We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fend for yourself” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stratford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stratford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fend for yourself”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is like the Marie Celeste — unmanned and abandoned from 9 p.m. to 9 a.m. I’m surprised it’s legal to have a hotel unstaffed at night. Besides the potential security risks, there were practical problems too. The only other guests in the hotel needed the hairdryer around 7:30 a.m. (yes, there’s only one in the hotel and that’s held in the office) and we wanted the promised discount coupon for breakfast at the diner across the street, but with nobody at the front desk, we were all disappointed.

If the hotel were otherwise superb, then we might have been more forgiving, but the bathroom was so tiny, one had to be a contortionist, and a slim one at that, to use it. The furniture was so tightly packed into the room, I twice bruised my thigh on a projecting part of the bed’s foot-board.The window air conditioner sounded like a turbo-jet. I have stayed in hundreds if hotels, good and bad, but this place is the first in which I felt scared.

Room Tip: To get a good room, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGBRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    61
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
149
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Right near the Avon Theater and many restaurants, this hotel had character and charm. Rooms had fireplaces, lots of windows that open, traditional furnishings including beautiful,comfy beds. There were five of us and the staff treated us like family. Free wifi and Keurig coffee in the lobby where we got to chat with fellow tourists. One nice touch: every room had a refrigerator and the staff provided two bottled waters every day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I've been going to the theatre in Stratford for over 30 years, and have tried several different places to stay. The Stratford Hotel, in which I stayed for the 1st time this summer, was by far the most convenient and pleasant. The staff are outgoing & helpful, the A/C rooms are quirky but pleasantly so, and very clean, the price is reasonable, and the location couldn't be better. Parking is next to the hotel, fresh coffee & tea are available 24/7, & there was a min-fridge in the room..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan Center, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Before judging the Stratford Hotel-walk inside. It reminded us of a small, quaint English hotel. The rooms have been renovated while keeping the historic overall ambience. We enjoyed meeting other couples staying there. We also enjoyed our breakfast at Joe's Diner which has an arrangement with the Stratford Hotel. Although the front desk closes at 9 p.m., you get an electronic key to open the front door. We felt very safe & there is free parking for hotel guests!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelers365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at The Stratford Hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel is ideally located for access to shops and the downtown as well as to the theater venues. The staff was friendly and personable and the accommodations were quaint and charming. Parking was especially convenient, a shortcoming at other places we have frequented.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StratfordVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I decided to take an unexpected long weekend to Stratford. We were unsure about the best place to stay. We chose the Stratford Hotel. We were delighted! This hotel is quaint, very clean, and has a very friendly staff. Our room felt like it was set back in time yet with all the modern amenities. We were impressed with how clean and beautiful it was inside and out. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwoudstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Me and my husband needed something special for our 20th anniversary and the Stratford Hotel delivered! We spent a couple extra bucks to get the suite and breakfast vouchers for Joe's Diner which was a good idea. The rooms, service, and the breakfast were all fabulous! The Stratford hotel small and unique, with accompanying friendly staff. When we returned to our room after going to watch a play, we found a Happy Anniversary note with a box of chocolates. It's classic elegance, not the modern stuff, which makes it special!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petet3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foster's Inn
Foster's Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford Hotel

Property: The Stratford Hotel
Address: 107 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stratford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Hotel, where old world charm and modern amenities unite! Our historic downtown property is surrounded by shopping and theatre districts, historical neighborhoods; and we are 6 blocks from the business park. We offer English style gardens, wireless internet, and free onsite Parking. Features of all our rooms and suites comprise of queen size antique beds, distinctive layouts, private baths, gas fireplaces, bar fridges and high-definition TV's with digital cable. Our location is very close to all the Theatres, a 5 min walk to The Avon Theatre, a 25 min scenic walk along the river to the main Festival Theatre, a 10 min walk to The Tom Patterson Theatre and a 5 min walk to the new Masonic Hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing