We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre Stay at the Queen's Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Theatre Stay at the Queen's Inn”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at the Queen's Inn for a 2 night theater trip to Stratford. Of course, what everyone says is undeniable--the location for a theater stay is perfect. It was 2 blocks to the Avon theater and a pleasant 10 block stroll along the lake to the Festival theater. You never need the car, but still, parking is free and easy. For an Inn over two busy food establishments (a restaurant and busy pub), a lot of work went into keeping the place clean and comfortable. Not a great place if you have mobility issues---we had to take bags up an elevator and then down steps to get to our room, but that was not a problem for us. There is a heavy food smell (both in terms of the type and powerfulness of the food smells) in the lobby, but that does not make it up to the third floor. For Stratford, the prices are very reasonable--a king room for us was $154 a night, which is good in an expensive town such as this. Much cheaper off season, of course. But the front desk people were helpful and very friendly and the pub served a proper pint as well. Good choice for this city.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if possible----you don't want to be breathing bangers and mash if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    44
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
52
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Probably the most central and reasonably priced accommodation one can find for serious theatre lovers. The 4 main venues are easily reached. This hotel is clean although old. It is well kept but shows its age. As a place to sleep, so as to get to the shows, it works very well.
The staff are charming.
I would stay here again mainly for its convenience

Room Tip: Not above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were going to 2 plays on a Saturday, so our friends booked the Queen's Inn. The only room left was a suite, so 2 bedrooms for the 4 of us. It was very nice. We had large seating area and kitchen. Our bedroom had king bed, and quite spacious, but the A/C was a little noisy. We realized later that if we left the door a little open, the pressure drop would let the A/C be reduced and quieter. The other room had queen bed and smaller. Only thing was that is was close to a back entrance and the door rattled. Those were 2 small things, and did not deter. We arrived and had little time for lunch, but went to the pub and had excellent quick lunch. Went back to the dining room for dinner. Would definitely recommend. Staff were great and helpful. Free parking. Easy to walk to theatres.

Room Tip: Our room was close to back entrance, so very convenient. They need a rubber gasket on the door. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Perfect location for all of the theatres -- and for cycling. A heritage building so it is old with some odd twists and turns, but that adds to the character. Bed was comfortable, there is a small fridge in the room, and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. Food was good, price was right, and the parking is free.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

You can certainly spend a lot more for a place to stay in Stratford but you don't get any more or better than you get at the Queen's Inn. This Inn is situated in the heart of Stratford and is very close to all 4 of the Festival theatres and within very easy walking distance of 3 of them. It has the style of an old Inn but the three floors are serviced by a very fast elevator as well as a grand staircase. All rooms are nicely furnished, clean and quiet. Flat screen TV's in the rooms and free WIFI is available in room as well. The Inn is also only steps away from four of the finest restaurants in Stratford and is home to a decent restaurant of its own as well as a great little English pub. We have stayed at this Inn dozens of times during the Festival season and have never had a bad experience. Reasonably priced, ample free parking, great amenities and a staff always willing to please make the Queen's Inn very easy to recommend.

Room Tip: The only room that should be avoided that I'm aware of would be on the second floor immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSharon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel sits in the heart of Stratford. It is an incredibly central location from which you can walk to restaurants and all 4 theatres. The parking is free as well
The staff are accommodating and very friendly and should be lauded for their customer service.
While we did not dine here, the pub featured live music and a patio and seemed to be full of patrons enjoying themselves.
We had rented the Premier Suite for our stay and were impressed with the size of the room.
Unfortunately that was short lived as the air conditioning was working at about 50% and the bed was located so far from the air that we had to open windows to get air circulation. That lead to the issue of the smell from the dumpster located directly below our window on the 3rd floor.
Add to that a bed that was worn out and sloped to the middle lead to a tough nights sleep.
Fortunately, as it was our anniversary, the champagne we brought took the edge off!
This was only one room in what is obviously a Heritage building so while we were disappointed we suggest you still try the property for yourself.
We did bring our concerns to the management and for that they deducted the fruit tray we had delivered from our bill
The room was about $213.00 tax in for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Queen's Inn for one night in June. The room was quite spacious, clean, and quiet. It had two queen size beds, which were comfortable. A nice touch was that there was make up remover provided in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent, on a main street in downtown Stratford and close to all the festival theatres, the farthest one being a 15-minute walk away. The hotel has a restaurant downstairs with a small patio, where the service was good and fast, and the food decent. The only downside was the price of the room (almost $200 for one night, taxes in). All things considered, we would certainly consider staying at Queen's Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryCurious_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn at Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn at Stratford

Property: Queen's Inn at Stratford
Address: 161 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Inn at Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Queen's Inn at Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Inn At Stratford Hotel Stratford
Queens Hotel Stratford
Queen's Inn At Stratford Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing