We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points, several bad points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some good points, several bad points”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I won't stay at this hotel again. That is not to say it was all bad - there were good points. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was central and close to everything. BUT. the beds were VERY uncomfortable and there was little attention to detail. Plastic cups in the rooms? at that price, surely we could have china. I was told that there was a fridge and microwave in the rooms. True, there was a fridge, but the microwave was out in the hall with (china) cups, hot water, tea, coffee, and creamers. And not enough.
The towels were threadbare and not enough of them. The housekeepers neglected to vacuum in the corners of the carpets, etc.
Not good.

Room Tip: The Dome Suite has two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaimoLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    44
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
52
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My mother and I stayed at Stratford's Queens Inn mid- July, 2014. We loved it!
I prefer "old" hotels, I like the charm and character, the kind of atmosphere you get from heritage inns. Of course I want them to be well-maintained, too. In the case of the Queen's Inn, you get both.
The inn could not be better located; it's right in the middle of town, just a few minutes' walk from anywhere in Stratford you'd want to go to. But along with the great location, the Inn offers beautiful "period" decor, unique, super-clean rooms, and the friendliest, most helpful staff I've ever had the pleasure to encounter.
My mother is in her eighties, and has some difficulty with "mobility" issues (severe arthritis). All the inn employees displayed exceptional patience, kindness, and helpfulness in assisting her in any way she needed.
The rates were quite reasonable. We stayed there at the busiest time of year, yet the nightly charge, especially considering the lovely large room we stayed in (skylights ! 2 bathrooms !) was surprisingly affordable.
Queen's Inn also has two eateries on the premises, a casual pub and a more formal dining type restaurant. We tried both during our stay, and both were excellent.
If you're not looking for a high-tech, ultra-modern kind of hotel, but enjoy "old school" style and service, I recommend the Queens Inn very highly.
Again, I cannot say enough in praise of the service and general "guest-friendly" attitude the staff there provides. A truly lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms quieter -Dome Room has lots of light !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed here a few times. If you want central-can not beat, comfortable-as good if not better then any where else, service-two thumbs up! There is a great pup (family friendly) on site that is the best. We have enjoyed every stay from to your basic room to the suites. We have stayed in other establishments but the Queen's Inn is always and will always be our first pick! We love the modern conveniences with the old world feel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed a night in downtown Stratford in early July 2014. Found the Queen's Inn and was pleasantly received. Rooms are nicely renovated and had a comfortable bed. Loved the fact we were as close to downtown as you can be for easy shopping excursions. Festival Theatre is about 1km away and thought of walking but the weather was a little cool so drove and parked near the theatre. After the show, we decided to eat at the Boars Head (in hotel) and had some wings (wing night) and a brew to chat about the show. Very well received in restaurant. Over all great stay at hotel and the price was reasonable. Free parking and WiFi. TV was not the greatest but who goes to Stratford for TV? I did have to run the water a little to let it clear when we first arrived. Shower and water pressure was excellent. Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful stay in a very clean and comfortable room! Beds are super comfy and room had lots of space for us. Lots of hot water quickly in shower. A bit disappointed with WiFi and cable...and no coffee maker, but only stayed one night...and we don't go to Stratford to watch TV! Great to have a pub and restaurant attached. The Sunday brunch is very good! The location is perfect and walkable to all theatres. Will definitely stay here next time we visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although the building is a heritage one, the rooms are renovated, very clean and the beds super comfortable . Liked having a fridge in the room and an urn of fresh coffee in the hall every morning. Service was excellent and the welcome was warm! Parking is plentiful and free and the theaters and restaurants are within a 5-minute walk.
There is no breakfast served but Tim Horton's and a breakfast restaurant are right across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter and ask for a room on the opposite side of the ground-floor pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine121842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great Place to stay, clean rooms, friendly staff. Restaurant was very busy, service was okay. Brunch at Henry's downstairs was yummy! Inn was located close to the theatres and park and shopping, no need to drive. Free Parking.Downside was tea and coffee are in the hall and no ice machine but ice was available in bags in a freezer in the hall.Would stay here again and would would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techieinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn at Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn at Stratford

Property: Queen's Inn at Stratford
Address: 161 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Inn at Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Queen's Inn at Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Inn At Stratford Hotel Stratford
Queens Hotel Stratford
Queen's Inn At Stratford Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing