We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED The Caversham House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Caversham House
Ranked #13 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We LOVED The Caversham House!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Mary Lou and John are absolutely wonderful and welcoming hosts and it was a real pleasure to spend the night at their beautifully appointed home and then to savor the fabulous multi-course breakfast the following morning. Mary Lou and John really do think of everything by way of making guests feel welcome and their home is within easy walking distance of any restaurant and theater in town. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer, but we will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just spent a night at The Caversham and will definitely recommend it to others. Mary Lou and John are wonderful hosts and made us very welcome in their beautifully appointed B&B. We were traveling with my elderly parents and both Mary Lou and John were very accommodating. They gave us tips on local restaurants and cafés and even arranged for us to visit a local cheese maker we had expressed interest in. Breakfast featured house made jams (John's home made tomato jam went perfectly with the delicious frittata they served), freshly baked scones, and a selection of coffee and teas. The B&B is very well located - easy walking distance to the theatres, walking paths along the river, restaurants, and centre of town. I'd recommend The Caversham to anyone looking for a relaxing break from the city whether traveling solo, as a couple, or with family. Really lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Mary Lou and John provide a wonderful retreat from the world. And it's perfectly located for leisurely strolls along the river and visits to the various theatres in Stratford. They have thought of everything you might possibly need and then some. The room was lovely and the breakfasts worthy of a Michelin 3 star review. And Mary Lou gave us great advice about an alternate route home to Cleveland. We will definitely return to Caversham House on our next visit to Stratford.

Room Tip: The Sheraton Room is on the street side of the house. There can be noise from passersby, but it is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this quaint B&B. Warm, comfortable surroundings. Very clean. Lovely little touches like bed turn-downs and an unexpected but very welcome little sweet waiting on the pillow. :)
Absolutely delicious breakfast and engaging hosts. Recommend it highly and would be my first pick when I return to Stratford!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent - because of perfect location, immaculate room - perfectly clean, well appointed, superb breakfast, terrific hosts. There was nothing even a little bit wrong!

Thank you Mary Lou and John for having such a great accommodation.

Room Tip: Room #3 is our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I came to Caversham House for our first night for 'just us' since becoming parents 15 months ago. What an absolute joy to experience such hospitality, consideration, and genuine friendliness for our little vacation! The house is beautiful and comfortable, with myriad little touches included to make your stay cosy, peaceful, easy and convenient. From the local maps and restaurant guides, to the mini-fridge with cold water, to the little snacks/treats for the late night sweet tooth attack, everything was thought of. Breakfast in the morning was simply amazing. The ingredients were top-notch, and everything was delicious. There was something for everyone, and plenty of everything. Mary Lou and John seemed to enjoy speaking about their recipes when interest was shown - and then we ended up lingering after breakfast chatting about so much else - proof of their genuine interest in us as welcome guests (despite our short stay). What a lovely couple, lovely house and lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I turned up at The Caversham House without a reservation, having driven around the local streets for about half an hour looking for a welcoming place to stay. Mary Lou and John could not have been more friendly and helpful, from the moment I arrived unannounced until I left the following morning after the most amazing breakfast and armed with John's home-baked muffins for my onward car journey. Lovely bedroom & ensuite, relaxing time reading peacefully on the verandah, no end of advice about local attractions, and excellent directions on the way back to St Catharines for a clueless Australian in a hurry! Oh, and I haven't mentioned the 'concierge', Baden, one of the happiest dogs I've ever encountered! You can't go past The Caversham House for old-style hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anth0ny_F10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.5 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#9 of 89 in Stratford
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#8 of 89 in Stratford
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caversham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caversham House

Property: The Caversham House
Address: 155 Cobourg St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple Pleasures Abound at The Caversham House! The newly renovated, air-conditioned, home successfully combines last century’s ambiance with today’s comforts. Sun filled, professionally decorated rooms are invitingly furnished. Tasteful style is also found on the spacious and comforting front porch or in the intimate garden, all a pleasure for discerning guests. The classic red brick structure, built in 1915, is a fine example of Edwardian architecture. Many of the original architectural features of the Caversham House have been carefully preserved. Situated on a quiet tree lined street in the heart of Stratford, an easy walk to all the theatres, restaurants, and shopping. We are two blocks from Lake Victoria and Stratford’s picturesque parks. No strangers here, just friends you have yet to meet. Your hosts Mary Lou Middleton and John McNeil invite you to discover the Simple Pleasures The Caversham House has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Caversham House Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing