We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Queen's Inn for one night in June. The room was quite spacious, clean, and quiet. It had two queen size beds, which were comfortable. A nice touch was that there was make up remover provided in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent, on a main street in downtown Stratford and close to all the festival theatres, the farthest one being a 15-minute walk away. The hotel has a restaurant downstairs with a small patio, where the service was good and fast, and the food decent. The only downside was the price of the room (almost $200 for one night, taxes in). All things considered, we would certainly consider staying at Queen's Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryCurious_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    44
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
52
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You can walk to the three downtown Theatres in 5 minutes, and the Festival Theatres in about 15 minutes.
Its great place to stay location wise, as parking is free and if you get to the inn early and your room is ready they will allow you in, even if its not ready you can still park there free. Its downtown and central to all the shops to browse and restaurants. The Queens Inn also has two restaurants. One a pub, and the other more formal dinning. You can hit the pub after seeing the play and they have 60 oz pitcher of beer for $13 and weekends they also have live entertainment, The atmosphere is just like Cheers show, everyone seems to know everyone.
The rooms are great, clean and nice. The free coffee/tea is served in the hallways starting at 6am .We stayed here twice once on April 13th and room rates were $84 and then again on May 4th and they went up to $109. And I think they are going up to $154 in high season.

Room Tip: Room 201 is unique, and bright and far away from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank suerob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Not only is the Queen's Inn conveniently located right on the edge of beautiful downtown Stratford, and an easy walk to all theatres........but here you will enjoy lovely, beautifully-appointed rooms, good food and, best of all, most gracious hospitality. It's just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I decided to take a romantic trip away for the weekend. We picked Stratford as it's close enough to go there and back in a weekend, yet neither of us had ever been! We looked online for hotels, and found the Queen's Inn. At 84$ a night, the price was right but our expectations were not too high.

When we arrived, we found a charming old building right 'downtown' with lots of parking. Checking in was as simple as giving our names and being handed a set of keys. Our room was lovely - a real bed (with head and foot board), nice pine furniture, and a somewhat separate sitting area with a couch and desk. The bathroom was a little dated, but we both really liked everything overall - it felt like being a guest in an old home, rather than in a stuffy hotel. We were right on the corner of the building too, and did not notice a lot of noise at all.

The bedding was probably our favorite part - wonderful fluffy pillows, high thread count sheets and cozy blankets - not your typical mass produced hotel linens.

There was no in-room coffee, but we did have a small fridge. The coffee is put out in the hall first thing in the morning, so we did get to wake up with a cup of coffee in bed.

The cable package was not extensive, but we were there to spend time away from home, not watch tv!!

We had dinner in the pub downstairs - absolutely wonderful food, and very well priced. And way too much for us to finish!

Overall, we were super happy with this hotel and look forward to returning in the fall!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor - very quiet, and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

great place enjoy my stay would come back no problem just one no hot water well we did have then we didn't have it we told the front desk when we checked out we probably should have told them earlier but we only stayed for one nite for the swan parade
anywhere i would go back in a minute it is centre to the downtown and stratford theatres and has a pub attached we had a great meal reasonable prices and all round good time
and the restaurants like take that cake on albert street was great and good prices and lot of food great breakfasts
great time............. Thanks carol

Room Tip: guite at back of building no pool no gym but inexpensive and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solidsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Queen's Inn may be a hotspot during theatre season, but in the fall and winter, it's the best kept secret. We took advantage of a winter getaway package which included a wonderful king bed suite, $40 dinner voucher and a chocolate treat in-room. The room is very quiet, has all the items one looks for and was tastefully decorated (photos of the rooms do not do them justice).
Dinner was great, but the late hour that we ate meant it was quite loud (recommend going for dinner no later than 7pm on a Friday or Saturday). The food is pub fare, but hot and high-quality. Their burgers and wings are awesome.
Front desk staff are super-friendly and bend over backwards to ensure your stay is enjoyable.
For the incredible rate and the value for dollar, I don't know why people go anywhere else in fall/winter, unless they're travelling as a family and want the pool, etc. features that Queen's Inn doesn't offer....
Only downside is internet... sketchy at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crymsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Booked an off season Suite (they are more costly when the Theatre season is on). This is a small old downtown Inn with a great pub and a formal restaurant on the ground floor, parking, and walking distance to everything downtown. Rooms are nicely appointed (some fixtures are older but all in good working order. The prices are very very reasonable. If you like to be downtown this is a great little spot in a fun little town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn at Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn at Stratford

Property: Queen's Inn at Stratford
Address: 161 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Inn at Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Queen's Inn at Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Inn At Stratford Hotel Stratford
Queens Hotel Stratford
Queen's Inn At Stratford Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing