We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arthur's Round Table
Ranked #51 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Never again!

Although the price was relatively low, we were taken aback when asked for full payment in cash almost as soon as we walked in. We soon realized that this was necessary because many guests would refuse to stay here, once they had a closer look around.

The guest rooms and common areas were very dusty and in desperate need of a facelift, to say the least. Many light bulbs were burnt out and the lock on the bathroom door was broken. Not only did this offer no privacy, but also the guests of four rooms were required to share this one bathroom. This is completely unacceptable in my book.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment. It consisted of do-it-yourself toast, cereal, some stale muffins, OJ, coffee, and a small bunch of bananas lying on the table. No hot cooked anything. Breakfast at Macdonald’s would have been a huge step up from this fare.

The owners were pleasant enough but rarely seen and they made no effort whatsoever to ensure that their guests were happy. I would recommend that you stay away from this B & B. For a few extra dollars, there are at least three other options just down the street that looked simply lovely, had private baths and offered hot breakfast. At least that is what I plan to do when I next visit to Stratford.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

As a last minute booking we found this B&B acceptable. Our room was comfortable and the hosts quite friendly. Our room as spacious with a comfortable bed. Without a closet (or wardrobe) nor a dressing mirror, it lacked some convenience. We were surprised to see that the "private bathroom" was not connected to the room, still requiring being dressed to get to and from the bedroom. Nor was it really private as any other quests could have used it. Also, the bathroom could have been cleaner. Breakfast was your basic fibers and fruits, unimaginative.

The residence is 2.4 km from the festival theatre, a pleasant walk, especially along the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed at Arthur's many times and will return. Kim and Brian are so friendly and helpful; it's always fun to be there. In the summer, there are lovely verandas to sit on or you can lounge by the pool for awhile.

The continental breakfast includes muffins, toast, cream cheese, jam, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, fresh brewed coffee. It is help-yourself, but if anything runs out, Kim will bring you more. There's usually lively chatter around the tables about what people have seen or are going to see or do.

The bathrooms are shared (it's quite clear in all their descriptions). It's an older house with character. If you like being in a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere with interesting people, you'll like it here and it's good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Have stayed here twice, each time for two nights. The owners, Brian and Kim, are genuinely very nice people. During our first trip, they went to great lengths to replace a mattress for my mother, as her back is bad and the bed was too soft for her. They also made restaurant reservations for us. The only problem I had with the place on our first trip was the lack of secure rooms. The bedrooms and bathroom had only a hardware-store-style hook and eye to secure the doors. My bedroom had a private balcony off the back of the house.

On our second trip the following year, the hook and eye style lock was missing from the bathroom door (water closet or toilet, which is separate from the shower/sink room). This is a shared bathroom on the second floor where there are four guest rooms. A refrigerator is available for things and need to be kept cold.

Also on our second trip, the driveway was being redone with concrete. We had to park on the narrow street. They laid gravel and compacted it with a vibratory compactor until 10 PM, and around 7 AM the following day, concrete trucks arrived. Nobody got much rest.

The breakfast at this bed-and-breakfast consists of do-it-yourself toast, cereal, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee. No hot cooked anything. I recommend Madelyn's Diner for breakfast. For $99 per night, I expect a little better. If you can handle the quirks of this place (creaky floors) and the lack of breakfast and occasional construction, this is the place for you. The house of lovely, the owners are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For greater privacy, ask for something on the 2nd floor. The first floor bedroom has a private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortyblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed 2 nites as a group, the price is right for the time we spent coming and going , as we need to fit in lots of things while we are in town for plays. Quick breakfast for those on the go! Did not expect "hot breakfast" so the continental was fine. Morning dip in the beautiful pool and off browsing the shops of Stratford. It was a great stay at this B & B and enjoyed Kim and Brian's hospitality. Thanks & we will be back again.

Room Tip: choose a bedroom with balcony seating area on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M.D. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We travel to Stratford often to go to the theater. We loved our stay here. I don't sleep well everywhere as both knees and shoulders have had surgeries. The bed was super comfortable so this b&b is a keeper for us. The breakfast was very good and served at a large table that afforded good conversation with other guests.

Room Tip: Book early as rooms fill quickly during high season~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revwendyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed one night and did not have an enjoyable experience. The owners were very nice and the house had a lot of character. However, we could hear someone watching TV below us until midnight, and we could also hear the other guests walk around (and they could probably hear us) because the house is old and will squeak with every step. The bed was queen, and was firm, but it was very squeaky as well which was not a problem for my wife, but for me I move a lot in my sleep and did not enjoy that experience. Like others have pointed out, the breakfast wasn't enjoyable when compared with that of other B&B's. They do have a swimming pool, however we cam during the fall/winter so that wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: Try another place or a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
0.6 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koch Haus Bed and Breakfast
Koch Haus Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 88 in Stratford
18 reviews
2.8 mi away
Majer's Motel
Majer's Motel
#12 of 18 in Stratford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Round Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Round Table

Address: 236 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Arthur's Round Table Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing