We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, clean & very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were going to 2 plays on a Saturday, so our friends booked the Queen's Inn. The only room left was a suite, so 2 bedrooms for the 4 of us. It was very nice. We had large seating area and kitchen. Our bedroom had king bed, and quite spacious, but the A/C was a little noisy. We realized later that if we left the door a little open, the pressure drop would let the A/C be reduced and quieter. The other room had queen bed and smaller. Only thing was that is was close to a back entrance and the door rattled. Those were 2 small things, and did not deter. We arrived and had little time for lunch, but went to the pub and had excellent quick lunch. Went back to the dining room for dinner. Would definitely recommend. Staff were great and helpful. Free parking. Easy to walk to theatres.

Room Tip: Our room was close to back entrance, so very convenient. They need a rubber gasket on the door. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Perfect location for all of the theatres -- and for cycling. A heritage building so it is old with some odd twists and turns, but that adds to the character. Bed was comfortable, there is a small fridge in the room, and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. Food was good, price was right, and the parking is free.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

You can certainly spend a lot more for a place to stay in Stratford but you don't get any more or better than you get at the Queen's Inn. This Inn is situated in the heart of Stratford and is very close to all 4 of the Festival theatres and within very easy walking distance of 3 of them. It has the style of an old Inn but the three floors are serviced by a very fast elevator as well as a grand staircase. All rooms are nicely furnished, clean and quiet. Flat screen TV's in the rooms and free WIFI is available in room as well. The Inn is also only steps away from four of the finest restaurants in Stratford and is home to a decent restaurant of its own as well as a great little English pub. We have stayed at this Inn dozens of times during the Festival season and have never had a bad experience. Reasonably priced, ample free parking, great amenities and a staff always willing to please make the Queen's Inn very easy to recommend.

Room Tip: The only room that should be avoided that I'm aware of would be on the second floor immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandSharon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel sits in the heart of Stratford. It is an incredibly central location from which you can walk to restaurants and all 4 theatres. The parking is free as well
The staff are accommodating and very friendly and should be lauded for their customer service.
While we did not dine here, the pub featured live music and a patio and seemed to be full of patrons enjoying themselves.
We had rented the Premier Suite for our stay and were impressed with the size of the room.
Unfortunately that was short lived as the air conditioning was working at about 50% and the bed was located so far from the air that we had to open windows to get air circulation. That lead to the issue of the smell from the dumpster located directly below our window on the 3rd floor.
Add to that a bed that was worn out and sloped to the middle lead to a tough nights sleep.
Fortunately, as it was our anniversary, the champagne we brought took the edge off!
This was only one room in what is obviously a Heritage building so while we were disappointed we suggest you still try the property for yourself.
We did bring our concerns to the management and for that they deducted the fruit tray we had delivered from our bill
The room was about $213.00 tax in for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Queen's Inn for one night in June. The room was quite spacious, clean, and quiet. It had two queen size beds, which were comfortable. A nice touch was that there was make up remover provided in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent, on a main street in downtown Stratford and close to all the festival theatres, the farthest one being a 15-minute walk away. The hotel has a restaurant downstairs with a small patio, where the service was good and fast, and the food decent. The only downside was the price of the room (almost $200 for one night, taxes in). All things considered, we would certainly consider staying at Queen's Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryCurious_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You can walk to the three downtown Theatres in 5 minutes, and the Festival Theatres in about 15 minutes.
Its great place to stay location wise, as parking is free and if you get to the inn early and your room is ready they will allow you in, even if its not ready you can still park there free. Its downtown and central to all the shops to browse and restaurants. The Queens Inn also has two restaurants. One a pub, and the other more formal dinning. You can hit the pub after seeing the play and they have 60 oz pitcher of beer for $13 and weekends they also have live entertainment, The atmosphere is just like Cheers show, everyone seems to know everyone.
The rooms are great, clean and nice. The free coffee/tea is served in the hallways starting at 6am .We stayed here twice once on April 13th and room rates were $84 and then again on May 4th and they went up to $109. And I think they are going up to $154 in high season.

Room Tip: Room 201 is unique, and bright and far away from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank suerob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Not only is the Queen's Inn conveniently located right on the edge of beautiful downtown Stratford, and an easy walk to all theatres........but here you will enjoy lovely, beautifully-appointed rooms, good food and, best of all, most gracious hospitality. It's just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn at Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn at Stratford

Address: 161 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range: £61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Inn at Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Queen's Inn at Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Inn At Stratford Hotel Stratford
Queens Hotel Stratford
Queen's Inn At Stratford Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing