We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stratford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Character and cozy”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth season coming to enjoy the Shakespeare Stratford Festival. We discovered The Stratford Hotel because our regular B & B where we used to stay for two consecutive seasons was not available.

Since the beginning we got a good vibe from The Stratford Hotel. The staff is very helpful and amicable. The heritage building has tons of character and the rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable.

Location is at its best since you can walk or bike to every theatre and restaurants in town.

Keep up the good work, cheers,

josé g.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    67
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
158
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Love staying here. Good location to theatres, restaurants and pubs. Free parking and you can walk everywhere. Very clean rooms with a fridge. Friendly staff and free wifi. You can buy 5.00 breakfast coupon for Joe's Diner which is one block away.
Will return every year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here for years. Wonderful location and free parking , n immaculate rooms. Rustic country Victorian. Wonderful service and staff. Can't ask for more we have been coming here for years.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For the past several years, we've been happily staying here in August during our week-long immersion in the Stratford Festival. Not only is the hotel centrally located (restaurants & theatres are all within an easy walk), but the hotel staff welcomes us each year like returning family. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable--and surprisingly functional for a vintage hotel. In addition to the complimentary coffee in the lobby, we enjoy having breakfast at Joe's Diner, just a few steps away.

Room Tip: We always choose a suite facing the street and on the second floor -- in spite of the lack of an ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yrral2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is an old hotel - but it has been updated. The room was a suite - sitting room with adjoining bedroom. The layout was off - the shower was separate from the toilet and there was sinks outside each of the toilet room and shower room. They were on opposite sides of the suite. Just odd - not bad - just odd!
The tv was positioned on the window wall in such a way that you could not watch it from the bed and you had to look sideways from the couch to see it. Odd layout!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is slightly unusual.
It is in a historic building that seems once it was offices.
Our room was small for northern American standards but very nicely done and clean. There is no staff from 9pm to 9am but it was no problem for us. We would stay again.

Since it was cool we didn't need air conditioning and I couldn't tell if there was any. Check with the hotel.


Close to theatres and downtown.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joejw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent downtown location. nice clean room with a bedroom and living room area with couch chair and a couple of tables. Windows open and there is a gas fireplace. Bed was comfortable. Free coffee in the lobby. We had 4 enjoyable nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#12 of 18 in Stratford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford Hotel

Property: The Stratford Hotel
Address: 107 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stratford Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Hotel, where old world charm and modern amenities unite! Our historic downtown property is surrounded by shopping and theatre districts, historical neighborhoods; and we are 6 blocks from the business park. We offer English style gardens, wireless internet, and free onsite Parking. Features of all our rooms and suites comprise of queen size antique beds, distinctive layouts, private baths, gas fireplaces, bar fridges and high-definition TV's with digital cable. Our location is very close to all the Theatres, a 5 min walk to The Avon Theatre, a 25 min scenic walk along the river to the main Festival Theatre, a 10 min walk to The Tom Patterson Theatre and a 5 min walk to the new Masonic Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stratford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing