We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stewart House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Ranked #17 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Stewart House”
Reviewed 12 September 2006

I visited Stewart House last year when it first opened and was absolutely thrilled with the gem I had uncovered in Stratford! I made a special trip to Stratford this year JUST to have the pleasure of staying there again and I was, of course, not disappointed. Staying at Stewart House is just a delightful experience from beginning to end -- from Marc (the owner)'s family-like welcome to the beautifully designed rooms to Mary's superb cooking (we are vegans and she went to such trouble to accomodate us!) to the sophisticated, but relaxed atmosphere. All the rooms are equally lovely and decorated in a distinct style. The saltwater pool is a delight. Their DVD and CD collection a fab bonus.

Stewart House is definitely one of the BEST B&B's around...period.

  • Liked — service and decor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

I booked a room signt unseen at a Stratford motel. When we arrived it realized I had made a terrible mistake. What next? My AAA book listed the Stewart House Inn; they had a room. I hoped this new place would salvage my dwindling reputation as a trip planner--and it did! Beautiful room, wonderfully restored nineteenth century mansion with a swimming pool and broad lawn. A twenty minute walk to downtown. And Marc Armstrong at the door with a helping hand and a cold glass of white wine! We were saved! Yummy hi-cal breakfast, interesting fellow guests, and the perfect mix of attentiveness and respect for our privacy. No more blind bookings! On our next trip to Stratford we are heading straight for the Stewart House!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Evanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We spent three wonderful days at the Stewart House Inn in Stratford, Ontario. This Bed & Breakfast is magnificent...the breakfasts were truly marvelous and the service personal, congenial and truly focused on the customer. The proprietor, Marc Armstrong, utilizes his vast experience in the hotel industry and brings personal service to a new level. The facility is lovely in its own right; add to that the cushion topped mattress beds and the refreshing inground swimming pool and you have a great place to stay. My only concern is people will read this glowing report and the next time we want to go they will be booked up and there won't be a room for us.

Overall I would say this is probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 151Scalped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

My wife and I just returned from Stratford and we're glad we stayed at Stewart House Inn. Marc is a friendly host who anticipated our every need. The "themed" guest rooms add character to the tastefully decorated interior. The gourmet breakfasts are scrumptious - there's even "silver tea service" in the morning to get you started. Evening turndown service included a thoughtful personal note and some decadent treats. We also enjoyed lounging by the saltwater pool. If you are going to Stratford, we highly recommend this charming inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffmoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#10 of 89 in Stratford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

Property: Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Address: 62 John St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious private retreat set on an acre of residential woodlands, overlooking the Avon River parklands and within two blocks of the downtown core. All rooms are exquisitely furnished with ensuite bathrooms. Features include fine Egyptian linens, all-season goose down duvets, robes for each season. wireless internet access, flat screen TV with DVD, and stereo CD/Clock radio. Tariff includes morning silver coffee service, gourmet breakfast, full evening turndown, and seasonal heated salt-water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Hotel Stratford
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing