have only four room, book early to get the on that fix you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We were glad you came to stay with us, but hopefully the next time you visit Stratford the weather will be a little more co-operative! We're glad you had a good stay, nonetheless, and discovered all the great shops and restaurants downtown. Next time, you should try the Stratford Chocolate Trail, a great way to discover "all things chocolate" in Stratford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Tory and Murray took us in, as we decided to stay over in Stratford on a whim and they had a cancellation. What a lovely surprise!! Lovely room, great breakfast, room cozy and full of thoughtful touches. On the 'other' side of the river, but just a short stroll to town. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EeyoreCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Sometimes spur-of-the-moment decisions can work out beautifully, can't they? We're glad you came, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed in this Bed and Breakfast in early Sept for a get away with my sister and niece.
We had a wonderful experience. It was a short walk to down town, and close to everything
we planned for our day.
We had two rooms, and both were very nice. The little extras, like cookies and coffee were an added bonus. Breakfast was wonderful, and enjoyed by all. There was even special care taken to make sure dietary needs were meet.
I would return to the Mornington Rose in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you so much! We're glad you enjoyed our upstairs refreshment bar, where you can get your coffee, tea, soda, or cookie fix any time of the day or night!! We hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast is by far the best B & B I have ever visited. Their attention to even the smallest detail was remarkable. Mornington Rose is close to the downtown area and the Avon River. Definitely walk-able. :) If you book here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ivory Room (two twin beds) but we had a peek at the other rooms and they are wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are just a short walk to all of the theatres, shops and restaurants in the downtown area, so most people just park here and walk everwhere! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My friend and I spent this past weekend at Mornington Rose. We stayed in the room with two twin beds, which was just perfect for us. Tory and Murray had thought of everything - right down to the bottomless plate of home made chocolate chip cookies out in the hallway with the coffee/tea layout. Our room had its own little balcony which was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine in the afternoon. The breakfasts were incredible, nothing plain about it. It was delicious and beautifully presented. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a little home away from home.

Room Tip: Not a lot of B&B's have rooms with two beds - the Ivory Room let my friend and I share a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0laE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorningtonRose1905, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you! Yes, the Ivory Rose Room is perfect for friends, sisters, and moms and daughters to be together and have fun. The roof garden has a vintage patio set that is just right for coffee (or wine) and conversation any time of the day or night. We hope you will come to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#13 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 240 Mornington Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 5G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome! A great night's sleep! And a scrumptious silver service breakfast! You'll get that and SO MUCH MORE in the perfect Stratford location just a short walk from the best restaurants, museums, galleries and entertainment. Our Victorian home features 4 bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, bright common areas and veranda, a lovely garden with a pond and two gazebos for enjoying the roses that give our home its name. We're downtown Stratford's popular alternative to a typical hotel room for quality accommodations! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mornington Rose Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing