We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel”
Review of Festival Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Festival Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Waterloo, ON
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Okay hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is not in the heart of Stratford - so you won't be walking to your show. Area has chain restaurants and Target etc. You miss the "quaintness" of downtown Stratford. The room was clean and very large. The television was on the far side of the room and looked really small because of the distance from the bed to the television. There was no Wi-Fi - which I found odd. The beds were on the soft side, but comfortable. Overall it was a good stay. I guess I expected the hotel to be more modern. It is quite dated - especially the bathroom. I have read other reviews that said the rooms were updated. Perhaps we had a room that hadn't yet been updated. The towels were not nice - thin and scratchy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    80
    44
    37
    15
See reviews for
62
55
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always founding to be very clean and the staff very helpful. It is about a five minute drive to the Festival Theatre and downtown Stratford. I would recommend highly, and will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stellarsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great place to stay while visiting Stratford. Good Value hotel, very clean and quaint.
Close to many restaurants, and close to downtown. Our room was in the annex, which looked fairly new and renovated. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The university I attended in Michigan sends their Honors program students to Stratford for free to attend the Shakespeare plays once a year. I stayed here in 2009 and in 2010. The rooms were nice and clean with lovely furnishings. The breakfast was good. This hotel is not right in the heart of Stratford, but it is probably more affordable because of this. It's not a crowded area, but the city heart of Stratford isn't a far drive. I'd stay here again when my husband and I decide to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently stayed here for a hockey tournament. Excellent value (we paid $99/night)- quite a large sprawling hotel, but you can get a parking spot close to your room (helpful with hockey bags!). Great pool- they didn't bug the kids when they were a bit loud. Nice hot tub also. Very close to all the arenas in town and Walmart/Target, etc if you need anything.
A bit dated looking, but no complaints- nice to have a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamammaMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Large property. Old but so. We rooms have been renovated. Good for our hockey team as our rooms were far from the lobby (a maze of hallways) so we could gather in the evening without disturbing others. Front the desk young woman very cordial to us and our kids. Pool area very nice! Housekeeping could sharpen up a bit. Nice but needed to vacuum and clean bathroom better. Close proximity to arenas, downtown and restaurants. Small mall across the street... Tim's, Lcbo Walmart... All nearby. Nothing further than 8 minutes away.


Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 16lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place is deceiving as it does not look as big as it is when you pull in but there are annexes at they back of the property that house a lot of rooms and they are all connected to the main building: You don't need to worry about the weather when you head out to an evening of fine dining and entertainment.
The room we had was a two-person jacuzzi suite and it was huge. It was clean and comfortable and amazingly quiet despite the fact that there were several hockey teams staying there.
The front desk check-in staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel is located on the outskirts of Stratford but very close to malls, restaurants and liquor stores. There is a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gowens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
286 reviews
1.8 mi away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#12 of 18 in Stratford
135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Foster's Inn
Foster's Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Inn

Property: Festival Inn
Address: 1144 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festival Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Festival Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Hotel Stratford
Festival Inn Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing