We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Ranked #16 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and luxurious”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very comfortable. We booked very last minute and they were able to accommodate us by having us switch to a different room for our second night. Our first night we stayed in the Raj room which was a bit small but still comfortable. The 2nd room was their most expensive one and was huge and very plush, the Regency Room Silver coffee service in our room in the morning was a nice treat. Breakfast was pretty good, ate out by the pool both days because weather was nice and had the company of 2 little dogs who liked to sit by our table during breakfast. Marc was very pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions.
Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay, but we would hesitate to go back simply because of the price...luxury doesn't come cheap. It would also depend on whether you'd be able to make use of the amenities that they have to offer, such as the big pool in the backyard.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irenechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We experienced old world hospitality at Stewart House Inn. We were greeted by Marc and his family including schnauzers, York and Essex, while attending the Festival in Stratford. We enjoyed an elegant breakfast in this 19th century Victorian house in the library and by the pool. Great place to relax, read, and write in front of the library window, and be around agreeable guests! Don't forget to pet the stone heads of the two Fu Dogs for good luck as you pass through the entryway. By the way, if you ask Marc, he will tell you that Americans can appreciate the uniqueness of Canadian culture because it is a product of "evolution" rather than being the product of "revolution." I am still thinking about that idea.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljohnson371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at this classic B&B in Stratford. We enjoyed a warm welcome by Marc and a tour. He had kindly upgraded us too :) Nice way to start our stay. Our room was wonderful and well appointed. Fireplace was original and just made the room. Nice bath too. Room was tidied up everytime we left the room..felt like I was on a cruise! We enjoyed the pool all afternoon before show. The breakfast was wonderful. Tables were preset with care and we had our own for two. Food served was first class and hot. Since our visit fell on Canada Day, we enjoyed Beaver shaped pancakes for breakfast, plus a Canada hat for us to take home! We have visited Stratford many times over the last 25 yrs. I can't remember a visit I enjoyed more. You will not be disappointed! Thank you all at the house for such a great, relaxing time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Stewart House is absolutely gorgeous! We booked two rooms (Art Deco and China Trade). I stayed in the Art Deco room and I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud! My daughter slept an hour later than usual!

Mary and Mark were outstanding hosts. The rooms were fantastic! They are large, in wonderful condition and decorated to perfection. The house is quite spectacular as you drive up to 100+ year old walnut trees out front. The hosts have taken great care when decorating the house and it shows!

There is a salt-water pool in the back which we used for a quick morning post-breakfast swim. The breakfast was delicious, pancakes in the shape of beavers to celebrate Canada Day--who could ask for more! Though I didn't take advantage of the morning tea/coffee service in the room, it sounds like a lovely way to start the day before you even go downstairs for breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The theatre was wonderful as always, but the hospitality and accommodation at the Stewart House Inn was spectacular. This beautiful old home has been converted to an amazing B&B with gorgeous themed guest rooms. This was the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed for a weekend with 2 other couples. We highly recommend the Stweart House Inn when staying overnight in Stratford.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoireBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

After many years of travel to Stratford, Ontario to see the marvelous plays we can absolutley recommed the Stewart House Inn as a memorable, pleasant get-away. This lovely victorian home is conveniently located in a beautiful residential area of Stratford. The location allows one to walk into the charming town to enjoy the gardens, parks, shopping and theater. Your host Marc Armstrong and his friendly, capable staff will welcome you and do all they can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Wonderful, clean, accomodations will take you to far off places as each room has a unique theme in its decor. We recently stayed in the Regency room which is located in the front of this exquisitely decorated victorian home. The room is large with a canapy bed, fireplace and large sitting area. The bathroom has heated floors, separate shower and jacuzzi tub. There are plenty of fresh towels provided, robes and wonderful bed linens.

The yard is landscaped beautifully with plenty of seating around the inground pool. Weather permitting, your full course breakfast is served outdoors. Fresh coffee, delicious scones, cookies and fresh fruit are available to enjoy late morning or after the theater.

Relax in the living room and sitting areas or on the front porch. Marc will be sure to make a dinner reservation when requested or help with any questions.

We appreciate staying at the Stewart House Inn and like the service and comforts offered. The food is excellent and of high quality. We look forward to our visits each year. A real gem!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylfredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My wife and I returned to the Stewart House Inn in May for two nights, after sepnding the night there after our wedding in October. Once again, Marc, Mary and team delivered a top-shelf experience. The house, the decor, the location, the service, the breakfast, are all unparalleled. The quality of the house, and the level of service is truly like staying in the St. Regis in New York. Okay, no butler, but the same discrete, attentive service. I've already got my next stay booked. I can highly recommend it, and am spreading the good word to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

Property: Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Address: 62 John St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious private retreat set on an acre of residential woodlands, overlooking the Avon River parklands and within two blocks of the downtown core. All rooms are exquisitely furnished with ensuite bathrooms. Features include fine Egyptian linens, all-season goose down duvets, robes for each season. wireless internet access, flat screen TV with DVD, and stereo CD/Clock radio. Tariff includes morning silver coffee service, gourmet breakfast, full evening turndown, and seasonal heated salt-water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Hotel Stratford
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing