We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encore-”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Caversham House
Ranked #11 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Encore-”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Complementing a perfect visit to Stratford was staying at The Caversham House. It was comfortable, clean, conveniently located with congenial hosts and palate pleasing healthy cuisine.
Thank you Mary Lou and John - it was our pleasure being with you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dashgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our stay at Caversham House was wonderful. Mary Lou & John were terrific hosts -very friendly, and very knowledgeable about Stratford and the festival. The house is lovely and the Henley room was beautiful. It is large & tastefully furnished. It is bright & airy, with windows on three sides and a small balcony. John's breakfasts were fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a night at Caversham House last week on our return trip from Toronto to Chicago. We stopped in Stratford to attend a matinee theater performance, and hosts Mary Lou and John were very flexible in adjusting our check-in time until after the show. Our hosts were very helpful without hovering, and they made us feel welcome. They have created a very comfortable environment for guests in their home with attention to detail in both guest rooms and common rooms. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the front porch. The hosts prepared a mouth-watering breakfast, and we purchased some of their yummy homemade granola to take home. We hope to be able to return again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: This is a small B & B with 3 small rooms, but they all appear to be comfortable and equally char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Caversham House in the second week of July. We had to arrive early, but the hosts were friendly and accommodating and allowed us to put our things in our room and change for lunch and afternoon theatre even though it was earlier than check-in time. Our room (the Henley) was not large, but it was pretty, well-maintained, private, and extremely comfortable. There is even a pretty balcony where you can drink a glass of wine.

John's breakfasts are amazing! Absolutely delicious, thoughtfully prepared, and they will keep you going all day. The front porch is also a welcoming space to enjoy a cup of tea or a glass of lemonade on a hot afternoon. We were grateful for that full cookie jar in the hallway the night that we didn't get our dinner (long story that has nothing to do with Caversham House!) My husband is super sensitive to noise and worried that our back room (which can hear Ontario Street) would be too loud for him. The hosts thoughtfully provided a fan for white noise and it worked perfectly.)

We also enjoyed chatting with the other guests, who were cultivated, thoughtful people.

An easy walk to all the theatres, Caversham House is ideally located. The hosts have a terrific knowledge of area history and will gladly chat about it.

We would certainly go back another time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty. Our back room (Henley) is the largest and most modern but possibly a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently vacationed in Stratford at the charming Caversham House and were very pleased with our accommodations. The home is both welcoming and tastefully decorated with a large living room, a comfortable dining room and a front porch where we relaxed with the resident dog, Baden. The delicious and plentiful breakfasts, with homegrown herbs and elegant place settings, were a perfect start to our day. And there were thoughtful touches everywhere—a canister of John’s homemade cookies in the dining room, a refrigerator stocked with beverages on the second floor, a container full of umbrellas on the stairway, books and guides and programs everywhere, plus Mary Lou posts the weather forecast and a list of the daily forums in the foyer. We felt right at home in this wonderful atmosphere where flowers flourish and new acquaintances become familiar faces.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just finished our third week-long stay at Caversham House. We have never been disappointed. John & Mary Lou run their beautiful B&B with attention to details and the comfort of their guests. The rooms are immaculate with en suite baths and comfortable beds. Together they prepare and serve breakfast, including many fresh ingredients from their own gardens. Each morning they provide something new and fresh.

Both of them regularly attend the Festival plays and know the Stratford area well. They can provide often-needed help when making sometimes difficult choices from excellent eating, shopping, and entertainment options.

You can park your car and forget it if you wish. All four Festival venues and restaurants are short walks from Caversham House. We do not need our car during our stay.

We booked our rooms for 2015 before we left. John and Mary Lou are more than excellent inn keepers, they are friends. We expect to return each year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This B & B is beautifully decorated, and hosted by the very friendly Mary Lou and John. It was very comfortable; delicious breakfast; impeccably clean bathroom and bedroom. Lovely all round. Would definitely return next year for another visit. Susan L.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan123232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 89 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caversham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caversham House

Property: The Caversham House
Address: 155 Cobourg St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple Pleasures Abound at The Caversham House! The newly renovated, air-conditioned, home successfully combines last century’s ambiance with today’s comforts. Sun filled, professionally decorated rooms are invitingly furnished. Tasteful style is also found on the spacious and comforting front porch or in the intimate garden, all a pleasure for discerning guests. The classic red brick structure, built in 1915, is a fine example of Edwardian architecture. Many of the original architectural features of the Caversham House have been carefully preserved. Situated on a quiet tree lined street in the heart of Stratford, an easy walk to all the theatres, restaurants, and shopping. We are two blocks from Lake Victoria and Stratford’s picturesque parks. No strangers here, just friends you have yet to meet. Your hosts Mary Lou Middleton and John McNeil invite you to discover the Simple Pleasures The Caversham House has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Caversham House Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing